We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cottage in a brilliant location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Coastal Retreat

Tidal Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room 17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Tidal Retreat
Dining Room
17th Century Exterior with regency bay window
Enter a caption for your photo
Fireplace overmantel
Kitchen
French doors leading to patio area
double bed
twin beds
part of patio area
Arbour
Patio area
Looking out of bay window
Twin bedroom leading to ensuite
Dining area
Lounge area
Patio
Kitchen
Living Room
Ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Blakeney, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Craig F
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a brilliant location”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This cottage was a wonderful base for a winter getaway for my partners birthday. The property is ideally located and very well equipped, including a dishwasher.

The cottage has bags of character and was warm and cosy despite the November winds. The deli next door is a definite bonus. As other reviewers have said yes there is occasional parking in front of the window but those who know the narrow streets of blakeney will know this is inevitable. If it's a problem then shut the curtains!

All in all a lovely property in a beautiful village and very reasonable too. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma F
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it! The photos do not do the cottage justice at all. The living area is a little small for 6 people, but it wasn't a problem.
Beds are comfy! Bathrooms are nice, clean and have power showers! The showers take some fine tuning for the right temperature.

The location is awesome with nice walks, lovely pubs and cute shops on the door step!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anemone89
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central location, comfy, but a shame about the road parking”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Blakeney is a great location with plenty to do, good places to eat, we enjoyed The Moorings and Wiveton Farm. This cottage worked fine for 2 of us , we found it well equipped, comfy beds., warm...BUT if you are a family the stairs are dangerously steep and narrow,. The Deli next door is great for croissants in the morning but unfortunately people ignore the double yellow lines and the narrow road outside is used for parking to go to the Deli , this makes the cottage even darker as there is only this window into the living area, also people stare in the window. Overall this was a good cottage for a last minute autumn break at a reduced rate.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHLD
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tired old cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As stated by previous reviewer cottage is tired and furnished with odds and ends. Being right next to the deli you get the delivery vans across front door. At night there is the sound of the cooling system for the shop outside the bedroom. I have to question the 4 star rating.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cava4060
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, disappointing accomodation”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Super location for getting out and about, plenty to do without the need of a car.
Cottage is tired despite a new laminate floor and a decent suite- the rest of furnishings and utensils are odds and ends. Cleanliness and maintenance was poor. We raised some safety points and customer service was dismissive of our concerns, in fact becoming rather rude in follow up emails. The cottage is functional but not really comfortable or cosy and I would not stay again- nor use the letting company again for any other property. Be warned the staircase is super steep with very narrow steps- so could not be used if you have any restricted mobility issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: attitude of customer service agent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peanutbut...
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and myself stay in this cottage for 3 nights, it was the perfect location to enjoy Blakeney. Only a stones throw from the quay and next door to the deli (best sausage rolls ever and the smell in the morning was amazing) the cottage was clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Would defiantly recommend to anyone, and if we ever stayed in Blakeney again this cottage would be our first choice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
Letchworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed over half term and loved it. We often stay in this group of cottages, this one was good for us as we had an elderly person with us, so the ground floor bedroom and en-suite helped. It was perfectly located near the quay, with gorgeous décor and looked like a new floor with deep wool rugs.
Loved sitting out in the evening when we got a bit of sun in the very private outside area.
We love Blakeney, so go a lot, particularly to this group of cottages which we have always found to be first class.
Two shower rooms a bonus. Good shower pressure. Were glad to pay the extra for bed linen as the prices are so reasonable and you have the choice whether to or not.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Blakeney
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing