We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should be as good as this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“All hotels should be as good as this.”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here half board for a week in March 2012. Every part of the hotel was spotlessly clean, inside and out. Beautiful gardens and pool areas with lots of individual groups of sunbeds, tables and sun shades - no rows of loungers here.

The staff are the biggest asset at this hotel - endlessly helpful and efficient - they think of everything that could possibly enhance your stay and go about their business with genuine smiles - nothing is ever too much trouble.

We were given a bottle of champagne and fruit in room (twice) - nice touch. Also complimentary fresh fruit offered at the pool most afternoons, lovely and refreshing on a hot day.

The hotel is in a great location - quiet and peaceful but within easy walking distance of good restaurants, cafes and bars. If you want loud music and flashing lights, this is not the place to go.

I'm not a fan of hotel-type entertainment, but there was a great Bee Gees tribute band one night.

I can't think of a single thing I didn't like at this hotel, it's just a great place to relax and enjoy lovely food while being looked after by superbly efficient staff.

Just go and see for yourself!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have great sunsets and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    332
    93
    21
    10
See reviews for
344
966
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We visited this hotel for two weeks this March and this was our first visit. We have previously been to the Riu Palace in Meloneras on Gran Canaria for a number of years so we were able to compare the two.

In many respects, they were exactly the same right down to the Pool restaurant which has exactly the same menu at lunchtime. So, if you have been to a Riu Palace before, then you will know what to expect here.

This hotel is rather smaller than the Meloneras one - only about 300 bedrooms compared to 460 so it seemed noticeably quieter and more relaxed in the Dining Room for example. In Gran Canaria, Brits were well outnumbered by others, mainly Germans, In Tenerife, I would estimate that at least 50% of guests were British. Most seemed to be in the 55 to 65 age group although there were quite a few younger people.

The hotel is situated at the quiet (and most upmarket) end of Costa Adeje. The pedestrian promenade runs right along the sea in front of the hotel. To the north, you can walk for about 10 minutes, then cross a small beach and you reach the village of Caletas which ahs some nice looking fish restaurants around a small harbour. To the south, the promenade goes for miles. e walked for about 45 minutes one day and got as far as Puerto Colon - this was very much McDonalds/Irish Pub/Beach Bar territory and the Costa does tend to do down market as you get further away from the Riu. The area around Playa del Duque is very nice - modern but done in the style of an old Canarian Village - and tasteful too!

Back to the hotel - like the other Riu Palace was stayed in the place was spotlessly clean. All staff were friendly and, without exception, they always say Ola as they pass you. We had one of the larger bedrooms on the lower floors and it was very spacious with two single beds and a settee. The style of the Riu rooms is now a little dated but everything was comfortable. There was some decorative damage which needed repair (plaster damage where a table had knocked a wall and some cracked plaster above the skirting board). Air condition was just OK but did struggle a little to keep the temperature down. The roof fan helped to circulate the cool air.

Food was typical Riu Palace buffet. Breakfast was vast with every possible choice. Similarly, dinner choice was very good although sometimes the quality suffered a little but then you simply go and choose something else if it is not to your taste. In general, we thought the quality of the food was better than the Riu Palace at Meloneras.

The pool area is lovely and you can sit by the pool facing out to sea. There were a few people waiting for sunbeds at 8am but we saw none of the rush that other reviewers have described. There was always a good choice of vacant sunbeds at any time of the day so no problems there. There is a sandy area of garden called the Solarium which we did not use but that never seemed that busy.

Other reviewers have mentioned that they asked for an upgrade to a sea view room so we emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before we arrived. They replied very promptly and politely and apologised that all sea view rooms were taken but that they would give us the best view possible. They repeated this when we checked in (so well done for matching the email to our reservation) and we were given a side view room which looked over the gardens of the neighbouring apartment complex. It was fine. Generally the rooms get bigger as you go down the hotel. Reception, restaurants etc are on floor 6 with rooms on 5 to 1. Pool access is on floor 1.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Tenerife and would certainly return to the Riu Palace.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are smaller, lower ones bigger. Room numbered X25 to X35 are more central and have a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Spent an enjoyable week here in February with my wife. Staff in every area of the hotel are first class,always eager to help. In common with a previous reviewer I do feel that tables in dining room are mostly too close together but on request the head waiter ensured that we were given a table that suited us.

Choice of food at the evening buffet is excellent and whilst not Michelin class is very good. Would recommend Krystal restaurant for a different dining experience.

Grounds are spacious and during our visit in February there were plenty of loungers available for most of the day.

Hotel is situated in quiet part of Costa Adeje which suits us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iggy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A one week holiday, 3rd week in March 2012.
The staff are the most obliging and friendly we have come across.
The location was ideal for us. Every morning we walked along the promenade to Los Christianos, had a drink, walked back to the Riu Palace, then took lunch in the poolside snack bar. In the afternoon we lounged by the pool and took a swim, plenty of beds available Everything slotted in perfectly.
The rooms, lounges and bars could not be faulted.
The food was very good, but not fantastic. Again, difficult to fault, but perhaps the Show Cooked Main Courses could have been better presented. Certainly plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My partner and I were due to go to cape verde but it was cancelled at the last minute due to sand storms so Thompson found this holiday for us. We were disappointed that we were not going to Cape Verde and especially as the Riu were also advertising their Cape Verde hotel in the reception!
The service of the staff is undoubtedly the best I have ever received. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone had a smile.
On arriving at the hotel we were sent to a room which was lovely but only had a double bed and we had requested on our original holiday a kingsize. We were just going to go to reception to ask if they had any other rooms when reception called to say they had another room for us to look at! This was a larger room with twin beds and would not be any extra to pay. We were conscious of how our money was going to go as we were all inclusive for Cape Verde and this hotel was half board and obviously we had to pay for all our drinks. Anyway back to the beds! I do not live with my partner and therefor am used to having a double to myself! My partner was a bit disappointed that we now had twin beds although pushed together. That evening I asked at reception if it were possible to make the bed into one with large sheets, Thomas who was on duty said no problem and we returned about half hour later to our rooms and it had been done! I was expecting perhaps the next day when they came to make the beds.
The food was excellent and no one complained or had tummy upsets while we were there. The Krystal restaurant is beautiful and you do not have to pay extra for this.
My only down side is that the hair dryers in the bathroos are useless so take your own.
It is more for older couples, we are in our mid 40s and there were only a few that age but all we wanted was a total relaxing holiday in the sun! The weathered could have been better :(
It is a nice walk along the beachfront which comes to restaurants and bars and a bit further on you will find some shops.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandj38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned from a 7 day break here which started with great expectations after reading the majority of reveiws on here , though this is a most impressive hotel with a few
positive aspects there are also a few big negatives.
To be fair i will give the positive, first...the grounds are probably the finest that i have witnessed in over 30 years of overseas travel,well manicured 2 large pools with sunbeds around them and a very tasteful faux beach with plenty more sunbeds.
The rooms were adequate but maybe as mentioned before a little dated with old style cheap looking portable tv's and the beds were very hard,the bathrrooms also a little dated with cheap plastic shower curtains across the bath.
The resturant was neat and tidy but the tables were very cramped and close together and now the BIG negative,the food...breakfasts were ok with the usual hot/cold choice but the evening meal was oh so dissapointig with tedious buffett style salads ,tinned veg and the "show cooking" was soley a chef slapping a peice of meat onto a barbeque type griddle ,turning it over when sealed and then putting it on a plate looking well cooked but raw on the inside!!. There were many instances of "tummy upsets" throughout our stay ,the Thomson rep seemed to be forever filling out "forms" in respect of this .,the couple sitting on the table next to me only ate in the hotel for 4 out of their 10 night stay such was the poor choice.
Another negative not so much to do with the hotel was the location ,there was quite a long walk along the prom to any type of bars or shops of any note and it did feel quite unsafe with tales of pickpockets quite rife amongst the hotel guests ( i actually spoke to 2 who had been violated in this way) .
All in all this was not what was expected from a RIU hotel and i do feel that they are hiding behind the brand name.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have recently returned from a fantastic week at the Riu Palace Tenerife. I emailed the hotel ahead of our visit as suggested by other reviewers, and received exactly the room position requested. We were allocated room 229, a large twin sea and pool view room on the second floor overlooking the beautiful well-tended grounds.
All the staff employed at this hotel are friendly yet very efficient. Tables are cleared immediately and food and drinks served promptly. There was a great variety of food with breakfast being exceptionally good. Our one minor criticism was, that at dinner the food needed to be hotter. We also visited the Krystal restaurant at no extra charge - excellent.
All areas of the hotel are maintained spotlessly and the evening entertainment was better than is usual in hotels. We saw tribute acts to Barry White, Elvis and the Bee Gees as well as the expected flamenco dancing!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good quality holiday, near a few high calibre restaurants and bars. It is not for you, however if you need to be in a lively part of Tenerife.

Room Tip: First and second floors are the largest rooms. Second floor upwards if you want a good view and firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank twopats064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.4 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.2 km away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 81 in Adeje
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,128 reviews
1.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#4 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,537 reviews
2.1 km away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 59 in Costa Adeje
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and RIU Hotels and Resorts so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Spain - Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing