We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LACKS PERSONALITY”
Review of Hotel Misiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Misiana
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2017

central position but single room very very small, bathroom smelly. toilet broke after 1 flush.
cheap furnishing and flooring. well know hotel but dont understand why...no substance.

the bar is probably the best of tarifa.

Room Tip: choose if to look at church or main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GEORGE-ITALY79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Misiana H, Director General at Hotel Misiana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear George,

We are very sorry to her your opinion, but thank you for it.
We always try to get better for this we like to hear all the opinions.
We ´d make a change of room if you inform us about , if this room was not to your liking.

Thank you for your kind mention to our restauran bar.

Best Regards,
Hotel Misiana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Loved the small hotel and the town.
The reception staff could not have been more helpful, showing me the rooms that were available when I arrived. I chose the larger, more expensive, room but it was worth it for the space and the bath, also a great view. Bedroom decor is minimal in comparison to the bar area. The room was spotless, Bed was comfortable and linens good.
It was quiet when I was there, but you did hear the church bells chime.
Gave great recommendation for Sunset drink.
Breakfast was served in the quirky looking bar, buffet style and was reasonable
Interesting restaurants and shops in the small, predominantly pedestrian town with cobble streets.
Historic Castle and Church all beside an amazing beach but extremely windy Oct 2017, which obviously is the reason for the amazing Kite surfers!
There is no onsite parking, but supervised independent car-park close by (reasonable charges). Rooms have tea/coffee facility but no fridge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths with overhead shower, others only shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthOfSmWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I requested a quiet room when I booked two months ago and was assured I would have one. However we are facing the front which otherwise has lovely views but there is an outdoor concert two blocks away that is so loud it is like the band is in our room with us. They are playing (off key) for at least two more hours and we have an early ferry to Tangier in the morning. If you like to actually sleep in a hotel I recommend you look elsewhere. So much for a relaxing vacation. Also they are set up in front of their main church and were playing during the Saturday evening service. I have never seen such a thing. It seems quite disrespectful. This definitely affects (very negatively) my view of this town and how much I would recommend others visit here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights in Tarifa around a day to Tangiers. This hotel is the perfect base for such a plan. First the hotel is close to the port in the old part of town. The room was clean, the bed good but a little firm(a most in Spain), and the staff was very helpful. Finally the price was very reasonable.

If Tangiers is your plan, look here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jimcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel friendly staff great location loved the place would go again the bar had cocktails and a high selection of wines and beers the food in the restaurant was beautiful it also served tapas which we did not try

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

It's funny that a 1 star hotel can give such a 5 star experience. The location is key, of course. Tarifa happens just outside the doorstep of Hotel Misiana. But everything about this hotel is so good. The restaurant is a popular hang out in the evening. I will definitely return, if I get a room. You have to be sure to book early.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The staff at the Misiana was amazing. I stumbled and hurt my hand and they could not have been more helpful. It's also a beautiful, clean hotel in the perfect location. Short walk to the ferry and beaches and all the sites. Thank you Belen for how wonderful you are!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
9 km away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
406 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
198 reviews
7.7 km away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
171 reviews
6.8 km away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misiana

Address: Calle Sancho IV El Bravo 16 | La Calzada, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Misiana 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged space in the center of Tarifa: a 21st century Hotel with charm that peeks out in between two seas, with beaches bathed in sunlight; A special lodging that is surrounded by hundreds of interesting corners that are just waiting to be discovered. Let the aromas of Southern Spain envelope you in Hotel Misiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Misiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing