We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
642
254
118
30
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
642
254
118
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowshed spaoutdoor poolland roversea viewbeach hutking roomart decoopen kitchenspa hotelboard gamesself cateringfamily hotelbar menuthe cliffchanging roomssun loungersdaymer bay
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The hotel is close to the sea walk along a former rail track, allowing comfortable walking tin both directions, with great views. However the rooms vary from the wonderful to the dark and airless, so be sure to get a full description when booking. Some of the room windows are small with heavy net curtains and only one comfortable chair. Unfortunately all the rooms which we saw have lamp shades which are black inside, preventing direct light onto a book, whilst the light bulbs are not sufficiently powerful for the light reflected from the ceiling to suffice, at least for more elderly eyes.
The restaurant is perhaps better at ensuring the appearance of the food than making it very tasty, but it sufficed.
Outstanding were the staff and management who were determined to do all they could to ensure our comfort. and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Ask what the windows are facing, how big they are and the view.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FelixP227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear 'FelixP227'

Thank you for feedback on your stay with us at St Moritz Hotel.

We do have a selection of rooms here at St Moritz and I am very sorry to hear that you felt some were dark. Our Cosy rooms are our double rooms, which are non-sea facing, all with standard windows and very sufficient lighting, and as you have mentioned, these are all described fully upon booking. We have beautiful rooms here at St Moritz Hotel and our reservations team are more than happy to advise on which room would be best suited for you upon booking.

Your comments about the lighting in some of the rooms have been noted- thank you.

We are delighted to hear that you describe the staff and management team as 'outstanding'...this means a lot to us!

Thank you again for your comments and we very much hope to see you again soon,
Kindest Regards,
Kaylee
Guest Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We stayed as a large group with a mixture of ages for a long weekend in September. The accommodation we had was excellent and the staff as helpful as they could be but we felt that it lacked overall top management. We had one or two issues which were resolved but arose through no fault of our own. The restaurant was pleasant but for a five night stay the menu was pretty monotonous, very limited choice, we changed to half board on arrival and we're told that the menu changed daily - in fact the only change was that one evening there was even less on the menu. Fabulous location and amazing for children (ours ranged from 12 - 7). In my view it needs someone in overall charge at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Dear 'Sarah A'

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us at St Moritz Hotel. Your feedback means a lot to us.

We are delighted that you found your accommodation and the staff here at the St Moritz, 'excellent'- we are very lucky to work with such lovely people, even if we do say so ourselves! And as you said, what is equally as good is the location of the hotel; everything is on our doorstep! I am glad that the issues that you had were resolved but I am sorry to hear that you felt that there was a lack of management- we always have a duty manager on site 24 hours a day as well as a General Manager.

And with regards to your comments about our Restaurant Menu- thank you- this is something that our new head chef is currently working on.

Thank you once again for posting and hope to see you again soon,

Kindest Regards,
Kaylee
Guest Host


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a villa for the first time this year.

The villas are able to use the hotels facilities but are self-catering (and therefore cheaper than the hotel). The villas have largely been thought through with good living space, a balcony and area to wash out wet suits.

There are 2 pools - both heated- one indoor the other outdoor They are closed to kids quite early, which is a shame and there are no obvious changing rooms for the outdoor pool (we couldn't find them anyway).

There is a helpful shuttle service to Rock and Polzeath. However there is no phone signal in Polzeath so calling for a lift back was fun!

The highlight for us was the proximity to a very quiet beach where we enjoyed sunsets and bbqs on the beach. Not a swimming beach but very quiet in the evenings and easy to take food etc down from the villa.

Overall the place looks a bit tired (cobwebs in the villa) and could do with some tlc in some areas. The ability to recycle is also quite poor. It felt a bit pricey for these reasons, but would consider returning in a few years (mainly for the beach we discovered!).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank HR_Lawyer_On_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear 'matt k'

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us in a self catering villa.

It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the well quipped villa, both the indoor and outdoor pools, the complimentary land rover shuttle service to Rock and Polzeath and our excellent coastal location with many bays and beaches to discover.

Thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping and our recycling area, I have passed these on to the Villa and Maintenance Manager to look into.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We went for apartment 305 - 3 bedrooms on the 3rd floor with amazing views of the estuary. Lots of room for 4 - maybe a bit tight for 6.

We can't rate this place highly enough. Very contemporary furnishings all high end and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean with everything you could need. Sky tv with all the channels, indoor & outdoor pools and a fab cowshed spa.

5 min walk along the stunning coastal path to polzeath and 45 mins to rock .

Lovely team who are really helpful. This is our 4th visit and we will be back.

Would recommend- it is simply stunning

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear 'Julie G'

Wow! What a fabulous review! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us in Apartment 305.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic week in the clean contemporary apartment. It is great to hear that you also enjoyed our indoor pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi along with the outdoor pool with sea views and the amazing Cowshed Spa. We must agree that our location between Rock and Polzeath is excellent for exploring the North Cornwall coast.

Thank you once again, the staff will be thrilled to see your kind comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We stayed in March for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary, check in was efficient even if the receptionists attitude was a bit funny...a little stand offish. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated and just right for us. A nice little touch was the chocolates and message from the hotel for our anniversary. The indoor pool areas were nice but I think they could have been a bit cleaner and look a little fresher. Dinner at the hotel was excellent, both of our meals were stunning and we liked being able to see the chefs at work, but again the attitude of the staff was a little strange. Don't get me wrong they were professional, just seemed to lack personality. One thing that is annoying is that the hotels room are separate to the reception/restaurant/spa having to go outside to get between the two buildings. Luckily it was not raining when we were there. Overall the hotel was lovely, i'm not sure if we will be back as there are other hotels nearby that we prefer.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jonandmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe-St-Moritz, Guest Relations Manager at St. Moritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Dear 'joandmeme'

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us in March this year. We love to congratulate all of our lovely guests who are celebrating a special occasion.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful dinner in the a la carte restaurant on both evenings of your stay and enjoyed watching our expert chefs carefully prepare your food.

Thank you for your feedback on the indoor pool area and the service you experienced, I have passed this on to all managers to ensure our highest standards are consistently provided.

Thank you once again, we do hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kindest Regards,

Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews