We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable,close to the centre and great value!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Police House is the nearest building. The yellow one is The Golden Lion in Old Town.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Police House is the nearest building. The yellow one is The Golden Lion in Old Town.
Front of the house. Parking is adjacent to the side wall. Private Parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
The Old Police House is the nearest building. The yellow one is The Golden Lion in Old Town.
Front of the house. Parking is adjacent to the side wall.
Private Parking
Lounge, with twin sofa and armchair
Newly refurbished with mains shower
Kitchen
Padstow Harbour
Padstow Harbour
Church Lane on Mayday
Mayday
Padstow Mayday Finery
Mayday Maypole
Harbour View
Padstow Cycle trail along the Estuary
Harbour in the Evening
Nearby Harlyn Bay - one of 7 bays in the area
Padstow Estuary and beach
The RNLI Lifeboat station at Mother Ivey's Bay. A lovely long walk
Dramatic North Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VDub77
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, very reasonably priced, room for improvement”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Review of Apartment 2, The Old Police House, Padstow

This is a very honest, and hopefully useful, review to both future holiday makers and the owner.

Location
The location of this apartment is superb and the fact it has a parking space in such a popular tourist day trip location was excellent and most appreciated!!
5 stars for location and parking.

Furnishings
When booking the apartment we were aware from from the description that it required refurbishment, although the advert did say mostly to the exterior we agree with the owner (through her comments on other reviews) that the interior of Apartment 2 requires rather a lot of refurbishment too which I understand will begin after 2014 high season. We feel the price paid reflected this and the pictures do show the style of the apartment. We certainly weren't expecting a Arighi Bianchi or a John Lewis styled interior and were happy with that. The owner has already made a start and we were very pleased with the brand new carpet. The kitchen is very well equipped and we certainly didn't feel anything was missing. The only complaints we have are about the state of the curtains and chair in the bathroom (see cleanliness below) and the 'nic naks' in the bathroom took an entire shelf which could be freed up for guests' toiletries. The toilet is also extremely difficult to flush - doesn't sound much, but it is a real pain.
3 stars for furnishings and equipment

Cleanliness
Having advised the owner we were arriving a little bit early (hour and a half) we were told that we wouldn't be able to check in early as the flat was being cleaned - perfectly acceptable. However, when we arrived at the scheduled check in time (and throughout our stay) there was a very strong smell of damp/mustiness and the flat did not smell clean as you might expect when arriving only minutes after the cleaner had left (especially when there are so many cleaning products in the communal hallway.) Unfortunately for us, there was hair in the plug hole in the sink in the bathroom. Also, the chair and the curtains in the bathroom were quite marked with water and toothpaste stains and really need replacing ASAP. We mistakenly thought the sofa in the living room was a sofa bed and when we lifted the cushions there was an awful lot of crumbs and sand which again, if the apartment had just been cleaned (properly) you wouldn't expect to find.
3 stars for cleanliness

Privacy/Noise/Comfort
The apartment is very reasonably sized and there is a lot of space. Having the downstairs apartment meant we got the benefit of having a back door (stable door) which we were able to use to try and air the flat. However, the bottom lock has been badly damaged and is impossible to use. Because of this you have to really bang the door to shut it, thus causing noise to the upstairs residents and neighbouring properties. The middle lock is warped so takes a great deal of fiddling and a few trapped fingers to get it shut. Ouch! The locks need replacing ASAP.

Sadly, because this is a converted house you can hear everything from the apartment above. We might have been very unlucky with the guests upstairs (two different sets)
, in that they might have been very heavy footed and spoke very loudly, but we could hear everything - including when they were on the toilet!!! We were unable to sleep in any morning because we were woken by their movements. This was really upsetting because neither of us feel we got a full and decent night's sleep - which is what holidays are for. To be fair, we don't think this was the other tenants' fault but it did make for some exasperating meetings with them about the noise - not very enjoyable. This could be improved by lowering the ceiling downstairs and adding extra insulation.

We also felt that because the bed and bathroom are next to windows straight on to the road, and a lack of black out blinds/curtains, that our privacy was compromised and found it rather difficult to relax. It was also impossible to have the windows open and use either of the rooms, because the curtains get sucked out and anyone walking past can see right in. Blinds as well as curtains, would help improve privacy. The noise from the water system, especially the water cistern, was phenomenal, and would benefit from a silencing system. Equally, because of the gap under our apartment door, we were often disturbed by the other guests (Apartment 1) leaving or arriving at the property. At times, it really did feel like we were sharing the apartment with them.
2 stars for privacy/noise/comfort

Apartment 2 The Old Police House has the potential to be a wonderful holiday let. Sally, the owner, is very communicative and easy to get hold of. We recognise that the owner is aware that the apartment is in need of refurbishment, and this is reflected in the current rental price. However, we think attention should be spent on the privacy/noise aspect before decoration.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review and we always welcome feedback which can help us improve things
We are constantly working to update the property and strive to give all guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We are well aware that we are not 'Padstow 5 Star' and we do price the apartments with this in mind, despite our central location and the bonus of parking.
This is only our second season with my sister and I letting professionally (although we are lucky enough to have had the house has been in the family since 1982), and every penny is being put back into the property.
Happily, we have had many returning customers and it has been very, very busy this summer, but this has been putting our cleaner and the furnishings through the mill a little. Your comments re the cleaning and bathroom furnishings have been looked into and I apologise profusely if they were not satisfactory for you.We have positive reviews about the cleanliness usually and want this to continue.
Regarding the noise from upstairs, this is trickier to resolve. We put brand new carpets in this summer with extra thick underlay, but it is an old long-converted house with floorboards
When I am down in September I will have a plumber look at both bathroom arrangements and replace items where needed.

Our next big change will be new windows this winter, and the back door will be changed then, too. It is a bit sticky and we are aware of this.

I hope you are reassured that we do listen to our guests and that improvements are put in place as quickly as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamb60
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable,close to the centre and great value!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I would recommend this accommodation wholeheartedly; it is clean,comfortable and near to the shops and amenities in Padstow. I would happily book this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to the town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review and I am really pleased that you would consider booking with us again. Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia M
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our experience at the Old Police House”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The major advantages of this holiday let are its location and the fact that it has its own parking. It is very close to local amenities but also lovely and quiet which we really liked. We did feel that the property could benefit from some redecoration - particularly the bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom very
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thanks very much for your review, which did flag up some things we need to change. After the high season we had planned to redecorate, and will ensure this happens ASAP. I have also clarified with you that it was some furnishings in the bathroom you felt needed replacing and I now have these ready to place once there is a gap in bookings, in September.
We always appreciate guests telling us how we can improve things, and we will always endeavour to upgrade as and when possible. I am glad you liked the position and had an enjoyable stay overall. Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon N
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money every thing u want for a great stay!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Everything on ur doorstep car parking lovely and clean will be booking again! Pubs few steps away takeaways excellent pubs all serving good food! Padstow is very dog friendly all pubs take them! Lovely walls lovely beaches !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
I have just worked out how to respond to reviews! Sorry to take so long, but thank you very much for the positive feedback! Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
851TheMan...
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask For More.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A real gem. Less than a minutes walk from the centre of Padstow, this ground floor apartment has everything you could wish for.
Despite being so close to the amenities, it's very quiet at night time. The bedroom is reasonably spacious and the bed wonderfully comfortable.
The lounge is comfortable with a t.v. set, portable cd/radio and has a good heating system if you visit outside the summer months.
The kitchen is small but more than adequately equipped.
All this for a very reasonable price AND a guaranteed parking space.
We've already booked a return visit.
Highly reccommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was warm, clean and comfortable.
Liked least: The car parking was a bit tight but this is a minor quibble.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Sorry, have only just worked out how to respond to reviews! You were one of the first and thanks so much for the early lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This apartment is superb ! If you are looking for a superb location apartment then look no further ! It's lovely and cosy with everything you could ever need . The value for money is excellent . You really won't find better . And it has a parking space ! Cannot recommend this apartment highly enough !

Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Sorry for the delay in responding. I have just worked out how to! Very late to thank you but, as one of our earliest guests, the feedback was really appreciated. Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We look forward to staying again next year”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The location was just perfect, the road was quiet and it was a really easy walk to the harbour, and the pub!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There was a parking space for us.
Liked least: There isn't a garden.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing