We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Hungerford
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Out for the day during the Easter break and called in the Sun for Lunch whilst walking around the beautiful town of Hungerford, what a lovely welcome. It was very quiet with just a handful of what looked like regulars but we were soon treated the same. The menu was bigger than you would expect for lunch and the choice excellent and the amount of food plated for excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2018

Nice fire in winter. Friendly people. Good food, quickly served. Reasonable prices.
I go there with my friends nearly every week for lunch on a Monday

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Dropped in on our visit to the town as we got off the bus. Very friendly staff and locals. Had a half of Bitter which was quite nice. Only one beer on - Hardy & Hansons.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank ijmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

My wife and I Dropped in for lunch (12.00), Pub was still getting ready and we were advised that it was open ‘till 1.30.
First impressions were from the car park, which was large, but not sure if it belonged to the pub as there were cars for sale at the far end. However, the notice that gave all the info had blown over, so we picked it up and reinstated it. The back of the pub is untidy with broken chairs and other pub paraphernalia heaped in a pile, it was very overgrown with weeds particularly where the ‘smokers’ sit outside; not a good impression.
Inside the ‘L’ shaped bar it was dark and very obvious that certain lights had not been turned on at the far end of the pub giving a rather gloomy rather than cosy feel. ( It ceases to amaze me that pub owner fail to realise that the cheapest form of advertising is good lighting)
The staff (owner?) was busy moving chairs and wiping, heat ring stained, tables with a grubby tea towel and damp kitchen paper. The carpet needed a good vacuum aswell. We ordered a couple of drinks (1 wine and an orange and soda water) the wine was enjoyable, but the wine glass was very cloudy from too many ‘dishwashers’; the orange and soda water drink was unpalatable and was left unfinished when we left.
Food was a cottage pie, which was rather good as it was probably cooked on the premises as was the lasagne and chips. However, the apple pie was certainly not home cooked and looked as though it had come straight from Tesco’s cool cabinet, but it was nice as was my wife’s banana split. We were not particularly impressed to be served by a very well-meaning lady dressed in in paint stained clothes and a flowing long woolly cardigan which brushed the plates as she brought the food to the table.
However, the pub was let down very badly by the state of the toilets, particularly the ladies, as my wife reported that there were fasces unflushed in the wc and the closet was very run down and in need of a complete scrub as was the gents.
We feel that there would have to be a lot of changes and attention to detail before we would re-visit.

Richard Judd FRAS

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richardjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald L, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2018

Thank you for your long detailed report. The car park is rented out to mini next door by Greene king, The sign has been put up by mini to stop their customers parking in the car park.Thank you for standing it up. The lady serving you was myself, who had you noticed has been painting the ladies & gents toilets which do need refurbing. The apple pie was not from Tesco's but also did not state it was homemade .Monday is only open till 2pm but will now be closed with no food as it does not justify all the lighting needed. The rest will be delete with at a Greene king management meeting at the end of the month. Let's hope this pub & many others may survive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

Dropped in and glad to see a Christmas ale. Rocking Rudolph was the only real ale but quite nice. Better than the usual bitter

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank ijmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing