We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stuart House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stuart House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in King's Lynn
Certificate of Excellence
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Only stayed for one night on a business trip. Very impressive hotel, room was excellent with good facilities. Evening meal was very good, staff friendly and helpful. Hotel was busy which speaks volumes given the time of year. Highly recommended if your are in this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    86
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
112
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Two of us stayed 4 days, Mon to Friday, stayed in a family room, a double and a single bed, both very comfortable. Room, on ground floor, was excellent: enough space, clean, well appointed and decorated, big bathroom, excellent powerful shower over bath.

Hotel is within walking distance of town centre ( which is an unusual but very welcome mix of chain stores and small independents, well worth a visit)

Ample off road car parking in hotel grounds, which is at a premium in Lynn..

Breakfasts were just right and more than enough, fruit juice through to full english, dinner could be taken either in restaurant or bar, same menu. Food was great, wide selection, very well prepared. After meal on first night we decided that we would eat in hotel each night and we weren't disappointed. Two Rotary clubs meet in restaurent ( Mon & Thu) so couldnt eat in rest. till 8.30. Not a problem as we used bar each night and use by two Rotary Clubs is an indication of how good hotel is.

All of the staff were excellent, helpful and friendly and most had worked at the hotel for a long time ( 10 years or so). Owner was most helpful with tips on where to visit and what to see in the area.

Cant recommend hotel highly enough we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186402Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Only stayed one night. We had the garden room and the in-laws had a room in the hotel. Both were tidy, spacious and clean although the garden room had quite a few webs around the coving and was lacking a plastic cup to rinse your mouth after cleaning your teeth. The receptionist was welcoming despite being clearly rushed off her feet due to a wedding that was taking place. They did warn us of this fact at the time of booking which was very good of them. The best part of the stay though was the cooked breakfast on Sunday morning. The waitress was happy and chatty but not overly so. The breakfast was spot on. It set us up for the day which involved a 15 min stroll through the park to the town centre which surprisingly had an exceptional selection of shops. The old quay and front were worth a look as well. We were lucky enough to spot an otter which capped off a really nice weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Nelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room large but bed not very comfortable.
Shower just dribbled - reported it but it didn't change thru stay.
Breakfast pretty average.
Staff friendly & helpful. Bar comfortable & food good.
Ample parking. Only a short walk across the park to get to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHouse, General Manager at Stuart House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Stuart House. I am sorry you experienced some problems during your stay. Would you be so kind to email or telephone me (Donna) at the hotel so I can investigate the issues. I hope apart from the problems you mentioned you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just enjoyed a fabulous couple of days at the Stuart House Hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff were warm and welcoming. Had a great family room on the ground floor, with easy access to the attractive walled garden, just for residents...the perfect place to relax in the evenings. I stayed at the hotel with my mum and 5 year old son, who both really enjoyed the hotel too. My son particularly loved the resident cat and Sox the Rabbit. A huge thank you to Rowena for making us feel so welcome. This hotel has a real family atmosphere and all the guests we spoke to agreed that this really is a 'home from home'....plus delicious food in the restaurant and a good, old fashioned bar. We look forward to returning again soon. Thanks again, from Tyler and his mum and nanna (Room 23) xxx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elis392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We always stay here when we are working out of Kings Lynn, and the only downsides to the hotel are that the curtains let a lot of light through, so when we are working nights and need to sleep in the day its a little more difficult, and the bar doesnt serve food at lunchtime.

Other that those it's really very good - comfy bed, good sized clean room, tv, ensuite, complementary toiletries (always good!), packed lunch available on request (bacon sandwiches included!) and friendly staff.

It;s not right in the centre, but the area is nice and its only a short walk into town.

The bar food is very tasty, lots of variety and always some nice specials to tempt you - the garlic mushroom starter is very tasty!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucys488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Stuart House hotel is one of my regulars as my head office is based in King's Lynn and the 190 mile round trip from my house is a tad too long for the regular commute. For longer stays, I base myself at the Stuart House. I have probably stayed there hundreds of times over the past 20 years at all times of the year.

The hotel is a home from home for me, and the staff , most of whom have been long standing employees, and I are on first name terms and we enjoy a chat and a banter. All the staff is very welcoming, and will attend to all your needs with a smile and swift efficient service. Dave, the owner, runs a tight ship and has made huge improvements to the property since my early visits in the 1990's.

King's Lynn is not a place you might think of visiting unless you had to be there for a reason, but there is more to it than meets the eyes. The old town, with its two markets, is full of surprises,with great imposing buildings from years gone by of the Hanseatic port history, and has seen a great deal of refurbishment and the revival is noticeable. Very good restaurants for all budgets abound, and all are within walking distance from Stuart house. The hotel itself has a formal restaurant and a very cosy bar where food is available from a set menu of some distinction, with regular board specials. I have never been disappointed by any meals I had there, and the fayre comes at a very reasonable price Member of the good pub guide, the Stuart house hosts a wealth of foody and drinks events throughout the year, and the bar is generally what can be termed as a 'happening place'. The winters are particularly comfortable as the bar has a roaring log fire which will add to the warmth of the welcome. The resident cat is a very gregarious addition and if you will let her, will curl up cosily next to you by the fire, all you need is comfy slippers!

King's Lynn is also very close to landmark venues and tourist attractions, such as Hunstanton, Sandringham etc, and the Stuart House is equally capable in serving both the business traveller and the visitor. It's a good base to explore the West and North Norfolk region.

The property is split between two buildings, the main hotel is located down a private gravelled drive and enjoys a quiet location. A recently acquired large house just 200 years away off the main road, 'the Lodge' has been refurbished to a very high standard and offers a more 'boutique' experience than the original property. The minor downside is that it can suffer from traffic noise in the rooms which face the streets rather than the garden. Both property are equipped to a high standard and all have satelitte /cable TV, tea and coffee making facilities and en-suite bathrooms. Not all rooms are equipped with a bath, some only have shower rooms but these are few. It's is worth asking however if you require a bath when booking.

Dave is making a great job of refurbishing all rooms in the older property, which started some years ago with installing power showers - a great improvement as the water pressure in the area is what we can call 'feeble'. Business travellers and facebook addicts will be pleased to know that free wi-fi is available at both properties and works pretty well.

The older property is a tale of two halves. The old house has oodles of character and the bedrooms are very ecclectic in terms of their sizes. There is a massive honeymoon suite and another 2 large bedrooms, and from there the sizes really go down to a miniscule single room where you can almost touch opposite walls with stretched arms. it's worth checking what you really want when booking. Bolted onto the old house is a block of 'new rooms' which was added in recent times. The rooms are identical in size in this new bloc, providing good double accommodation. The downside of this area is the sound insulation. It is really very poor, and conversations can be clearly heard from next door, not to mention crying babies or TV's on a bit loud. If this matters to you especially if you plant to stay a fews nights,specify a room in the old house or else bring ear plugs.

All in all I can warmly recomment staying there. The main attributes are:

Location: Walking distance to town and all major Norfolk attractions withing one hour drive
Service: Personal service from this family run establishment and experienced staff
Value for money: Not cheap not expensive, offers a good breakfast, lunch and dinner option
Facilities: increasingly to a common standard, with a few reservations - see my notes on the newer room bloc
Bar: A very cosy and welcoming area where you never feel alone

Verdict? A good regional little hotel, with personal service and very little to say against it!

Room Tip: Ask what rooms are available, where and make a request to suit when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these King's Lynn hotels
1.2 km away
The Duke's Head Hotel
The Duke's Head Hotel
#7 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.2 km away
Globe Hotel
Globe Hotel
#2 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Lynn Hotel
#4 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
9.3 km away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
3.0 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#8 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuart House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuart House Hotel

Property: Stuart House Hotel
Address: 35 Goodwins Road, King's Lynn PE30 5QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in King's Lynn
#5 Family Hotel in King's Lynn
#7 Romantic Hotel in King's Lynn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stuart House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel situated in its own grounds and just a short walk from the centre of the historical town and port of King's Lynn. All the rooms are en-suite and well equipped with all modern amenities including free Wi-Fi internet access, direct dial phones, TV, radio, hairdryer, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Fully licensed bar and restaurant. CAMRA listed bar with a real fire in the winter. Pretty private residents garden for relaxing in the summer. Private off street parking is available in the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Stuart House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Kings Lynn
Stuart House Hotel UK/England - Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing