We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never dissappointed”

Paul Ainsworth at No. 6
Ranked #3 of 87 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 22, 2021 via mobile

This is our 5th visit to this fantastic restaurant, the attention to detail is phenomenal. The food is delicious, beautifully presented with detailed provenance to each ingredient. The service is faultless which makes the overall dining experience very special. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Would highly recommend all three dining experiences- No 6, Rojano’s and the The Mariners.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Wigorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 3,102 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2021

this was our first time at No.6 and we were not disappointed, from the initial greeting to the intruduction of our waitress the service was superb.
our first suprise was the 'oyster' the flavours were just wondeful, we just loved that, what followed was the scallop dish which was equally superb. the todays scone with the cutting of the butter, theatrical but very fitting and just added to the experience, the following courses of 'bird liver and cod, wow an exposion of flavours
the meal continued with sheer delight, then followed the wonderful treat of the 'fairgound'
what a wonderful way to spend our anniversary, the little additions just added to the whole experience
the meal as a whole was exceptional, the service and the way each course was explained and the detail involved in each dish we can not fault
this was our first visit , it will not be our last

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank daydreams_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2021 via mobile

We’ve often thought of visiting this restaurant as it gets consistently good reviews so had high expectations when I booked it for my boyfriend’s 40th birthday. It wasn’t that the food or service was amazing ( some dishes were exceptional) it was the fact we left with a feeling of happiness; it was the whole experience. It was the overwhelming feeling that they were trying to make us feel at home and comfortable. We loved the description of the food so we knew what we were eating and where it was from, this was made a little bit more special by the fact the waiter spooned sauces over dishes for us or parts of the courses came in a relayed system. Was it delivered in correct time? Who knows but it felt perfect timing! Can I just touch in the scone, wow, perfect, accompanying butter extra special, I understand why the heating of the knife was required to cut this special treat! Overall the food was devine, all of it seasoned to perfection, each sauce a delightful accompaniment, the main course of John Dory was perfectly sized and equally as impressive to eat. The extensive wine list was made easily to desire by the excellent sommelier. Oh and please turn the music up….,,.. 18 months into a pandemic, it’s just what we need! We really wanted to enjoy this restaurant and happily we left extremely content! This is definitely an experience we will repeat. :)

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Travel66847494339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2021 via mobile

We’ve often thought of visiting this restaurant as it constantly get good reviews so had high expectations (#shortsandscarves ). When my girlfriend booked this for my 40th birthday and we looked forward to it for months and I’m so happy to say it delivered in every way imaginable!! The sommelier was very kind in coming over to talk through the wine list to find a wine that suited my partners taste and it was lovely and very reasonable given the surroundings. The menu left intrigue as to what you were about to get. The treats inbetween and during meals really made the journey as you never knew what was coming next and the surprises were incredible! We had A Fairground Tale of GBM fame to finish and it was sooooo good that even though we didn’t think we could eat any more, we continued to polish off every morsel! My new favourite restaurant and meal of all time! If you can get booked in then you have to do it!! Also, I was greater with a birthday card from Paul, Emma and the family which was a lovely touch.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2021

We’ve often thought of visiting this restaurant as it consistently gets good reviews so had high expectations when we finally found the time to go when on a trip to Cornwall. It wasn’t that the food or service was poor (although some dishes were at best average) that left us with a feeling of disappointment; it was more the overall concept. There was an overwhelming feeling that they were just trying trying too hard to impress. We appreciate a short description of the food when laid before us but these were overly long and detailed so much so that by the time 3 different dishes had been explained to our party of 6 the food was at best tepid. After a while we just wished we could get on and eat. It was also irritating that parts of the dish were spooned on by the waiter or brought half way through eating a course. For example a simple dish of beetroot, potato and caviar was presented sans caviar with the waiter giving a long explanation about the caviar and then placing a morsel on top of the dish. A main course of pigeon was advertised with a ‘pain au chocolat’. This arrived just as the last mouthful of pigeon was being consumed. Was it supposed to be enjoyed as part of the dish? Who knows. Little extras are always appreciated. It was however bizarre to be presented with a cheese scone between the 1st and 2nd course, even more so the theatrical cutting of the accompanying butter - is heating the knife over a flame really necessary? The scone was perfectly nice but in the middle of a meal? A bit of good bread makes far more sense - at least you can mop up your sauce with bread! Overall the food itself was OK although some was under seasoned and the carrot ketchup with the bird’s liver was so vinegary it completely overwhelmed everything else on the plate. The main course of turbot was a meagre sliver. The puddings looked impressive but were underwhelming to eat. A long but expensive list of mainly unknown wines made choosing difficult. Oh - please turn down the music! We like to enjoy conversation when eating; this wasn’t aided by the constant beat of pop music. We really wanted to enjoy this restaurant but unfortunately we left rather disappointed. It was certainly an experience but not one we would wish to repeat.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank susanhC1415BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Paul Ainsworth at No. 6 also viewed

 

Been to Paul Ainsworth at No. 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.