We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Dales have been special to me for many years...”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area Garden and seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Entrance and driveway to Biggins Grange Barn
Driveway and garden, parking area
Garden and seating area
Hallway
Kitchen, with views over the fells
Dining area
18th Century spice cupboard in the kitchen.
Sitting Room, with electric log burning stove.
Bedroom
Bedroom, leading to en suite and dressing room
Bathroom, with dressing table
Bathroom
Dressing gown.
Romantic Balloon Flight over the Barn
Christmas at Biggins.
Certificate of Excellence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janetmfer...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Dales have been special to me for many years and this was another spectacular dimension!”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This building must be full of interesting history but the barn conversion is so well done and the interior is so cosy! It has an ambient temperature which is so comfortable with heating off and all amenities to make for the perfect week's holiday.
We have been so lucky with hot and sunny days but I'm sure we would have had a wonderful time in this landscape whatever the weather! Beautiful scenery all around.
David and Tina are the perfect hosts- just helpful if you need them.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thank you for your nice review. David and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday, and that you had such fabulous weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, comfortable home, real lovely thoughtful owners”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

There are about six steps up to the front door and another 6 steps inside but very easy access.
This is a very well insulated property and we had to turn the heating off even though it was cold out side.
Really lovely stay with dish washer, washing machine, DVD's books and games. Everything you would need for a great stay.

Thank you Tina and David. Hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, easy access to Lake District, Yorkshire Dales and Kirby Lonsdale's great restaurants. Tina and David provided Gluten Free food and a bottle of wine for our arrival. Great touch.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Biggins Grange Barn. You were perfect guests, it was lovely to meet you. You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnandro...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent week in superb accommodation”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Biggins Grange Barn at the end of October and had a tremendous week. The location is great for exploring the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and ideally placed for nipping into Kirkby Lonsdale - good pubs and restaurants - about a mile away. The Barn itself was superb; one of the best rentals we have ever experienced. As other reviews have said, David and Tina, the owners, have thought of everything in making the Barn such a special place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and will definitely return.
Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to know the little extras are appreciated ! We provide even more for Christmas and New Year! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole J
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The barn has simply everything you could wish for and more.....Such a lovely peaceful setting and pleasant 15 minute walk to Kirkby Lonsdale - which is simply a beautiful town. Lots of independent shops and plenty of choice for either coffee and cake or well deserved pub lunch. Beautiful walk along the River Lune to Devils Bridge. Ruskins View simply stunning too.Can also recommend Settle to Carlisle train journey. The barn is an excellent base for exploring and Tina and David have simply thought of everything. Cosy and very homely. A very relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: The spidersthat seemed to be coming in from the cold
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you. Really happy you enjoyed your holiday, and that you were pleased with the barn. Would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We recently spent a week at Biggins Grange Barn. We found it to be a delightful, cosy cottage in a lovely quiet location. It is ideally situated to explore the Lakes and the Dales, and is also within walking distance of the charming nearby town of Kirkby Lonsdale, which has a wide range of eating places. The nice little touches provided by the owner on our arrival eg milk, biscuits, flowers were much appreciated, and we would thoroughly recommend the cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet M
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC COTTAGE.”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As in our title the cottage is idyllic, peaceful and has everything you could need.

We immediately felt at home., in fact it felt like our temporary second home for the week.

It's location is perfect for exploring The Lakes and Moors.
I did my daily 5k run, meeting locals and dogs alike .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: The mattress,springs dug in.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
I am sorry that you found the mattress a little uncomfortable. We always listen to what our guests tell us, so we now have a new mattress. Thank you for pointing it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith k
1 review
“Lovely home from home.”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely time at Biggins grange Barn. Everything was provided to make it like home.The location is ideal for the Lake District and we had almost perfect weather as well!We enjoyed all the motorbikes at Devils bridge on the Sunday and sat by the river eating an excellent sausage bap from the cabin. We would certainly go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing