We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cut above”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated in the village of Terrington St John En-Suite Double Bedroom at the front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Situated in the village of Terrington St John
En-Suite Double Bedroom at the front of the house
En-Suite Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom in Guest Suite
Edwardian bathroom Guest Suite
Edwardian bathroom in Guest Suite
Guest Suite sitting room
Double bedroom in Main House with vanity basin
Double bedroom in main house with vanity basin
Double Bedroom in Main House
Large Edwardian-style Bathroom with walk-in shower
Walk-in Shower in main Edwardian-style Bathroom
Large double bedroom at the front of the house with vanity basin and wardrobe
Large Double Bedroom at the front of the house with vanity basin & wardrobe
Sauna
Outdoor heated pool
Entrance through to outdoor pool
Main entrance
Extensive grounds
Grounds
Garden Room
The Chestnuts Bed and Breakfast
The Chestnuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
King's Lynn, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark J
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This is an elegant and spacious Edwardian house set back from a dual carriageway in rural surroundings, with a pub and friendly Italian restaurant a short walk away.
The owners took every trouble to help me locate the property, settle in , advise on where to eat out and assist me with information - to get the most from the locality for my interests; all very appreciated. The bathroom, bedroom, bed and delicious Continental breakfast, with home-made extras, were first class, and as good as you might hope for the price.

Light sleepers will find earplugs useful for the road-facing room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, shower and breakfast
Liked least: The wrong address and misdirection by Trip Advisor
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
We were delighted that Mark enjoyed his stay. As we live in an agricultural, rural location the day starts around 6.0am. At certain times of the year we do have large agricultural vehicles moving around. So yes If your a light sleeper - just let us know and we can accommodate you at the rear of the house.
Look forward to recieving your enquiry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, beautiful and pleasant”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to try a b&b with our girls, to see some of the East Coast. Bringing children can be tricky but we could not have been happier! We stayed in the Guest Suite and was warmly welcomed and showed around by the owners and their gorgeous dog. Beautiful house, amazing garden and freshly baked cookies in our room! The owners have excellent local knowledge and are happy to help. The entire family were very happy with everything and we will be coming back soon, for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners friendliness and the beautiful house
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah3210...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Chestnuts is a lovely place to stay as a base to look around beautiful Norfolk
The owners Colin and Gill are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant and relaxing.
I stayed with my daughter and dogs so they put us in the guest suite which was perfect for our needs.
We will be visiting again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizkift
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“my husbands 1st experance b& b with family dog.”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fab accomerdation etc. Just what we needed all round! A homely feel & very hospitable hosts but not intrusive. As we were taking time out after a stressful episode in our lives it was perfect. Just 4 nights but we felt refreshed and ready to take on the world again. Mr Muddles our Norfalk Terrier also enjoyed his stay too. Thankyou so very much. Hope to stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: our dog was made so welcome.
Liked least: noise from near by road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda F
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic, couldn't ask for a better 'Home from Home'.”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Gill and Colin (along with Ben) are the most welcoming and pleasant of couples to run such a business.

The accommodation is outstanding and the food was excellent.

Thank you both so much ... So good I think I should keep it quiet!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accommodation with slipper bath, so luxurious!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H
1 review
“Great place, great food, great service, great hosts Colin and Gill [and the 2 boys] and great spot for the dogs”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Such a lovely spot especially when you have to take a dog into account. Nothing was too much trouble for Colin and Gill. Gill even brought out a Thomas the Tank engine set for my grandson to play with. Food was great both for breakfast had a continental breakfast one day and big breakfast the next plus dinner all done superbly with extra special little treats like fresh bread, fruit, prosciutto, cheese plates and cakes. Very reasonably priced for the value. Thank you Colin and Gill for a wonderful weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was excellent especially the welcome given to our cocker spaniel, Benson
Liked least: Directions to the property could be improved
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz-Southe...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very warm welcome, great food, comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed November 12, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed with Colin and Gill for the weekend with our two kids and dog. We received such a warm welcome, the food was amazing and locally sourced. Colin and Gill cooked a beautiful roast lamb on the saturday night which was to die for, with a yummy apple cake for dessert. The breakfasts were also really delicious with freshly baked bread. We stayed in the flat out the back with our dog which was warm, cosy and very comfortable, we were also made welcome to come in and enjoy their beautiful home. Will definitely be going back again ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing