We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Metropole for a long weekend and as always thoroughly enjoyed our visit.
We booked a standard room which was very comfortable and had a recently refurbished bathroom.
Both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were excellent and the service was efficient and friendly.We wre also pleased to receive complimentary tea in the lounge upon our arrival.
I read some comments on here about the old fashioned and slightly 'shabby' look of some parts of the hotel,but for us, this all adds up to an old building offering a cosy and relaxing atmosphere whilst providing excellent food and drink at the same time.
Finally,I must mention the staff who are always friendly and willing to help whenever required...this is not always something that can be taken for granted in many hotels however smart they may appear to be.
We shall be back in the autumn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    511
    203
    83
    49
See reviews for
179
934
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Imposing hotel as you enter Padstow. At first impressions hotel is a little dated and tired but all staff very friendly and helpful and the standard room which we had was surprisingly large with very modern bathroom. The food you cannot falter, superb evening dinners, the breakfasts were good to. Dress code in the dining room was mixed with both formal and very casual dress eg scruffy jeans and tee shirts, but that been said the 3 days we stayed there were very enjoyable and good value. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Hubby and I and two friends stayed at the Metropole for two nights on a B&B basis. The staff were delightful and very helpful. Our room, whilst not large, was very quiet and had a lovely view of the harbour. A large bright dining room sits alongside a lovely glass covered terrace where complimentary tea is offered on arrival. Breakfast was taken in the sunny dining room and we found this to be plentiful and hot and served by the most efficient staff. We already had reservations at local restaurants during our stay so we did not have the chance to experience the restaurant. but this is something we intend to do on our return visit. All in all the Metropole is an excellent location for browsing Padstow with its assortment of delightful restaurants and shops. I would recommend the Metropole to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We wanted a good hotel where we could park the car up for a few days and meander around the harbour. We arrived at 4pm (earliest check in is 3pm) but the car park was already full. We were told that most guests arrived early! Top tip therefore is get there around 2pm and secure a parking space. You'll probably get your room anyway.

On arrival the room was freezing cold (even though we were expected) and it took about 4 hours to warm up after I switched on the radiator. We'd paid extra for a room with a view. In fairness it did have but the room (2) was tiny. We had to lift chairs as we moved around. A single room size with a double bed in it! Paint was peeling off the windows and there were damp patches on the bathroom walls. Noticed a neighbouring room included the guest's dog which suggested that such rooms are allocated randomly rather than ground floor or basement as you'd expect. I'm sure the dog appreciated the scenic view from his first floor window though!

Bed too hard for my liking.

Restaurant was very good and the staff really pleasant and helpful.

Fabulous location for a short stroll into the harbour with the obvious benefits of Padstow are available. Benefits outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikenwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The Metropole is wonderfully situated overlooking the Camel Estuary. There is always a welcome here. The service is excellent and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good - though perhaps more variety at dinner would be an improvement. The worst thing about the dining room is the awful music which blares out at breakfast and dinner. Staff did turn this down on request but it so unnecessary and such an irritation. Our room overlooked the harbour. It needed refurbishing - holes in carpet- but was adequate and the bathroom was clean. There were lots of dogs staying when we were there. All were well behaved as were their owners. We did not see any being fed at the table on the terrace and they are not allowed into the dining room. Parking is a bit of a squeeze sometimes and there are no disabled spaces which I would have appreciated as I have a blue badge.
This is a hotel for people who like peace and quiet (except for the dining room), old fashioned service with a smile, comfortable lounges, value for money, and a warm welcome. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heljaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Had a weekend at the Metropole with my partner at the end of January and enjoyed the stay. We'd booked on a cheapish deal and paid extra for a sea view, but when we were a bit disappointed with the room, it was changed immediately, no problem. Position overlooking the estuary is fantastic and out of season is definitely the time to visit Padstow.

As with the Idle Rocks hotel at St Mawes (sister hotel) the stand-out thing for us was the quality of the staff. They seem to understand that good service means being welcoming, friendy and efficient, rather than that po-faced stand offishness that you often get in UK hotels that think they're upmarket. Food was terrific, better than Idle Rocks where the portions were on the measly side. Only downside was the number of dogs with guests - on both mornings we were treated to a guest exercising her dog on the lawn directly in front of the resturant, then cleaning up the resulting mess and appearing shortly afterwards with dog in the breakfast area. Not good - and picked up by all the people eating. But all in all a good spot for a weekend.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Ok, this hotel needs a lick of paint and update, but there's a great old fashioned atmosphere which you don't get in the modern boutique hotels. The service of all the staff was superb, always smiling and ready to please. It's clean and has everything you need. We had fabulous views from our room (26) up and down the Estuary. Breakfast very good - quite refreshing not to have a huge buffet so we weren't up and down all the time!! We go to Padstow twice a year and this is the first time staying at The Metropole and would definitely stay there again - it's a great base.
Only a couple of little ditties .....
We asked for the 'hot' towl rail to be hot not cold as the bathroom was very cold - this
unfortunately was not seen to. If staying longer, we would have pushed for this to be done. Also, the crab sandwiches were pretty awful, overpriced at £8.00 not quite sure what they did with the bread, so we sent them back - this was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
5.5 km away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
390 reviews
3.2 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
17.5 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The St Enodoc Hotel
31.2 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
10.2 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Station Road, Padstow PL28 8DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pride of Padstow Located in one of the most enviable positions on the north Cornwall coast, the Metropole offers stunning sea and harbour views, traditional style bedrooms and delicious AA rosette dining in the Harbour Restaurant. Complete with an outdoor pool and spa treatments, enjoy a truly Cornish welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Padstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing