We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
78
100
33
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
100
33
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal day trip great location second building no elevator old town room was clean visit tangier minute walk main building restaurants and bars narrow streets top floor off season would definitely stay here again annex balcony
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 221 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We booked the double room with a view and got room 202, which is on what we'd refer to as being the 3rd floor in America.

The room was clean and a little cramped, but sufficed for us nicely. The location could not be more brilliant if you are going to be using the ferry to travel to Tangier. Our room had a private balcony with a nice view. The bed was decent enough and the pillows actually quite nice. There was no room safe. Bottle water was complimentary, which was nice. The AC worked wonderfully. The towels and linens were mid-range in quality and the provided soap and shampoo came in little packets.

The staff was great and a joy to interact with.

We visited Tarifa in order to take the ferry to Tangier. This hotel met every item we desire when we travel; a great nights rest, the perfect location and at a great value. It's very quiet here during the night, and the private balcony is the perfect setting to enjoy a local 4euro bottle of wine as you unwind from an amazing day.

One word of caution: There is no elevator, so if climbing stairs is a problem for you, this may not be desirable. With this in mind, you may want to specifically request a lower room when you book your room. After staying in Holland, we found the stairs easy peasy.

With zero doubt, we would jump at the chance to stay here again and recommend the same to others whom we like.

BTW, we found the old town of Tarifa much more enjoyable than either of us had anticipated. And the nearby Italian restaurant provided us with the best meal of our entire trip.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose your room accordingly with this in mind.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Alameda, Director de Recepción at Hostal Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your comment on this page and for recommending us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your stay in our hotel and the location has contributed to this.

Will be a pleasure to greet you on your next visit.

A greeting,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days while visiting Tarifa in summer. We booked a month before heading out so there weren't many options within our price range available. This hotel was more basic than we are used to for the price. It has no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room, and although they do provide a kettle and tea bags in the lobby, it was too much effort from the top floor with no lift to have a cuppa in bed in the morning!! There was also no fridge so we couldn't keep food for breakfast in the room which we like to do if breakfast isn't included.
The rooms were definitely spotless though and no matter how much sand we tramped in, it was all spotless the day after! It's also in a great location for the old town, the port and the beach. All within close walking distance nearby.
So if you don't need the comforts of tea and coffee or a fridge and want to explore Tarifa or get to the port easily, then this is a good option!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolineb2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Alameda, Director de Recepción at Hostal Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your comment on this page and for recommending us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your stay in our hotel and the location has contributed to this.

Will be a pleasure to greet you on your next visit.

A greeting,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Fourth Year in a row, and always a good stay.
Clean rooms&helpfull staff.
The Hostal is run by a family, all very service oriented.
The only downside is no elevator to the toprooms, but that is nothing to complain about.
Recomended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank monicabellucci123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Alameda, Director de Recepción at Hostal Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for this very positive review about your stay at Hostal Alameda.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always feel rewarded reading our customers' satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We were in Tarifa to get an early morning ferry to Tangiers. This was a small charming hotel that did not disappoint. Beware though--no elevators so if there are mobility problems, not the best choice. It was spotlessly clean and well-loated.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Alameda, Director de Recepción at Hostal Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for this very positive review about your stay at Hostal Alameda.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always feel rewarded reading our customers' satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

This is a delightful little Hostal in the centre of Tarifa, overlooking the Paseo, and a minute's walk only from the Old Town and the port. It's quiet too - and we had a top floor room overlooking the Paseo, with a little balcony. Rooms are small but well-equipped, the beds and pillows are really comfortable, and there's good wifi, and aircon if you need it. No restaurant, but there are 6 or 7 up and down the Paseo so getting breakfast is easy. The staff are friendly too. Definitely a small (and good) hotel at Hostal prices.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H-Alameda, Director de Recepción at Hostal Alameda, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comment on this page and for recommending us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your stay in our hotel and the location has contributed to this.

Will be a pleasure to greet you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews