We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, again!”
Review of Hotel Riu Arecas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Arecas
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

A adults only hotel, we came here earlier in the year for 11 nights and have now just finished a 14 night stay.

As before we are very happy customers. The location, staff and service has been excellent. Food, half board, is buffet style although there is an a la carte Spanish restaurant as well. All meals, and restaurant service, very good.

We did eat out on 2 nights just for a change but this our preference rather than anything adverse with the hotel food.

Rooms are good, as is maid service. Note: you need to use a provided card in the room to request a change of sheets.

There are 2 good pools, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, and other areas of shade.

Comments here have mentioned the hotel beach being still under construction. This is still the case but the pool area is well away so no noise or dust. There are two really good beaches in short walking distance if needed.

From the back of the hotel there is a couple of mile promenade to walk into Americas proper and then onto Los Christianos if you want to stretch your legs. The 467 bus costs c.3 euros one way and brings you right back to the front door of the hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tim-from-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at Hotel Arecas, hotel very clean, all staff very efficient, polite and friendly. Really nice walks to La Caleta in one direction or as far as Los Cristianos in the other, also bus stops at the front of the hotel to Los Gigantes, Las Americas or Los Cristianos etc. Steps to seafront could present a problem to some people. The only criticisms we have are 1) the beach was a building site while we were there not noisy or anything just not a pleasant view. 2) We would have appreciated a couple of bottles of water in the room on arrival. Other than those minor issues it was all good.

Room Tip: Level 3 or above for better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank adrianstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just arrived back from the Riu Arecas and can't fault the place for cleanliness, food, value for money and hospitality. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and the rooms are lovely and clean. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking a car park but with a brilliant view of the sea. Although we overlooked a car park the double glazing was good so we didn't hear any cars. The only downside to this hotels location is that there's are only a couple of bars and 2 supermarkets in the area and no entertainment in the bars to call much. there is only. 1 bar called Tiggys that has a singer on every night but Sunday. There is a resident band in the hotel, but that is all. We did not see anything else advertised in the hotel in the way of entertainment. If you wanted a bit of nightlife it meant a 20 minute walk to Toreviscus or 30 minutes to Port Colon, or a bus ride costing 2.90 per couple to San Eugino. If you go to Playa de las Americas make sure you tell the taxi to go throu San Eugino on the way back as going via the motorway which is the way they will try and take you is 2 euros more.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2003 and the view of the sea was good it was also away from the main pool so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July and the hotel was amazing. The room was lovely, clean and modern. The balcony was absolutely huge. The bedrooms were cleaned every day and the towels replaced. We went half board and the food was amazing, there was so much choice for both breakfast and dinner and all the staff were attentive and friendly. We tried the Spanish restaurant one night which was included and it did not disappoint, would definitely recommend! The pool area was lovely and there were always sun beds available. The infinity pool and the private beach area was a bonus too. We also used the spa which was lovely touch to have in the hotel. Overall the hotel was wonderful and I can not wait to return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Milly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We have just returned from another lovely holiday at the Riu Arecas. This hotel is wonderful. Management and all the staff are wonderful first class nothing is too much trouble. The only thing I would point out is for people with poor Mobility Main entrance quite a incline down and back to walk. Back entrance 77 steps from the hotel to the infinity pool next to the Riu Palace. Talking to other guest with poor mobility this was the only problem. But there are two pools in hotel so there is no need to walk far.
However we will definitely go back. Thank you again to all the staff for making our holiday wonderful. Special mention to walter and Luis. I would also like to mention the young man Jurgan (not sure if i have spelt it correct) This young man worked so hard round the pool areas keeping them so clean. Would love to mention everyone but not enough room.

Room Tip: Our room was 2046 whick was ok partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Riu Arecas Hotel is an Adults Only Hotel. This was the sixth time we visited the hotel after its refurbishment 2 years ago. It is everything you want in a hotel ,location close to sandy beaches ,albeit there are 77 steps to descend in order to walk to beach. Having said that, there is a gentler way by road which is much easier but a bit longer.However if lounging by the pool is your thing there are two massive swimming pools with lifeguards in attendance. The rooms are spacious , and include en-suite shower room, television, fridge, safe, and telephone, and the rooms are meticulously cleaned every morning. Meals are provided for every taste; breakfast -traditional English, cereals, fruit etc. Main meal- carvery, roast, pizzas, fish dishes, in fact anything you fancy. Evening entertainment mainly by in-house trio-"The Max Band" covering English, german and Spanish songs to a very high level. Occasionally guest artistes appear and they are as good .Reception staff speak fluent languages and they are extremely professional and understand exactly what you say. There is a gym and sauna available in the hotel , but us, being old school, did not visit. The waiters are courteous and very friendly and will look after you well .Bar refreshments (poolside and evening in house) are sensibly priced i.e. 2 x tumbler sized Martinis = 7:7 euros. The Riu Arecas ticks all my boxes, can see us staying there again and again.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and sea views are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rockontommy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

This was a good hotel and I would recommend this hotel.

There were a couple of niggles which is why I only gave a rating of four.

The bar staff were very tight with ice when you asked for some for the room.

Although Riu’s policy for Adults is 18 there appeared to be a few who were not 18 and I believe these were no where near 18. They were not just visiting as they were going to the rooms.

The dress code before 1st Sept was non existent. I know it is hotter peak season but the wearing of hat should not be allowed. This was not for health or religious reasons just uncouth people not understanding dining etiquette.

I am not a prude but wearing baseball caps for breakfast and dinner is a no no for me.

The food was okay and the Spain restaurant was a better experience. The menu does not change but it does give you a chance to try the different options

The resort is a good distance for were the youth go for dancing and noise therefore this is ideal for a quieter holiday.

It was great catching the bus to Los Cristianos and walking back. It is about 6 miles walking back. It’s was only 3 Euro for the two of us on the bus.

The main pools got full so we went down to the section near the sea which always had sun beds available.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Battle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adeje
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
0.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#17 of 60 in Costa Adeje
5,752 reviews
1.3 km away
Colon Guanahani - Adrian Hoteles
6.5 km away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Arecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Arecas

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#41 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
Price Range: $205 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Arecas 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2015 and reopened as an Adults Only hotel. Located on Costa de Adeje. 250 M from Playa del Duque beach (several steps lead to the beach). 1.5 Km from various shops. 22 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Arecas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Arecas Adeje
Riu Arecas Hotel Adeje
Hotel Riu Arecas Tenerife, Spain - Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing