We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant little gem!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard view

Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Fully equipped kitchen
Starter pack of provisions
Wet room / shower room with heated floor
Front of Orchard View
In front of Orchard View
Pool
View from the top of the 15 acre farm
Front garden where cream teas are served
Award winning cream teas served daily in tea room or gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
samtaylor...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant little gem!”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago and we were took back at beautiful the whole set up was, from the room to the views and lovely drives surrounding the area.
We had a little basket with bread and butter etc on arrival which we thought was a lovely gesture.
Would also highly recommend the cream teas from the little tea room, one of the nicest I've had!
I would 100% recommend staying here and would really love to come back one day.
Thank you to all the lovely staff.
Sam & Krysia

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed the cottage and surroundings and our cream teas which we pride ourselves on with making home made scones, homemade jam every day (not christmas day)!!! yummy!!
We really hope to see you both again to enjoy the farm cottage and goodies!!
very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justmiria...
1 review
“A delightful, cosy cottage in peaceful, private surroundings in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Orchard View. Our hosts were charming; cosy, cottage with all mod cons (underfloor bathroom heating, mmmmm!!!); a pretty, private outdoor space. Perfect for a couple and for exploring East Devon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Hello and thank you for a lovely review - so glad you particulaly liked the underfloor heating - yes its lovely!!!
Sincerely hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Can’t praise Orchard View highly enough.

The property is attractively situated, generously spacious, well laid out, and comprises of all the requisite amenities to satisfy even the loftiest of expectations.

The charm of the property is additionally enhanced by the lovely proprietors David and Julia, who made us feel very welcome.

Would highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly welcome and charming location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
A huge delay in thanking you for a lovely review. We are always so pleased to hear our customers enjoy Orchard View - both in the summer and winter alike.
We aim to please.. and really hope to see you both again.
Kind regards
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Alcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“fantastic place for plenty of rest and relaxation.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Wonderful owners -have really thought about cottage to ensure that everything you would need is there.
The welcome basket that was left for us upon arrival was a really pleasant surprise.
Would definately recommend this to friends and family without hesitation and look forward to returning ourselves at a later date and stay for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Rest and relaxation is definately a priority-and thrilled you enjoyed the cottage and welcome pack.

We really hope to see you again
David and Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton410
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were very relaxed and happy at Orchard View. The hosts were welcoming the unit was spotlessly clean, neat and well furnished, Julia and David seem to have thought of everything a traveller might want and we felt completely at home as soon as we got there and intend to go again and stay longer. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in orchard view - and your kind words.
Many thanks and hope to see you again one day.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband & I had a lovely mini break staying at Orchard View. Julia & David were very welcoming and the basket of goodies was a lovely surprise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
thank you for your kind review - the goodies are just a little surprise welcome pack. - to add to your holiday enjoyment.

we sincerely hope to see you again.
kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upon_Refl...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a two night weekend break at Orchard View. We regularly go for weekends away and therefore have some expectations of our dwellings. This place was incredible!

We were greeted by the lovely Julia, who was warm and inviting, and quickly guided to the cottage. The property itself is beautiful. Amazing stone wall throughout and decorated to a high standard. The cottage was cosy and we loved the electric fire, which provided the ambiance of an open fire, without the mess and smoke. Everything within the property was comfortable. The cottage comes with its own garden (including a swimming pool), which is well maintained and beautiful to observe at dawn and dusk. It is completely at peace at Orchard View, with no sounds from roads or anything else for that matter. We were left to our own explorations, which is exactly what we wanted from this experience.

It is local to beautiful scenery and fantastic pebbled beaches. Although Orchard View is isolated, it is still only a 10 minute drive to the local town, which is bursting with traditional bistros and pubs. The cottage itself is located on a working farm, and therefore has its own shop with all one would require, along with a tea room, which unfortunately, my partner and I were unable to make time to use due to enjoying the cottage too much. Even though the adjacent property is home to a farm shop and café, we did not encounter any other people, and there was not the hustle and bustle associated with such businesses. The atmosphere at Orchard View is completely relaxed, and this lead to my partner and I having an incredibly relaxing, recharging break, which is exactly what we needed.

I would recommend Orchard View to anyone who just wants to get away from life as a whole for a short time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and overall beauty of the cottage.
Liked least: There was no hair dryer in the property, which lead to me having to send my partner into town to buy one from a local store.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2014
Oh that is such a wonderful review. Many thanks for taking the time to write all the good points.
So glad you enjoyed our cottage - and that you found it all comfortable and peaceful. That is what we aim to please !
Hope to see you again one day.
Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing