We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but terrible Spanish hospitality and attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
100% Fun Tarifa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Well it's aesthetically a lovely little place.. and if you are looking to stay outside of the busy town then this would normally be a good option. But unfortunately the Spanish staff let this place down entirely! In fact we found it quite amusing walking past these rude, miserable staff members with 100% Fun written in big letters across their t-shirts. Not sure they really understand the theme of this hotel. Speaking Spanish and being bubbly and friendly didn't seem to make one iota of difference to this attitude. The restaurant staff have the same attitude and can easily ruin the dining experience. Such a shame and totally unnecessary. I don't understand why managers and owners employ staff like this. The young bar staff member (not Spanish native) is however lovely and so is her female boss. Thank goodness for these two! I will not be returning here because of the reception and restaurant staff attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaylsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

This place has been amazing: accommodation, pool area, chill area, breakfast, staff, location, etc. We felt good there and loved it from the first moment we were there.
Highly recommended for a relaxing and sunny vacation.

Strengths:
- paradisiac place
- Amazing garden and pool full of palmtrees, long sun beds and seats
- Very friendly staff - Carlos was great and very welcoming
- Chill-out area: bar with cosy sofas and seats
- Location: very close from the beach and Tarifa
- Late check-in
- Very realiable wifi
- Tex-Mex restaurant just next door -we have priority on bookings as hotel clients
- Cute rooms
- Offering a lot of activities: surfing, etc.
- Nice breakfast buffet
- Easy and free parking just in front of the hotel

Weaknesses -although very hard to think of:
- the tunnel offering a direct access from the place to the beach was temporarily closed;
- 2 single beds instead of 1 double;
- Swimming pool not heated, so it was a bit cold in May
- if you want to visit the neighborhood a car is needed

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sofialamariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

The Good:
- free parking outside the hotel
- beach close by (accessible via a tunnel)
- lovely, well-maintained tropical garden (must be great in summer)
- breakfast is good (the fresh fruit were really fresh, coffee was great)
- staff was friendly

The Bad:
- rather noisy due to the national road right in front
- stuffy rooms that felt damp (sheets seemed to be moist)
- beds not very comfortable
- towels not very good quality
- curtains don't properly block out the light
- no fresh eggs at breakfast, pastries (e.g. donuts) of very poor supermarket quality
- weird spots and smudges on the deckchairs and cushions in the garden

The Ugly: I believe that the restaurant and gardens, which were deserted when we were staying there, can get very noisy on summer nights.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I just been there last week for my honeymoon and loved it.. great staff, excellent food and the bar in the garden was my best place.. only few minutes from tarifa and close to the beach.. will definitely back next year for kite surf..

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Yoann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

This place is lovely. The name of the hotel perhaps suggests some sort of children's television show from the '80s but it's actually a beautiful, laid back hotel with all its rooms set in a carefully tended tropical garden. We stayed in a standard room which was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed (mini-bar a/c and a great shower. There was a nice outdoor seating area just out side the room. The hotel is a real favourite with kite surfers and the nearby beach is easily accessed via a tunnel. The breakfasts were good and the chill out bar is particularly nice.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank beardyniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Planning to spend a few days at the beach, ended up staying just one night as the bookings system was a bit 'messy'.
As soon as we arrived we were offered a welcome drink at the reception, which is packed with clothes and accessories for sale, joining in the same room the reception and shop.
Very nice staff and great gardens (bit too dark as soon as sun goes down).
The swimming pool is bit small, but very nice.
The biggest problem is the situation, as it sits right in front of the road, which you have to cross to access to the beach.
The room was very nice and lovely confortable bed, but we felt wasn't set up properly for the price we paid, as we didn't have even tooth paste in the bathroom.
In general, lovely place, but we spected bit more from the outside.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mesa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Please bear in mind this review is NOT aimed at the hotel but more at the mexican restaurant within the hotel.

All I can say is:

We wanted to try this restaurant so family and I went to look at it and check out the menu. It looked lovely so we asked for a table outside and were told the restaurant was fully booked an hour from the time we turned up. We asked if we could eat something quickly and were told we could not.

We were asked to call the restaurant to make a reservation for the next day (I understand it can get pretty busy in the Summer months so fair enough)

We called up the next day and were told that they don't really pick up the phone for reservations but you had to make a reservation at a certain time over the phone...already this seemed to contradict the original information given. Nevertheless we tried again. No answer. We tried calling the hotel reception for help. Spoke to receptionist who said to call back in an hour. We did this. I timed approximately 1.5 hours of repeated calls to both the restaurant and hotel just to get a table. The phone was picked up by the receptionist twice. The rest of the times it rang out.

Nowhere have I ever heard that to make a reservation you need to do so by phone but they do not take phone reservations.

I do not like leaving bad reviews, I understand this was peak season, I know the restaurant can fill up and at times you cannot pick up the phone, but both the attitude of the staff and reservation system in general needs a rethink.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Davina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Punta Sur
Hotel Punta Sur
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
174 reviews
13.2 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
2.2 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
353 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.1 km away
Chillout Hotel Tres Mares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 100% Fun Tarifa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 100% Fun Tarifa Hotel

Address: Carretera Cadiz Malaga Km. 76, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tarifa
Hotel Class:2 star — 100% Fun Tarifa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your 100% Fun Tarifa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
100 Fun Tarifa
100 Fun Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing