We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
38
38
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
38
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast buffet free wifi fluffy towels hot food next morning foundation village history peace hill conference museum chapel stockholm airport property lake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 83 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Lovely room with 1917 style decor and no tv which was actually quite nice! The bathroom had been refurbished with hot shower and fluffy towels.
We stayed 2 nights but didn’t eat in the restaurant. Breakfast was fresh fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon etc and what a selection of teas! The history of the hotel makes it a different stay - historical and restful but clever updating of the rooms.
My husband loved the fact there were lots of sockets for his electronics - more than in a London hotel!
Close to the centre but a long enough walk back to walk off your dinner if you eat out.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin A, Hotelldirektör at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice Review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to us soon again, if so don't forget to dine in, I am sure you will enjoy a meal in our restaurant as well. Even if it is nice to get out for a walk in the evening in lovely Sigtuna.

Kind Regards
Karin Assarsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

I was looking for a place to stay with 2 friends the night before our flight and Sigtunastiftelsen was recommended by a Swedish relative. It is fairly close to Arlanda, but you will need a taxi if you don’t have a car available.

There were 3 of us traveling together and we each had our own room. All three of the rooms faced the water and had wonderful views. The design of the hotel is similar to a Mediterranean villa. As others have said, it is often used for conferences so the layout is quite unique. I recommend looking at the website to learn more about the Sigtuna Foundation. The history of the concept and the property make the hotel even more special. The staff were friendly and helpful. We even were able to have a tour of the building and got to see the common rooms on the upper floors.

As we were here in March we could not see the gardens in bloom, but I imagine the grounds will be really lovely once warmer weather arrives. The property certainly is a place that lends itself to contemplation and learning, but the location within walking distance to the village of Sigtuna and the lake provided us with activities for the short time we were there. We were able to tour the town and have a lunch at Tant Bruns (loved the meatball sandwich) after we arrived and then do a little shopping before our flight the next day. Sigtuna has a lot of history and charm.

I loved my room - it was just what I was hoping for to make me feel as if I was spending the night in a traditional Swedish home. I wanted something of a contrast after staying in a modern room in Stockholm and this room was ideal in that respect. The bed was comfortable with good pillows and the bathroom was totally updated with a great shower and thick, fluffy towels. Yes, there is no tv, but that was not an issue for any of us. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant that evening. Our waiter Manfred suggested suitable wines to accompany each of our meals.It was very quiet as only a few people were staying there but we never felt rushed to finish.

This hotel is ideal for travelers as well as those looking for a place for peace and reflection.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem ask for a room with direct access to elevator
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin A, Hotelldirektör at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Nan,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so please that you had a pleasant stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to us during the beautiful summer period. When the Rose garden is in full bloom and the water is warm and enjoyable.

Thanks again for writing such a nice review.

Kind Regards
Karin Assarsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Fancy a conference venue close to Arlanda airport as well as easy access from both Stockholm and Uppsala coupled with a unique environment in a fantastic setting? Then the Sigtuna stiftelsen (foundation) with it's conference and hotel might be for you. Set on a quiet hill a short walk from the town, it has great views and is nice and quiet. The rooms are small but well planned and as they focus on conversation and interactions there are no TVs so you might have to chat to your colleagues in the bar which is overlooking both the rosary and the chapel. The restaurant food is homemade and very good and the bar is well stocked and reasonable priced. The place has in period been home to most of Sweden's biggest authors. Would thoroughly recommend a stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank MrPhileasF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara K, Försäljningschef at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

We are so glad that you stayed at Sigtuna foundation! Thank you for your nice words and lovely description. Welcome back soon! Sincerely /Sara Klingberg, Sales & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Very helpful staff! It’s a very beautiful hotel, very charming and romantic on the outside, can imagine that in the summer it will be even more romantic !
Excellent breakfast choice, loved the variety of different tea!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara K, Försäljningschef at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Mona,

Thank you so much for your review! We hope you will be back soon!

Kind regards / Sara Klingberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Unique property. Very good location and service too. Each room is unique as is the property itself. Hotel, bar, restaurant, church and library, all under the same roof. It's almost like staying in a museum but with a homey feeling. Free parking.
Ample of places to sit and relax, both outside (heated) and inside.
Dinner very good and the included breakfast buffet lovely.
No TV in rooms but free wifi in property.
Service excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank washing2nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin A, Chef at Sigtunastiftelsen, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice Review, we are so happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. Especially that you found are property as interesting as we who work here do.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to us soon again!

Kind Regards
Karin Assarsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews