We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House in the Heart of Padstow”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 12 Strand Street

12 Strand Street, Padstow.......harbour front location...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
12 Strand Street, Padstow.......harbour front location...
Family kitchen seating for 8 people, Electric fan assisted oven
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
12 Strand Street, Padstow.......harbour front location...
Family kitchen seating for 8 people,
Electric fan assisted oven
Lounge with wood burner.
Family lounge, seats 8.
Wham wood burner.
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom.
Views from house harbour side.
En-suite bathroom attic bedroom, with king bed and a single bed.
Attic room bedroom, King bed, plus single bed and en-suite shower, toilet and basin.
Attic bedroom.
Attic bedroom, football table.
Family bathroom.
Family bathroom.
Views from small double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Padstow harbour, views from the house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosie D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in the Heart of Padstow”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic trip away with friends at the end of the Summer. It really is perfect - clean, well decorated house with a large kitchen and spacious living area. I would highly recommend this property to families and groups of friends looking for a cosy getaway in the beautiful Padstow!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review. This is much appreciated.
I hope you return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahm201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, beautiful, clean and cozy house!”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

I spent a long weekend here with a bunch of girlfriends and we couldn't have stayed in a better spot! The house was beautiful inside and out, very clean and was in the perfect location. I would totally recommend this place for any type of getaway (friends, family or with a partner).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review the property.
I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and will recommend the property to friends.

I look forward to you returning to 12 Strand Street in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georginaf...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect long weekend away”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This was a perfect long weekend away with a group of girls. We were very lucky and had glorious sunshine in October. The accommodation was so nice, lovely big kitchen and each room was so nicely decorated and clean. Beds were very comfy and the house was lovely and warm. The location was amazing looking out onto the harbour and close to the nice beaches. Would definitely recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - so close to everything
Liked least: there was nothing i didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review.
I'm very pleased that you liked the decorr and you found the beds comfortable.
I aim for a high level of comfort and cleanliness at the property.

I llok forward to you re-booking in the near future.

Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for a break with friends”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

The house in Padstow is so beautifully decorated and is in the most amazing location, right by the harbour! Kerry was so helpful with our arrangements and made everything really easy for us. The 8 of us had a brilliant girls weekend with walks along the beach and delicious pub lunches. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at 12 Strand Street, Padstow.

I am so pleased that you like the decor and enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willhc201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I must admit I don't put reviews on any site, however I feel this place deserves one. It was clean, perfectly sized for the guest we had and very central. When we walked in it made a great start to our holiday as we new we would be happy here, definitely a home from home feel. I recommend it to everyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much.

Very positive feedback! It makes me happy to hear that you consider the property a 'home from home' I endeavor to make the property as comfortable and equipped to a home standard and I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the property.

I look forward to you retruning in the near future.

Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect family getaway”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a long time researching dozens of properties in mainland Europe and the UK before choosing 12 Strand Street, Padstow. We had some reservations... about the town centre location (we've gone for more secluded, rural rentals in the past); about the house itself, in particular the size of the living room, kitchen and one of the bedrooms, which was described as a small double/large single; the lack of outside space; and about the narrow access road and lack of parking.

We needn't have worried - this is a stunning house which we immediately fell head over heels for. Its position is perfect, with its 'front' facing away from the harbour onto a very quiet and largely traffic-free lane (Strand Street itself), and all rooms bar the twin bedroom overlooking The Drang, South Quay and the boat-filled harbour. As for the accommodation, the promotional photos really don't do it justice - perhaps a plan of the house would be a useful addition to the Trip Advisor listing. As you enter the house there is a useful hallway with plenty of hooks and shelves for all the paraphernalia for a party of eight adults - shoes, coats, bags etc. - as well as cupboard for the (very quiet) washing machine and dryer. To the left is a stylish, well equipped and large kitchen/diner, the dining table easily accommodating eight, while to the right is the dual aspect living room. The latter comes across as a little small in the photos, whereas in fact there are two large sofas, one of which converts to a futon-style bed, plus an armchair - plenty of seating for eight or more. There's a large, low coffee table, perfect for board games or spreading out a takeaway meal. The woodburner wasn't needed during the very warm week we were there but I can imagine it being a cosy and welcome feature in the winter months.

On the first floor are a very large double bedroom (billed as the master, although there is no en-suite), again dual aspect and with a great view of the harbour from its own seating area; a twin room with a window out to Strand Street; another smaller double again with views over The Drang to the quayside (this room is described as a large single but was fine for two adults in our group); and finally on this floor, a nicely finished bathroom with shower-over-bath. Continuing up the stairs to the second floor there is a huge, triple aspect attic space, set up as a family room but which we think for all intents and purposes is the master, with a very comfortable double bed and a single, an en suite (double) shower room and even a bar football table. Of course, couples with a young child would also find this room ideal. A large Velux window affords fantastic views of the quayside streets, the harbour itself and beyond to the Camel Estuary and as far as Rock. We even did a bit of star gazing from the second Velux. My wife and I had this room and found it a very private, cosy space with its exposed timbers and panelled walls, everything done out in whites and soft blues in a summery, beach-style theme. The rest of the house is also nicely decorated and finished, with a mix of timber, laminate and carpeted floors, comfy upholstery and lovely, crisp, clean linen on the beds.

As for the lack of parking and outside space, these quickly became non-issues. Once we'd unloaded the car on arrival (getting a quite large MPV up The Strand is no problem), we bought a week's ticket for £37 from the very friendly and helpful Harbour Commissioners which got us a spot on the car park on Riverside, only a minute's walk from the house. As there is so much to do in and around Padstow we found we only needed to use our car a couple of times during the whole week we were there, choosing instead to walk, cycle or use the excellent ferry service to get about. If you do go further afield and return to find the car park full, you normally only have to wait a few minutes before a space frees up. Our one large food shop for the week was delivered from the local Tesco's. We walked there for a top-up shop and it only took about twenty minutes, and we went to the Spar a couple of streets away for milk. Chough's Bakery is a stone's throw from the front door and has lovely fresh bread, croissants, cakes and, of course, pasties!

The lack of a garden or terrace didn't bother us in the least - you can walk, cycle and ferry to so many beaches, activities and eateries that your days are spent outside anyway, the house serving as a very comfortable base from which to explore. And as both kitchen/diner and living room have windows that open out onto The Drang we would often sit here with a cup of tea or glass of wine just watching the world go by, or listening to the buskers on the bandstand below - to be honest, just as nice as having a terrace, and with a better vantage point too.

A word about Padstow itself. If you're familiar with the town (or rather, large village) and the surrounding area you'll know that a week doesn't really give you chance to scratch the surface of what's on offer. However in our week we managed to... cycle the Camel Trail (bikes hired from Trail Bike Hire, which is a little cheaper than Padstow Cycle Hire), with lunch in Wadebridge; body board at Fistral Beach and potter around the very quaint Port Isaac; ferry to Rock and walk to Daymer Bay; walk to the nearer Padstow beaches, with crazy golf on the way; enjoy pasties from Padstow Pasty Co., and fish and chips from the excellent Chip Ahoy fifty yards from our front door; have a day out at Watergate Bay; have evening drinks at The Old Ship and The Harbour Inn; and have a very nice evening meal at Pucelli's, at a table overlooking the harbour. Not to mention the galleries, gift shops, independent clothes shops, the general boat and people watching, and last but not least the very entertaining Breezy, Phat Bollard, Morris Men and Harbour Day singing. Come for two weeks and you'll be able to pack in even more. For those with deeper pockets there are of course Rick Stein's many establishments to try, plus Paul Ainsworth's No. 6... we found the many other, more reasonable options perfectly acceptable, so don't feel you need to splash the cash to have fun.

Niggles? There were one or two, which I'm not going to go into as they in no way spoiled our stay. If you want to know more please message me and I'll explain, but they were so minor you shouldn't hesitate to book. The main thing to stress is that Kerry, the very friendly owner, was proactive and communicative, making herself available by phone, text and email to sort things out. The booking procedure was simple and straightforward.

If you're looking for a comfortable, private, home-from-home for 8+ people, in a place that's got something for everyone, then look no further. I can't think of a better place for a family gathering, celebration or chill out.

Thanks Kerry, and Padstow, we hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is pretty perfect and Padstow has something for everyone
Liked least: Being woken at 5am by the seagulls, but this is the seaside and it was nesting season!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review. This is much appreciated.
I must stress that the property is advertised to sleep 8 people and seating etc. is set up for 8 people. What allot of useful information you have listed, and such a detailed description of the property! Thank you for taking the time to go into such detail in this review.
I do hope you will return to 12 Strand street in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mouseybun...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldnt ask for more”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The property couldnt be better situated. Literally 2 mintes (if that) to the centre of Padstow, and dare i say 20 yards from the first Pub and over the top of a wine bar! What surprised me was the view of the harbour from the property, much better than i expected. Internally the property is finished to a very high standard indeed and very well kept. Rooms are very spacious indeed. Please note there is no parking at the property so you will have to purchase a week ticket for the main Padstow car park. The property is only a 3 minute walk away from the car park. For unloading you can drive right up to the front door of the property but try and unload quickly as you will block the road. When we stayed the traffic was light. In summer or at busier times this may be more of a problem, as will finding a space on the main Padstow car park. Buyng a weekly ticket does not guarantee you a parking place. All in all a wonderful property and one that i would quite happy live in let alone holiday! Fantastic

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the property itself
Liked least: Can be a little noisy being close tot he wine bars etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review.

I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing