We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent experience for any family”
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press Quirky dining table and dresser
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Good quality mattresses and furniture
Kitchen fully equipped down to a cafetiere and garlic press
Quirky dining table and dresser
Open fire or woodburner
Ekornes Stressless recliners in the Old Round House cottage
Heated indoor swimming pool (Easter to end of October)
Farm play equipment
Barn owlet
Barn owl on own of our Owlcams
Dundee - one of our miniature Shetland ponies
Frankie - our other Shetland pony - on a creekside walk
Trevorrick Farm and the Camel Estuary
The Camel Estuary and iron bridge
Trevorrick Seamills - walking in to Padstow
The Camel trail and iron bridge walking in to Padstow
Camel Estuary at low tide
Walk down to the beach from Padstow
Padstow harbour
The imfamous Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant in Padstow
Padstow harbour
Padstow harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Boeingboy...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for any family”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We visited from Dubai with two infants. Our 18month old Flynn had an amazing holiday experience. The cottage was perfect. Everything we needed and a home away from home. We did not need to ask for anything extra as all was provided.

The farm itself is set up for visitors, so is not a massive muddy industrial farm and is perfect for families and children. The morning 8:30am pig feed, then lamb feed and whole mini farm experience is brilliant for the kids. Our son Flynn was the youngest of all the children yet was accommodated by Melanie who ensured he was included in all the morning activities even though he became distracted by the model play tractor in the field which he clambered over and in a way became his second home while we were there.

The location is remote with a very nice pub about a 15minute stroll away and lots of little walks available to push the pram around. Padstow is a short drive away and is well worth the visit and also pram friendly. A nice walk around the harbour and up to the memorial and down takes you to a nice beach and the walk there was very nice. Other Cornwall towns and beaches are a short drive away.

Finally, Melanie and Nick are super hosts. They worked hard and both had a friendly relaxed approach to ensuring the guests enjoyed the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The morning animal feed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie N
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect family holiday!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We (us and our 18 month old) stayed in Credis View (the caravan) for two weeks from 20th June. We all absolutely loved it! The caravan was great, spectacular views over the fields, south facing private garden and being so close to the animals was a daily excitement for our toddler (and us!). The inclusion of age-appropriate toys in the caravan was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Animal feeding and petting was a great way to start each day and you could see Melanie's passion for the animals; she was also excellent with all the children staying on the farm. We couldn't pull our toddler away from the fun play area and the 'trundle toys', so much so that we almost missed the lamb feeding on many mornings!

The actual location of Trevorrick Farm is fantastic in its close proximity to beautiful Padstow and the surrounding Cornish beaches (our favourite was Treyarnon Bay).

Both Melanie and Mike were superb hosts who clearly wanted to ensure you had the best holiday possible.

P.s. if you are looking for somewhere good to eat locally, then make sure you try The Journeyman just a few minutes drive away from Trevorrick Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The animals!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellyroch...
London
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Off the track and peaceful, with plenty for the kids”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Farm based, 9am everyday the kids feed a variety of animals and pet some more domestic types.

Very hot indoor pool, good for small people and those who need heat.

Too many kids playthings and toys, everywhere.

Plenty space for kids to run around,

Ideal for family or with grand parents who can stay seperately in a nice 1 bed place. Tv , books and videos by the score, hotel/ pub nearby, walks to padstow and wadebridge, along the riverside. 10 minutes to sea beaches, less to a couple of tidal river spots on the old railway, now cycle track

Well kitted cottages, kitchens with all you need

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to have you stay, and lovely that you enjoyed our little Cornish farm so much that you extended your weeks stay by 3 extra nights. The adults certainly enjoy our animals as much as the children and it was good to see you having fun feeding the ducks and our cute kune kune piglets. The swimming pool is constantly heated to 29 degrees. This is actually the temperature that most swimming pools are heated to and is suitable for most users. Look forward to seeing you again, maybe with your family next time. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
556liz
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family holiday with young children”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our holiday at Trevorrick farm. Our 2 year old loved feeding the pigs, lambs, goats and guinea pigs each morning and leading the lambs out to the field. Mel was very kind and took time to think about age appropriate toys to keep her entertained. All the necessary childrens equipment was provided which thankfully gave us a bit more room in the car!! Great location being near Padstow and all the beaches nearby. Mel was a very accommodating host and we would certainly recommend a holiday at Trevorrick Farm.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you for another lovely review, wonderful getting so many "perfects" in review titles! Lamb "leading" is particularly popular at present. All of our guests (adults too!) are enjoying being able to hold the rope of a halter trained lamb. The lambs are very docile, and great for children to lead. Hope to see you again. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday.”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From within 10 minutes of walking into our cottage (Owls Roost), I knew that I would like to return again. We arrived late (10pm), which Melanie was very accommodating with, and she still took the time to show us various features of the farm and cottage. Little touches like stair gates, booster seats, toddler cutlery makes travelling easier and lighter, plus there were 3 big boxes of toys for my children to play with in the living room and books and cuddly toys in the bedroom. In fact, the toys we brought with us were barely touched all week!

The farm itself was perfect for our family, plenty to enjoy all day from the animal feeding in the morning, playing in the well stocked play areas, swimming and our nightly round of saying good night to the cows, lambs, goats, pigs, ducks and (my personal favourites!) the guinea pigs. Being able to help feed and handle the animals was a highlight for my 4 & 2 year olds and both were keen to sit on the step ready for their guinea pig cuddle, armed with their carrots! Melanie is exceedingly good at engaging all the children and ensuring everyone gets a turn.

The play areas have so much in them, that the children happily spent half a day or more in them, allowing us to relax on the benches with a coffee whilst they were occupied.

The surrounding area has plenty to keep you entertained, from wonderful Cornish beaches, charming harbour towns to bigger family attractions. One of our highlights was hiring bikes in Wadebridge and cycling to Padstow for a well deserved lunch, via the scenic Camel trail.

I could go on (some more!) but to sum our holiday up, staying at Trevorrick gave us a wonderful family holiday - where we forgot which day it was - and nobody wanted to go home and everyone was talking about returning, before we left. Melanie and Mike were wonderful hosts who really do go the extra mile for their guests.

Thank you Melanie & Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Even though you arrived late (no problem!), and couldn't really appreciate our beautiful location and all our outdoor facilities at that time, so pleased you instantly felt at home and that you would like to come back again. Yes, the guinea pigs are many guest's favourite, out of all our animals. And I think the adults appreciate our animals as much as the children!! See you again soon. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We all had an amazing time at Trevorrick Farm and look forward to returning already!

We got exactly what we wanted from this stay and more. The location was great...it felt as if we were in the middle of nowhere but we could easily walk to the local pub. Padstow and the lovely local beaches were only a few miles away. There is so much to do in this area, we were spoilt for choice!

Most importantly for us was keeping our 2 year old entertained. She absolutely loved feeding the pigs, lambs, goats and guinea pigs with Melanie every morning. There were so many toys inside and outside of the cottage for her to play with. The swimming pool was great and most days we had to drag her away from the play house to go out for the day! There were lots of videos and DVDs for children and adults to choose from.

The cottage we stayed in was Serendipity and it was perfectly equipped for us to self-cater comfortably. We had our own parking space right outside. There was plenty of space inside the cottage, it was very clean and we loved being able to keep one half of the stable door open so we could hear when the Ducks were passing by.

Melanie and Mike were wonderful hosts. They made us feel very welcome and were always friendly and around to advise us on the best places to visit. We made use of the babysitting service they offer which meant we could visit the local pub for a couple of drinks one evening. It was great to be able to borrow buckets, spades and wind breaks for our beach visits. I cannot recommend this place enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Animal feeding is the highlight of the day for many of our guests, and I try very hard to provide suitable toys inside the cottage for younger children. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrsbennet...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So happy to be back again”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We returned to Badgers Way for the first week in June after having visited last in September 2014. We didn't tell the children we were going back until just a few weeks before as we knew they'd have been too excited and pestering to go as soon as possible.

As before, Melanie and Mike had everything ready for our arrival including a superbly-equipped and spotless cottage (complete with already-unpacked food order in the kitchen from www.food4myholiday.com), age-appropriate toys for the children, 4 and 3, and a whole host of very willing animal friends to entertain us all each day. The children barely wanted to leave the farm and would only do so once they'd checked that we were only going out for the day, but that we would return to 'Melanie's Farm' again later in the day. They made much more use of the swimming pool, games room (in particular the air hockey and mini trampoline), wendy house and climbing frames than they did last year and it was lovely for my husband and I to be able to sit back and just watch them play together.

As before, a highlight each day was feeding all the animals and it was no problem encouraging our two to eat up their fruit and vegetables to be able to save the skins and scraps for the pigs & piglets, turkeys, ducks and chickens. The goats were on fine form again and feeding the lambs was fun but, as expected, the lovely guinea pigs were the firm favourites again.

When we did manage to venture away from the farm, we enjoyed trips to Lanhydrock (NT about 30 minutes away), Lappa Valley Steam railway (playtime heaven for under 5's about 40 minutes away) and both Harlyn Beach (15 mins away) and Polzeath Beach (about 30 minutes away) (to which we were very grateful to have taken the communal wind-break available from the Wash House at Trevorrick!). There was more to see in the locality but we simply ran out of time.

Melanie and Mike were so friendly and accommodating again and made everything easy for us to simply relax and enjoy ourselves. We particularly enjoyed the knock on the door one evening to be allowed to see the Barn Trust officials checking and ringing mum and three baby owlets on-site - truly a once in a lifetime event!

Our two children were so happy every day on holiday this year and were very upset to be leaving at the end of the week. I have a feeling we'll be heading back down to Trevorrick again when we next can. Thank you Melanie and Mike!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything being so easy for us
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Such a pleasure to see you all again so soon, and thank you so much for your lovely review. It really is something special to see barn owls being ringed, and in the next few months our guests will be able to watch mum and dad bringing food to the little ones, and then in July watch (hopefully) the little ones fledging and flying from the nest. We had 3 cottages occupied by repeat guests last week, yourselves, a German family who stayed last year, and then also the guests who had their last holiday with us only 6 weeks ago at Easter. Welcoming guests back is such a pleasure. As you say there is so much to do in the area, if the children can be persuaded to leave the farm. It is lovely to know your children are left with such fond memories of their holiday at Trevorrick Farm. Melanie xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing