We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveller rating
930
121
28
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
930
121
28
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treatment rooms afternoon tea walled garden crab apple brownie samphire beautiful hotel secret escapes wedding venue both dinner and breakfast new owners fresh milk on arrival deluxe room summer house scallops three courses
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We booked an overnight stay with a massage in the afternoon and an evening meal, for my birthday.
Having originally made the enquiry direct, we discovered that there are package deals to be had on various web sites, so we contacted the hotel again and they honoured the prices we quoted.
My wife and I had an hour long massage in the afternoon, which was very nice and relaxing.
We stayed in the Rosehip room, which was very comfortable and clean. Our only minor criticism of this room is that it is at the top of the stairs, directly above the reception desk and the phone and staff can be heard quite clearly.
Pre dinner olives and bread sticks was a nice touch.
For me, the menu was restrictive. I do not eat fish, so had a choice of Chicken or Beef. I chose the beef and was informed that it was cooked pink, which was fine with me, but if you were someone who did not eat pink beef or fish, you were stuck with chicken or a veggie option.
The evening meal was well presented, but looked a little on the small size, but it was actually sufficient and very tasty.
After dinner, we went to the bar and I was surprised by the waitress singing happy birthday and presenting me with a pice of candle lit cake on a glass plate, which was a nice touch.
The breakfast menu provides a very good selection of cooked options as well as a buffet with fruit, yoghurt and juice etc. We had eggs Benedict which were lovely.
From the moment we arrived, every member of staff was polite and full of smiles. Unlike many places we have stayed, it actually felt like they were happy to work there. I am someone who likes to have a bit of a chat and joke, which also seemed to be accepted and enjoyed by the staff.
Yes, it is quite and expensive place to stay, but we would still recommend it and would return ourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ldobingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We visited for a wedding. We stayed over night. Had a comfortable room out of the main hotel. The wedding venue was nice. The food was great and they catered for vegans, vegetarians, gluten free etc. They were very accommodating. The hotel was a little tired looking inside. Breakfast was good. Fairly pricey for our room. Lovely grounds.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 194janev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Good surrounding green areas. Trees down to Riverside, pleasant quiet waterside ducks and boats. Afternoon tea pleasant and scrumptious. Good service in pleasant surrounding s with a choice if three venues in the hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ianhb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Found this hotel on Secret Escapes but stayed two nights. The staff are brilliant so friendly, and helpful. There was a wedding taking place and a special taster menu in the restaurant but the staff still made us feel welcome and had time to chat. Food is excellent the menu is interesting and presentation is imaginative. Rooms comfortable and dog friendly which was great for us. The grounds are stunning and a great place to walk off the excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tillybear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Since our 1st visit to the Norfolk Mead in March 2017, we have returned several times and most recently held our wedding there. it is located down a leafy lane running alongside the church in Coltishall and cannot be seen from the main road so ensures privacy. We have always received an exceptionally high level of service from all staff. If you are considering hosting your wedding or any other events there we would definitely recommend the venue. The food in terms of quality, portion size and presentation is excellent. Having stayed in both the Chanterelle and Mulberry suite the furnishings are luxurious, stylish and comfortable. whilst there we treated ourselves to a number of spa treatment which were amazing. We will no doubt be returning to celebrate special occasions in the future. In particular we would like to thank our wedding coordinators Victoria and Francesca who went above and beyond to make our day one to remember for all the right reasons. Chris & Cheryl Armstrong

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cherylbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews