We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,828)
Filter reviews
1,828 results
Traveller rating
966
644
151
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
644
151
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolspanish restaurantresident bandresident grouphouse bandcosta adejeplenty of sunbedslovely hotelprivate beachbreakfast and dinnersea frontevening entertainmentsister hotelrelaxing holidayfishing villagehalf boardcold buffet
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 1,828 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at Hotel Arecas, hotel very clean, all staff very efficient, polite and friendly. Really nice walks to La Caleta in one direction or as far as Los Cristianos in the other, also bus stops at the front of the hotel to Los Gigantes, Las Americas or Los Cristianos etc. Steps to seafront could present a problem to some people. The only criticisms we have are 1) the beach was a building site while we were there not noisy or anything just not a pleasant view. 2) We would have appreciated a couple of bottles of water in the room on arrival. Other than those minor issues it was all good.

Room Tip: Level 3 or above for better sea view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank adrianstanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Just arrived back from the Riu Arecas and can't fault the place for cleanliness, food, value for money and hospitality. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and the rooms are lovely and clean. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking a car park but with a brilliant view of the sea. Although we overlooked a car park the double glazing was good so we didn't hear any cars. The only downside to this hotels location is that there's are only a couple of bars and 2 supermarkets in the area and no entertainment in the bars to call much. there is only. 1 bar called Tiggys that has a singer on every night but Sunday. There is a resident band in the hotel, but that is all. We did not see anything else advertised in the hotel in the way of entertainment. If you wanted a bit of nightlife it meant a 20 minute walk to Toreviscus or 30 minutes to Port Colon, or a bus ride costing 2.90 per couple to San Eugino. If you go to Playa de las Americas make sure you tell the taxi to go throu San Eugino on the way back as going via the motorway which is the way they will try and take you is 2 euros more.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2003 and the view of the sea was good it was also away from the main pool so quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in July and the hotel was amazing. The room was lovely, clean and modern. The balcony was absolutely huge. The bedrooms were cleaned every day and the towels replaced. We went half board and the food was amazing, there was so much choice for both breakfast and dinner and all the staff were attentive and friendly. We tried the Spanish restaurant one night which was included and it did not disappoint, would definitely recommend! The pool area was lovely and there were always sun beds available. The infinity pool and the private beach area was a bonus too. We also used the spa which was lovely touch to have in the hotel. Overall the hotel was wonderful and I can not wait to return!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Milly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2017

We have just returned from another lovely holiday at the Riu Arecas. This hotel is wonderful. Management and all the staff are wonderful first class nothing is too much trouble. The only thing I would point out is for people with poor Mobility Main entrance quite a incline down and back to walk. Back entrance 77 steps from the hotel to the infinity pool next to the Riu Palace. Talking to other guest with poor mobility this was the only problem. But there are two pools in hotel so there is no need to walk far.
However we will definitely go back. Thank you again to all the staff for making our holiday wonderful. Special mention to walter and Luis. I would also like to mention the young man Jurgan (not sure if i have spelt it correct) This young man worked so hard round the pool areas keeping them so clean. Would love to mention everyone but not enough room.

Room Tip: Our room was 2046 whick was ok partial sea view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

The Riu Arecas Hotel is an Adults Only Hotel. This was the sixth time we visited the hotel after its refurbishment 2 years ago. It is everything you want in a hotel ,location close to sandy beaches ,albeit there are 77 steps to descend in order to walk to beach. Having said that, there is a gentler way by road which is much easier but a bit longer.However if lounging by the pool is your thing there are two massive swimming pools with lifeguards in attendance. The rooms are spacious , and include en-suite shower room, television, fridge, safe, and telephone, and the rooms are meticulously cleaned every morning. Meals are provided for every taste; breakfast -traditional English, cereals, fruit etc. Main meal- carvery, roast, pizzas, fish dishes, in fact anything you fancy. Evening entertainment mainly by in-house trio-"The Max Band" covering English, german and Spanish songs to a very high level. Occasionally guest artistes appear and they are as good .Reception staff speak fluent languages and they are extremely professional and understand exactly what you say. There is a gym and sauna available in the hotel , but us, being old school, did not visit. The waiters are courteous and very friendly and will look after you well .Bar refreshments (poolside and evening in house) are sensibly priced i.e. 2 x tumbler sized Martinis = 7:7 euros. The Riu Arecas ticks all my boxes, can see us staying there again and again.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and sea views are worth the extra
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank rockontommy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews