We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard view

Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Fully equipped kitchen
Starter pack of provisions
Wet room / shower room with heated floor
Front of Orchard View
In front of Orchard View
Pool
View from the top of the 15 acre farm
Front garden where cream teas are served
Award winning cream teas served daily in tea room or gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JohnfromE...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I cannot rate this place highly enough. I found Orchard View on the web. After reviewing this and others, decided to take the plunge and book online for the weekend. We were not dissapointed one bit.

The accommodation is first class and well presented. A nice touch was the welcome pack of bread, milk, eggs and tea which we meant to pick up enroute, but somehow did not, so that was a very nice surprise indeed.

The setting is nice and quite and overlooks the orchard and garden. The room was light and airey and the furniture was extremely comfortable. A well appointed kitchen meant that because we chose to cook and frequent 'local hostelries', was not a chore.

Being able to sit on the patio with a glass of wine or two and chill out watching the local wildlife or having a dip in the pool was the perfect tonic for two people taking their first break this year, due to busy work lives. For us, this was, 'Just Perfect.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
What a lovely review . Thank you so much . I am so pleased you enjoy your stay with us relaxing in the garden and enjoying the cottage, pool and not,to,mention the welcome pack which I am glad you found useful. Excellent.
So hope to see you both again soon.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OH What a Beauty”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sometimes when arriving at a place the first impression is that it will be very good and suit you.
In this instance the first impression was exceeded during our five day stay.
The unit was immaculate and had everything needed. Welcome pack was of super quality. The availability of the washing machine and private clothes line was extremely handy.
Quiet location with easy access to many 'tourist' areas and local villages.
Crystal blue water in the private swimming pool (solar heated).
Set in fifteen acres of orchard, berry and other crops. Free to wander around those well maintained areas.
Attached is a Farm Shop and "English" Tea room that also serves light lunches. Enjoyed lunch there.
Owners friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
You travelled a long way to visit us and i am so so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The washing machine is great for visitors on the move!! We enjoyed having you and thank you for leaving the cottage as clean and tidy as you found it thank you. Glad you enjoyed the welcome pack.. just a small touch to welcome.
Hope to see you again one day if you re-visit England. Kind regards Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Wakefield
1 review
“great holiday”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely week in orchard view cottage. perfect idyllic setting yet only a five minute drive from all you could need in Honiton. Enjoyed relaxing watching the wildlife and using the pool when the sun shone. Julia and David were very welcoming and the basket of produce from the farm shop was a nice touch. The good size TV was also useful when the sun didn`t shine! would love to return and explore east Devon again .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for your super review .glad you had a couple hot days to use the pool.. But this summers weather is disappointing !!!
Glad you liked your welcome pack.. It's a survival pack if you arrive exhausted !
Really hope to see you again one day
Kind regards David and Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cp62015
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning !”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I spent a week staying at lovely 'Orchard View' set in idyllic grounds with the luxury of a lovely pool. We enjoyed seeing new born piglets, and sampling fresh eggs from the hens. With a lovely tea garden, farm shop, and being less than half an hour's drive to the coast, we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Our hosts David and Julia made us feel very welcome and we would definitely recommend 'Orchard View' to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in a beautiful part of the country. Homemade flapjack sold at the farm shop......delicious ! Will be back for more !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
What a lovely review -thank you so much. We are both so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Orchard View. Perfect timing with new born piglets -now growing rapidly.
we very much hope to see you both again one day.
Kind regards
Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayhaan2k...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem away from it all”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just returned from a lovely mini getaway at Orchard View. We had an amazing time and the weather was gorgeous! Owners David and Julia are very welcoming and helpful.

The garden is spacious and very well maintained, it also has a barbeque and a pool (which unfortunately was out of order during our stay). The studio living space is very cosy and well equipped including a 50" TV and Blu ray player.

There is also a farm shop café, selling locally grown produce and award winning cream tea (which was so good we had it twice!).
The cottage is only a short drive away from beautiful beaches and other attractions. If you prefer not to venture out you can sit and relax in the garden listening to the birds singing and the chickens clucking, its very relaxing. We will definitely be back and hopefully we can enjoy the pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely review - and so glad you enjoyed not only the cottage but the acre garden with barbeque and watching the lovely birds/
so sorry the pool was out of action - its now had new liner and is looking fabulous-yes please do come again in the summer months.-and enjoy a swim.
thank you once again. david and julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysy87
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday and Cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday in Devon. Orcahard View cottage is comfortable and cosy with a well equipped kitchen. The cottage is situated within a lovely farm with plenty of friendly pigs and chickens. We especially loved watching the birds visit the birdfeeder (lots of Blue tits, Great tits and even woodpeckers) and the regular visits from the Pheasants. The farm shop is well stocked with fruit, veg, local eggs, bread and milk. We enjoyed one of the home made fishermans pie for dinner one night, and the delicious fruit cake!
The tea room is a delight to visit. Really cosy and welcoming. I felt like I was sitting in my Nan's living room! The cream tea with homemade scones and jam is a must. We also enjoyed a ploughmans lunch in the very pretty garden.
Julia and the Staff were always very helpful, smiley and happy to chat. David was very friendly but always had plenty of work to do on the farm!
The Royal Oak Farm is situated in a very peaceful area only 10-15 min drive from the town of Honiton, where you can find pubs, Iceland, Co-Op, Boots and a few restaurants. There is also a lovely nature area called the Glen which is well worth a stroll through.
The cottage is within very easy distance of Sidmouth and Beer, great for coastal and cliff walks. However, Lyme Regis was by far our favourite place. 30 minute drive with a lovely beach (busy but a short walk along from the sandy areas will take you to lots of rockpools to explore and lots of fossils to find) The town is full of lovely little shops. I recommend The Mermaid Shop and The Teddy Bear Hospital. The best place to park is in Holmbush Car park as the cost is £2 for 24 hours! Beware the steep walk down to the sea front however.
I would highly recommend this Cottage for couples of all ages. We hope to return in the future during summer to try out the private pool!
Other notes:
Satnav leads you direct to the door

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tea room and farm shop
Liked least: Coming home :(s
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
wow what an amazing review. thank you so much. just thrilled you enjoyed your holiday so much and loved the cottage and farm and also visiting the beautiful unspoilt beaches and coastal resorts around.
very glad you hope to come again in the summer and welcome you again.
again many thanks for your kind review. David and Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian L
Medway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a great holiday cottage, a perfect place to get away from it all. The accommodation is clean and well looked after and is equipped for all you need.
The owners left a welcome package which included bread, butter, eggs homemade marmalade, teabags and milk, which came in very handy.
There is a large garden for the use of guests which enjoys complete privacy and if the weather is good enough there is a swimming pool.
If you have time I would recommend treating yourself to a cream tea this is served with homemade jam and is delicious.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Also glad you enjoyed your goodie pack.
Hope to see you again sometime maybe in the summer months to enjoy the garden and pool.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing