We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place,supercottage-----but!!!”

Review of No. 3 Horse Market

3 Horse Market
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Horse Market
3 Horse Market Bedroom 1 (King Size)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
3 Horse Market
3 Horse Market
Bedroom 1 (King Size)
Bedroom 2 (King size)
Bedroom 3 (Twin or Super-King)
Lounge
Kitchen
32' TV in Every Bedroom
Landing
Bathroom
Shower Room
Separate WC
Utility Room
Sun Room
Patio Area
Front Door
Kirby Lonsdale
Kirby Lonsdale
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
The River Lune (3 Minutes walk from the Cottage)
2015/2016 Price List
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
colin h
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place,supercottage-----but!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend, on our annual family break together. My son, daughter in law, wife and my two granddaughters all loved the cottage. It has been superbly renovated and has every possible thing you could need to make it a home from home. We have been to Kirkby Lonsdale many times for a day out, but this was our first overnight stop. The town is beautiful and has all the amenities you could ask for. Great pubs, shops and restaurants. However the locals are a miserable lot. They really seem to resent people coming to spend time and money in their town. When I say locals I actually mean the people who own holiday homes. They think its their own little England and do not accept strangers. Parking is a nightmare in town and they go out of their way to tell you where and when you can park. The cottage shares a court yard with a couple of other cottages. The owner of the rear cottage is something of a biker with a rather noisy bike plus a right surly manner. He at the first opportunity told us about the parking protocol and not to block the passage way through to the back. Even though we were not blocking the passage we had to move. When questioned why the next door neighbour who was actually causing the obstruction shouldn't move. He replied " he always parks there" . This considering we had only ben there ten minutes did put a damper on the start of our stay. To top it all off on the Monday when we had check out of the cottage and where packing the cars up at 11.00, he told us to move one of the cars so he could shift some rubbish left outside the building works next door.(next door is being renovated). This is not criticism of the cottage and not the owners fault, but it did spoil what would have been a perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and town.
Liked least: The lack of parking space and some of the locals.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage, we work hard to provide our guests with an extremely high standard of accommodation.

As Kirkby Lonsdale is a popular town parking can be an issue and inconsiderate parking by locals and visitors can cause problems. Which is why we, unlike a lot of holiday cottages in the area, provide our guests with a parking permit that can not only be used in all of the public car parks in Kirkby Lonsdale but also any South Lakes District Council car park in the area which is great for days out!

Loading and unloading outside the house is not an issue and if space is available we recommend guests park on the opposite side of the road.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue p
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage in Kirkby Lonsdale - No 3 Horsemarket”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage at No 3 Horsemarket , Kirkby Lonsdale is a joy to stay in. The accommodation is beautiful , well equipped and comfortable. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need. The location is perfect , in a quiet lane but within easy access to the shops , river and an abundance of lovely restaurants. We are regular visitors to Kirkby Lonsdale and will definately be staying in No 3 again !

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage in great location; hard to beat”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated. All creature comforts had been carefully thought of, from the bottle of wine on arrival, to the milk and bread delivery in the morning, and all the essentials, like soaps, and washing powder etc. The location was great too, with lovely shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants in walking distance, and beautiful walks on the doorstep. There was even a place to park our muddy boots! Whilst there is no parking on site, a voucher is supplied for a nearby public car park, and we had very little need to get our car out anyway. We would happily return for another break, and wholeheartedly recommend it to family and friends as a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
899jan
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a weekend in Kirkby Lonsdale in this superb cottage. Every room is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bedding is top quality and spare bedding is available if required. The kitchen is well equipped and the large kitchen table was our meeting place for making plans for the day. Having bread and milk delivered to the door on our first morning was a lovely touch. The use of a parking permit is a bonus as parking is limited in the area. Although just off the main street it is only a couple of minutes walk to all the shops,cafes, pubs and resaurants. We are looking forward to returning in December.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen table with more than enough room for 6 people
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rumba5000...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. The accommodation was great, spotlessly clean and only seconds from the centre of the village. Although close to the centre noise was not an issue and we had peace and quiet to chill out to.

The bedrooms were all large with plenty of storage space. The kitchen was also a good size with the dining table able to seat 6. The front room was OK, I think it would have been better with a corner settee. Although there were 2 settees that could seat 4 adults, you couldn't relax fully and spread out.

Sam and Nickie the owners were really helpful and tried their hardest to make our stay as pleasurable as they could. The fresh bread and milk were a particular hit with all of us.

Kirkby Lonsdale is a beautiful village with several pubs and all the amenities you need. The house is mere minutes from both Ruskins view and the Devil Bridge.

To sum up, I would recommend this house, especially for those with dogs. Kirkby Lonsdale is a great place to spend a few days, I only wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: settee in front room
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margarets...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A pefect cottage for a break, with a high spec and fantastic location,”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We had a fantastic time at this home from home cottage in Kirby Lonsdale.
Every room was well decorated, and the TV's were a boon in each room with the two teenage children.
The kitchen had every thing we needed, even a slow cooker and blender!
The only thing we didnt like was paying it all up front when we booked earler in the year.

A perfect week, that good we re booked for the Feb half term.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house was excellent loved by everyone
Liked least: Paying all up front earlier in the year
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
We have taken on board our guests comments and now only request a 30% deposit at the time of booking and the balance 60 days before arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misswaddy...
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home - absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed here fri - mon on a special offer deal with our daughter and her boyfriend and absolutely loved it. The owners have taken great care to equip the house with everything you could possibly need on holiday and we are talking high spec EVERYTHING! The bedrooms were cosy and all three had a flat screen TV. Lovely kitchen and spotlessly clean throughout - the nicest house we've stayed in around these parts and a credit to the owners. No parking outside the house but not a problem as a disk was supplied for nearby long stay car park after we had dropped all our bags off at the house. We visit Kirkby Lonsdale quite often and usually stay at the Sun Inn but we will definitely book this again as we had a bit more freedom. The centre of Kirkby is literally around the corner and there are soooo many good eateries it's hard to choose which ones to visit. Lovely walks nearby which Mr Darcy (our Boston Terrier) loved. If you want a lovely place to chill and treat yourself book it now, BUT leave some dates free for us! In the words of Arnie - 'I'll be back!' :)

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing