We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveller rating
982
647
154
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
982
647
154
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool spanish restaurant resident band resident group house band costa adeje plenty of sunbeds lovely hotel private beach breakfast and dinner sea front evening entertainment sister hotel half board relaxing holiday fishing village cold buffet
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2017

The Riu Arecas Hotel is an Adults Only Hotel. This was the sixth time we visited the hotel after its refurbishment 2 years ago. It is everything you want in a hotel ,location close to sandy beaches ,albeit there are 77 steps to descend in order to walk to beach. Having said that, there is a gentler way by road which is much easier but a bit longer.However if lounging by the pool is your thing there are two massive swimming pools with lifeguards in attendance. The rooms are spacious , and include en-suite shower room, television, fridge, safe, and telephone, and the rooms are meticulously cleaned every morning. Meals are provided for every taste; breakfast -traditional English, cereals, fruit etc. Main meal- carvery, roast, pizzas, fish dishes, in fact anything you fancy. Evening entertainment mainly by in-house trio-"The Max Band" covering English, german and Spanish songs to a very high level. Occasionally guest artistes appear and they are as good .Reception staff speak fluent languages and they are extremely professional and understand exactly what you say. There is a gym and sauna available in the hotel , but us, being old school, did not visit. The waiters are courteous and very friendly and will look after you well .Bar refreshments (poolside and evening in house) are sensibly priced i.e. 2 x tumbler sized Martinis = 7:7 euros. The Riu Arecas ticks all my boxes, can see us staying there again and again.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and sea views are worth the extra
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rockontommy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

This was a good hotel and I would recommend this hotel.

There were a couple of niggles which is why I only gave a rating of four.

The bar staff were very tight with ice when you asked for some for the room.

Although Riu’s policy for Adults is 18 there appeared to be a few who were not 18 and I believe these were no where near 18. They were not just visiting as they were going to the rooms.

The dress code before 1st Sept was non existent. I know it is hotter peak season but the wearing of hat should not be allowed. This was not for health or religious reasons just uncouth people not understanding dining etiquette.

I am not a prude but wearing baseball caps for breakfast and dinner is a no no for me.

The food was okay and the Spain restaurant was a better experience. The menu does not change but it does give you a chance to try the different options

The resort is a good distance for were the youth go for dancing and noise therefore this is ideal for a quieter holiday.

It was great catching the bus to Los Cristianos and walking back. It is about 6 miles walking back. It’s was only 3 Euro for the two of us on the bus.

The main pools got full so we went down to the section near the sea which always had sun beds available.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Battle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2017

Bedrooms ,lovely atmosphere,relaxed pool area,we were on a different holiday for us we usually cruise.we enjoyed the fact there was a good bus service up the hill from hotel into las Americas and los christianos,staff in all departments we're excellent.Restaurant offered and excellent choice of food and drink

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We keep coming back to this hotel and it doesn't disappoint. The rooms are spotless as is all the hotel. Food really good, something for everyone.Staff all very friendly. Just love it and will keep returning.
Sad that all the 'old' staff from before the refurbishment haven't all returned. Miss Maria from the restaurant and Victor the barman, they always remembered us from previous visits.Hope they are happy in whatever they are doing now.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swhite917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

I spend 9 days with girl and i can just say everything is perfect, room is very clean, food is good and stuff is friendly! You have a lot of shopings around, nice beaches nearby and sights to see. I would definitely recommend it!

Thank you Riu Arecas Team

Elvis & Spela

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews