We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and very comfortable cottage”

Review of The Byre Cottage

The Byre Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage
Sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Sittingroom
Hall
Bedroom 1
Sittingroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Scenery
Bathroom
Has underfloor heating, electric towel heaters and separate shower.
Exterior
Hallway
Sitting room detail
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kayandphi...
Kendal, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful and very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We were very impressed by the comfort and the peaceful setting of the cottage. It was very well and thoughtfully equipped - many small items we usually take to hoiday rental property were already there. The owners are on site, not at all intrusive but very helpful. We used the cottage as a base when attending my daughter's wedding - she left from there for the ceremony - and the owners kindly took photographs and presented her and her fiance with a bottle of bubbly. We had lots of last minute organising and work to do for the wedding and the cottge was a haven of peace to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaMalt...
malta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

a special thanks to the owners who are very gentle, kind and helpful. the cottage was perfect, cosy, warm and very welcoming. bathrooms very clean. a very quiet place after a day out. we even found toys for our 2 yr old daughter. beds were really comfortable too what can i say? just perfect. will surely reccomend it to friends and relatives in malta. worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquillity and cleanliness
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenmoolla
Cheshire
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a lovely holiday here. The cottage was presented to a very high standard and was very clean and comfortable. The owners had refurbished the cottage a few years previously and had fitted it out very tastefully and in keeping with the surrounding environment. It had everything we needed in terms of facilities which was particularly important to us as we have two young children. The owners, whilst living next door were not the least bit intrusive, yet readily on hand to answer any of our queries. The area is lovely and the beaches are fantastic for children. We would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to be back another year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelleS...
Eysines, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ton1160
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: De rust en de vogels
Liked least: er wonen ook een paar (keurige) duiven naast het huisje
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing