We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great welcome and an excellent space to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A Bit On The Side

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Old Abbey Road is a quiet, family-friendly street just 5 minutes from the High Street.
The apartment sits opposite the 800 year-old ruins of North Berwick Priory.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Adrian N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great welcome and an excellent space to stay.”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Beautifully prepared and thoughtfully equipped space. Every detail taken care of from Patrick's welcome to the wonderfully comfortable bed. A really attractive self contained studio apartment just a short walk from the town centre and lovely sea front. A real gem of a place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in North Berwick and the apartment suited you so well. Thanks also for leaving things in such excellent condition. This was greatly appreciated. We would of course love to welcome you back on your next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yogateach...
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the job.”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We are a retired couple travelling by train. The flat is just a few minutes walk from the railway station, very convenient for us. Beaches and harbour are a short walk away, approx 10 mins, and we used the local High St Co-op for groceries. We used the local buses during our stay, there were stops near our location for trips out. Our home for the week was very comfortable, light and clean. Our host was welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2018
Many thanks for a very kind review. You were great guests and we would love to host you again on your next trip to North Berwick. Hurry back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2018
This was our first non-5 star review for almost two years :( .. but I am not sure if there were particular problems. We were assured everything was great during the visit, and the review itself seems very positive. If there are problems, it is always good if guests let us know. That way we can take the appropriate action, as we have done with great success in the past.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne F
1 review
“Ideal bijou place perfect for one (or two)!”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Situated perfectly for an easy stroll into town or a dash for a train to Edinburgh, A Bit On The Side is just the thing for a stay in the lovely seaside town of North Berwick. Patrick,your host, will have everything prepared, and the accommodation lacks for nothing, is spotlessly clean and even includes a complimentary bottle of fizz and free range eggs if the hens are laying. You will receive a hearty welcome from Mac, the Golden Retriever and a cooler greeting from the two cats, and plenty of courteous assistance from Patrick, should you require advice on what to see or where to go.I would be delighted to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2018
We love this review. Many thanks for taking the time to compose it. A fantastic guest who was very friendly and easy going, and also left the apartment in great condition. All hosts should give a warm welcome to Anne. We certainly hope to do so again on her next trip to North Berwick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Mar 2018
Many thanks for such a great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again before long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jose carl...
1 review
“Cosy heaven in North Berwick”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Excellent place to stay and great host. The place will exceed your expectations. You have everything, I mean everything! . The location is great, very close to train station and the beach. Will definitely repeat again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2017
It was great to meet you. Thank you for being such a great guest and looking after the apartment so well. You say you are likely to come back and we would be delighted to host you once more. Take care till then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place to stay”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

East Lothian and North Berwick are great for a holiday, and 'a bit on the side' is a perfect place to stay.
It is close to the centre of town and the station, yet very quiet and relaxing.
The accommodation is of a very high standard with everything provided, even fresh milk in the fridge. Bed, shower etc. are all superior quality.
Patrick, our host seemed more like a relative welcoming his family, well done!
All in all, not just 'a bit on the side' but a very special place to stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
What a lovely review. Many thanks for your kind words. It was a delight to host you both and you will of course be very welcome to return any time you wish in the future. Finally, thank you for the thoughtful gift ... it will be put to very good use indeed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing