We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Althea Library

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Althea Library
Ranked #3 of 58 Padstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Althea Library is stituated in an excellent position for exploring Padstow and its restaurants. We stayed in the puffin suite in one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, the room was lovely, clean, spacious and has a very relaxed and comfortable feel to it. .Geoff & Jane are lovely, hospitable people and we were made to at home the moment we arrived, breakfast is excellent and there is also parking.
If we could have given it more than 5 stars we would have. We have not stayed in a B & B for a number of years but after this experience, we would definietly do it again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
197
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at the Althea Library for 4 nights. After reading the trip advisor reports our hopes were high. We weren't disappointed! What a lovely b & b! Our room ( the Yellow Room) was extremely comfortable and spotless. The bathroom was again spotless. There were lots of nice touches, (fresh full size carton of milk almost daily, chocolates, lots of different coffees and teas to try, lovely bathroom products......), which were very much appreciated. The breakfasts were wonderful. Lots of walking needed to work them off! The car park is also an advantage in Padstow. Jane and Geoff looked after us very well indeed and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just want to say to Geoff and Jane THANK YOU again for a wonderful 8th stay in your lovely home. Missing the breakfasts!

See you in December

C & L

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chubster1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Althea Library is a great base for exploring Padstow. We stayed in the Yellow room, which is lovely, clean, spacious and has a very relaxed and comfortable feel to it. The room had every possible extra, from lovely organic toiletries to a full selection of teas and real coffees. The hosts are lovely, hospitable people and we were made to feel very welcome, the breakfast is excellent. Its in a good location 5 mins from the harbour and with off road parking - a bonus in Padstow. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkmoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed just one night at the Althea but enjoyed it immensely. We had the yellow room which was quiet, well appointed, with a roomy bathroom and spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable.The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It has the huge advantage for Padstow that they have their own off street parking. It is a very short walk into the main part of town where there are lots of restaurants, pubs etc. We had dinner in Rick Stein's cafe and the man himself was there!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed at Althea Library for a couple of days in July and were impressed by it's location - which was only a couple of minutes from the harbour on a very quiet road. Thankfully there was parking, as this can be an issue in Padstow, so this was a real bonus. Our room (Green) was spacious and well equipped and the breakfasts were good and plentiful. Our room had a mini fridge in it, which would be very useful had we been there slightly longer, and other touches like a torch in the room etc were well thought out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angep1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Wonderful rooms and hosts are charming. Definitely would revisit!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.5 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
5.1 km away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.4 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sea Chalet
Sea Chalet
#1 of 58 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 km away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 58 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 km away
Cally Croft
Cally Croft
#5 of 58 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althea Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althea Library

Property: Althea Library
Address: 27 High Street, Padstow PL28 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Padstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II Listed Building, converted from a school/library and situated in the oldest part of Padstow near the Parish Church and a 5 minute walk from the harbour, shops and excellent restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Althea Library reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing