We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and relaxing! ☺️”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard view

Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Fully equipped kitchen
Starter pack of provisions
Wet room / shower room with heated floor
Front of Orchard View
In front of Orchard View
Pool
View from the top of the 15 acre farm
Front garden where cream teas are served
Award winning cream teas served daily in tea room or gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hazel L
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and relaxing! ☺️”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Another lovely break at this beautifully relaxing cottage. Thank you for those lovely goodies in a basket, nice thoughtful touch. Hope to see you again......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful area
Liked least: The weather just joking, Wifi intermittent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.,It is always nice to hear from folk on their return visits and so pleased you enjoy staying in orchard view and find it relaxing and peaceful...
Hope to see you once again sometime
Kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Devon”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me and my wife were looking for something which reflected what we thought Devon would be about: Rolling hills, beautiful scenery and lots of fresh air.

Orchard View was beautifully presented and fitted the bill perfectly. Being part of a farm (with a farm shop selling quite possibly the tastiest bacon ever!), we got a real sense of the famed Devon farm life, whilst also being close enough to the main routes for some West Country exploration.

The swimming pool was heated with solar thermal panels, and although we didn't get the chance to use it, it was testament to the high environmental standards the farm keeps. David and Julia were great hosts and in our opinion deserve only the highest reviews on here.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Such a lovely review again. Many thanks. So glad you enjoyed the cottage and its farm surroundings not to mention our own home reared bacon..
We sincerely hope to see you again and thank you again for a wonderful review.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammar A
1 review
“Little heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It was splendid since the moment me and my partner stepped in this place. One can praise with words but this place is beyond to be praised by words only. The only sad bit about this place is you have to leave. we were not in a tiny mood to leave it that's how great the place is and most especially Julia and David, awesome host.

Thank you, Maria and Ammar

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Oh such a lovely review.,thank you so much.
So,so,pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. Really hope to see you both again.
I am just so,pleased you were so happy in orchard view
Very kind regards
Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susancroo...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have returned home feeling very relaxed after staying at this property,if you like peace and quiet, lovely views, comfortable accommodation, and above all which I find important is very pleasant and helpful owners, Julia made us feel very welcome. Thank-you Julia we shall be returning to your love cosy cottage next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2015
We are so so glad you are now well rested after your stay with us.
and that you enjoyed the peace and quiet views and accommodation.
we certainly hope to see you again next year or even a short break this winter!!. Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnfromE...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I cannot rate this place highly enough. I found Orchard View on the web. After reviewing this and others, decided to take the plunge and book online for the weekend. We were not dissapointed one bit.

The accommodation is first class and well presented. A nice touch was the welcome pack of bread, milk, eggs and tea which we meant to pick up enroute, but somehow did not, so that was a very nice surprise indeed.

The setting is nice and quite and overlooks the orchard and garden. The room was light and airey and the furniture was extremely comfortable. A well appointed kitchen meant that because we chose to cook and frequent 'local hostelries', was not a chore.

Being able to sit on the patio with a glass of wine or two and chill out watching the local wildlife or having a dip in the pool was the perfect tonic for two people taking their first break this year, due to busy work lives. For us, this was, 'Just Perfect.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
What a lovely review . Thank you so much . I am so pleased you enjoy your stay with us relaxing in the garden and enjoying the cottage, pool and not,to,mention the welcome pack which I am glad you found useful. Excellent.
So hope to see you both again soon.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“OH What a Beauty”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sometimes when arriving at a place the first impression is that it will be very good and suit you.
In this instance the first impression was exceeded during our five day stay.
The unit was immaculate and had everything needed. Welcome pack was of super quality. The availability of the washing machine and private clothes line was extremely handy.
Quiet location with easy access to many 'tourist' areas and local villages.
Crystal blue water in the private swimming pool (solar heated).
Set in fifteen acres of orchard, berry and other crops. Free to wander around those well maintained areas.
Attached is a Farm Shop and "English" Tea room that also serves light lunches. Enjoyed lunch there.
Owners friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
You travelled a long way to visit us and i am so so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The washing machine is great for visitors on the move!! We enjoyed having you and thank you for leaving the cottage as clean and tidy as you found it thank you. Glad you enjoyed the welcome pack.. just a small touch to welcome.
Hope to see you again one day if you re-visit England. Kind regards Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Wakefield
1 review
“great holiday”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely week in orchard view cottage. perfect idyllic setting yet only a five minute drive from all you could need in Honiton. Enjoyed relaxing watching the wildlife and using the pool when the sun shone. Julia and David were very welcoming and the basket of produce from the farm shop was a nice touch. The good size TV was also useful when the sun didn`t shine! would love to return and explore east Devon again .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you for your super review .glad you had a couple hot days to use the pool.. But this summers weather is disappointing !!!
Glad you liked your welcome pack.. It's a survival pack if you arrive exhausted !
Really hope to see you again one day
Kind regards David and Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing