We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Workshop

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Heathfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Christoph...
2 reviews
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Old Workshop is perfect in every way! It is in a lovely, quiet location with picturesque views from the decking area and just a short drive from anywhere you may wish to visit.

Very well equipped with everything needed.

We were here for our 1 year anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better weekend.

Thank you Jenny for the lovely welcome gifts - these were very unexpected and a lovely gesture.

Once again - sorry about the oven knob :)

Thanks again
Chris & Aimee

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
So glad you had a good anniversary. No worries at all about the cooker knob, we found a replacement! Hope to have you to stay again.

Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseW90...
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best cottages we have stayed in”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Well equipped spacious, warm, comfortable and quiet cottage with lovely views from balcony. Hope to return in the future. The welcome package was most appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio L
Province of A Coruna, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant and quiet stay in British countryside”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spend 11 days at the Old Worshop in late July and August and we enjoyed a pleasant and quiet stay. The house is a bit isolated (although there are other houses near), and the distribution of the rooms makes it really comfortable. Besides you get a lot of peace, with a lot of green around and the opportunity to enjoy the landscapes of East Sussex, a really cute area that is worth seeing.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill S
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home with beautiful views”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a wonderful week here. The Old Workshop is well equipped, the owners are lovely, warm and welcoming, also they provided unexpected extras which were a very pleasant surprise. They also catered to our extra needs, we had a young baby with us, without any fuss or bother. The view is beautiful, the whole environment peaceful and relaxing, the neighbours friendly. Sitting out on the balcony/terrace, especially first thing in the morning I could feel all stress just melting away. The Workshop itself has been converted to a really high standard, it's very comfortable, a real home from home. We would definitely recommend a stay here and are hoping to visit again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
I'm so glad you were able to take time out and relax. You know where we are now the next time you nee to unwind. Lovely to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bananenbi...
Bernau am Chiemsee, Germany
1 review
“Lovely countryside stay in a nice cottage”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent two weeks in the old workshop. The living room is wide open and comfortable. The establishment of the cottage is new and tasty The owners are just a walk away and very nice. Our daughter take a ride on the owners horse. There is a lot to see, but you need a car. Because we stayed longer and want to cook, we suggest to drive to Crowborough (Morrison). Visit Batemans, Seven Sisters, Scotney Castle, Brighton, Kew Garden, Camber Sands and Rye. We had recommended old workshop to a friend. Thank you Jenny. Hope we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Hope to see you again too! Jenny x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limbylloy...
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We hired the workshop for 3 nights. Lovely spacious open plan living room , 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. All the essentials provided excluding iron, hairdryer , microwave, washing machine, oven to name a few and wifi which was a big bonus. Very secluded which we like but with the bonus of the owners just a walk away . Car is needed due to remote location but pub for a bit to eat and main shops just a short drive away . All in all a lovely short break and would definitely return again , thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Workshop. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petitevag...
Caen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home and Away”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Staying at The Old Workshop has been simply great. The place is both roomy and comfortable, with an impressive view onto the countryside!
A whole week spent in enjoying sharing with the locals and enjoying the beauty of the county!
You can't help but feel at home, somehow, as you become acquaited with the surrounding villages ans public houses!
Many thanks to Jenny and Helen for their hospitality...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place itself, its authenticity
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
It was great to meet you and your lovely family. So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old Workshop.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing