We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An experience that makes a difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sigtuna Stadshotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sigtuna Stadshotell
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Certificate of Excellence
Seinajoki, Finland
1 review
“An experience that makes a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Beautiful views, nicely renovated interiors and peaceful atmosphere for business meetings.

Food is amazing both dinner and breakfast. They must have reduced salt since the previous reviews. All hand made at site from warm bread to breakfast juices.

For a business meeting atmosphere and food makes a huge difference compared to standard city hotels with a standard conference floor. Closeness to Arlanda airport makes travelling easy for those coming from abroad.

Cannot comment on price as it was taken care by organizer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
30
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

They market themselves as a 5 star hotel, but they miss the important details. More attention is put on design than comfort and convenience. A big old fashioned bathtub is beautiful but difficult to use in the morning unless you have time for a long bath. A small sink with separate hot and cold faucets are cute but not convenient. Amenities from Molton Brown, but no refill. Over all the rooms are nice but basic. The restaurant is nice and the food is great. The wine list is extensive but really expensive with almost no affordable options. The main draw back is the staff, slow and uninterested, really surprising for this category.
Visit to the nearby SATS Sportsclub is included.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower unless you plan to take baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tistret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Spent a night here with my husband. We had a great room with a balcony, a large and very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. When we got there it was really cold in the room, but three minutes after we had complained we had an extra radiator.

The breakfast was really great with everything can ask for: newly baked scones, scrambled egg, smoothie, salmon, fresh fruit, etcetera. However, we didn't have dinner at the hotel. It was too expensive! I am sure the food is fantastic but to pay 995 SEK each was too much for us (and then the wine was not included). Instead we went to restaurang Båthuset ("the boat house") five minutes walk from the hotel. I can recommened that.

All in all, we really liked the hotel and might come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We were in town for a wedding and spent one night here.
And boy was it a hot one!
You'd expect a 5 star hotel to have air condition in all rooms, but no. Hopefully they will have changed that when they close to renovate.
Otherwise it was a pleasant stay. Good service, excellent food and afternoon tea and a surrounding fitting a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Having been staying in Stockholm, we fancied getting away from the city and spent one night at the Sigtuna Stadshotell. First the good things. The hotel was beautifully designed and decorated in Swedish style, with pale blue-grey wood throughout. Views over the lake were stunning. Our room was a good size corner room, with big windows on two walls and lovely light. There was a good breakfast.

But, but....it needs to do much better than this to justify its 5* star rating. The young staff were charming and friendly enough but hardly schooled in the customer service you'd expect at this price. On arrival no-one offered to take our bags up to our room. Maybe its Swedish egalitarianism and we weren't that bothered, but it would have been nice to be asked. The dinner menu looked appetising but was fussy and pretentious (and, as other reviewers have noted, really salty) . Mark up on the wine was rapacious and the first bottle (which we we had to sent back) had a sulphurous whiff. The replacement was OK but nothing special for fifty quid price tag.

Our departure rather summed up the experience. Check out was at 12.00 and we didn't need to leave until 2.00. But, we were told, the hotel closed at 12.00 and there was nowhere we could leave luggage. With a shrug, we were told "perhaps the tourist information office could look after the bags". Now I might accept being turfed out at midday with our luggage from a hostel or a seaside B&B but in a 5* hotel?

A suggestion, Sigtuna Stadshotel. How about saying to guests in this position (when they check in) "I'm sorry but we are closing at 12.00 tomorrow. However not to worry, we have an arrangement with the tourist information office. When you check out we'll take your bags over and the taxi can pick you up from there". A small thing, but it would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobboblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

Sigtuna's Stadshotell is a pretty hotel overlooking the water.

The rooms are comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful.

Food however, is vastly overrated and overpriced. Far too much salt and oil and cream which tends to compensate for lack of flavour in my opinion. We had the set menu with the wines chosen for each course. Soup was nearly inedible due to the heavy handed use of salt.

Helpful?
2 Thank lizfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2006

Great food, very tranquil atmosphere, better than average service for Sweden. Room (I had a single) was tiny. Bathroom the size of a postage stamp.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Tips/Secrets — Great location very close to Arlanda Airport
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Risu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigtuna
Sigtunastiftelsen
#4 of 6 in Sigtuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hotell Kristina
#1 of 6 in Sigtuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gorvalns Slott
#1 of 2 in Jarfalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigtuna Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigtuna Stadshotell

Property: Sigtuna Stadshotell
Address: 3 Stora Nygatan, Sigtuna 193 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sigtuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sigtuna Stadshotell 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sigtuna Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadshotell Hotel Sigtuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing