We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb birthday meal”
Review of Sindhu

Sindhu
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and enjoyed the tasting menu immensely. All courses beautifully portioned and timed to allow some breaks. Can recommend the albarinho and Gavi wines.

Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, Owner at Sindhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Katherine C

Thank you for your glowing review and we are delighted you had a "superb birthday meal" . We have an excellent selection of wines to choose from and chef Kochhar even has his own wines and Champagne.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mr Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice people a warm welcome with good service but the chef let the side down with warmish dishes. Overcooked squid and under cooked tiger prawns are not what I would expect from a restaurant of this standard and they weren't even that busy as it was early evening. Atul you could really do better than this overall disappointing

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 716penge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, Owner at Sindhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 716penge64

Thank you for your review and for bringing the overcooked squid and undercooked prawns to our attention. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. This is not our usual standards of cuisine and therefore will be investigated with the team to ensure this does not happen again.

We do hope that you will return to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Mr Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had set lunch menu, food was quite simply a delight as were the staff, top it off with lovely view of the river and this made a birthday lunch very special.

Thank Artierufkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, Owner at Sindhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Artierufkin

We are so pleased you had a nice birthday celebration at Sindhu and thank you for the "brilliant" review. This will be shared with the team and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Mr Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The service was friendly, food was great, but poor communication on a considerable wait for mains, will return but maybe for a lunch when they arent busy.

Thank Mikeybueno85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, Owner at Sindhu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mikeybueno85

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and please accept our apologies for the service and poor communication you experienced on this particular evening. This was not our usual standards of service and is being reviewed.

We hope you will visit us again for lunch during the week or at the weekend, where we have special set menus. Our festive lunch menu starts on 1st December until 1st January.

Kind regards,
Mr Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went for dinner with friends to celebrate a joint birthday after a recommendation from friends.
We know Marlow well living locally, so we knew the setting was wonderful - overlooking the floodlit weir.
Saturday night, so the place was busy, but the welcome, while very friendly, was erratic from the off. Lots of different waiters resulted in confusion over if we had ordered food yet; cocktails ordered when we arrived didn’t turn up for 20 minutes, after the wine we ordered with our food order; a long wait (40 minutes) between starters and mains; and we had to ask for the bill twice.
The food was all excellent - we had a mix of starters, mains and sides between us all - and, as we weren’t in a rush, the service issues weren’t a major issue and we will come back - but they need to sharpen up a little to earn a fifth point.

Thank Gareth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J S, Owner at Sindhu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gareth L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and please accept our apologies for the service you experienced on this particular Saturday evening. This was not our usual standards of service.

We hope this will not deter you from visiting us again and hopefully we will achieve the fifth point from you.

Kind regards,
Mr Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sindhu also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Sindhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing