We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful :)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard view

Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Fully equipped kitchen
Starter pack of provisions
Wet room / shower room with heated floor
Front of Orchard View
In front of Orchard View
Pool
View from the top of the 15 acre farm
Front garden where cream teas are served
Award winning cream teas served daily in tea room or gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nadineb28
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful :) ”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Such a beautiful little place, we loved our stay here, we were made very welcome and greeted by Julia who showed us to where we were staying, the cottage was amazing it had everything we needed in it, we were amazed at the basket that was left for us upon arrival. During our stay we visited the tearoom which was lovely the scones and the White hot chocolate were so yummy! We were very lucky to have two days worth of sunshine so we took advantage of the beautiful garden and had a couple of bbqs, we did tempt the swimming pool but it was a tad cold but that's expected this time of year! Would 100% recommend this place and I would love to return to see the piggies again one day :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you met the piggies ..such characters!!!!
Pleased you visited the tea room and enjoyed our award winning cream teas. Please come again in the summer and enjoy a warm pool!!
Kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMelv42
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A calm rural oasis”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

From the last few hundred metres of our approaching the farm in its valley we knew we had made a great choice in staying here for our April break... Julia made us welcome to the quietly located accommodation with its terrific wooded view and glimpses of the valley skyline beyond and explained the simple layout of the cozy rooms, which had all we would need for our week's stay!... the generous welcome basket got us started - however, the delightful farm shop, its local and homemade produce held many treats to delight the most discerning palate, with light lunches or cream teas also being available each day of our stay if required... with helpful advice as to local pubs and restaurants, plus our accrued insights during past holidays, we were spoilt for choice especially as several of our evening journeys took us across the beautiful valleys avoiding the main roads... we will most definitely return the next time we visit the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm feeling of the location of this comfortable holiday let
Liked least: Having to drive back to London!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review after staying in our cottage for the week. We are thrilled you enjoyed the views from the cottage and area not to mention the complimentary goodie basket on arrival.
We very much hope you will visit us again soon
Kind regards
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alouise50
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Orchard view was such an amazing and relaxing time for us both! Julia greeted us and showed us to where we were staying giving us a little tour.The complementary breakfast basket was well received, especially the butter (tasted amazing!). Although there was a shop and little tea room near us we still felt as though we were in our own little world which was very nice. We would recommend to anyone that wants to relax for a few days with no disturbances. There are some beautiful views around and loads of places to walk/cycle/visit. Will be staying there again someday and hopefully be able to use the pool, which was a little bit cold at this time of year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. The butter you mentioned is made locally and is as you say particularly "yummy"?Glad you enjoyed the breakfast pack...not to mention the peaceful cottage.
So hope to see you both again
Kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
363simpso...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply Magnificent!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well what can I say......from booking to arrival the communication was friendly and welcoming.
When we drew up we were immediately met by Julia. Julia showed us to the property which was warm and toasty waiting for us.
The welcome basket of bread, butter, marmalade, eggs and tea bags were not sampled until the next day but a lovely touch.
There was everything we needed during our 2 night stay and Julia made it very clear if we had any questions either David or Julia would be on hand in the shop or via telephone to assist.
We sampled the cream tea in their tea house on the farm - which was delicious and beautifully enjoyed in the warmth of the gardens. We met Julia who was able to offer suggestions for dining out that evening - must say that was as she described too!
We were blessed during our stay with gorgeous weather and I sat in the garden until 5pm enjoying the birds and shuffling of the pigs in the background. I can imagine in the summer the garden, with its pool and BBQ are heaven.
Must say my husband and I were very fond of the pigs, who whenever we went to the car came out to greet us. My husband even named them all - yes that's how daft we are! The charm of this place does this to you.
My only fear about sharing our experience on here is that the availability will be difficult - because you'll all fall in love with it too.
We were participating in a race that was starting in Seaton on the Sunday morning and the location was perfect for a relaxed start to this. Two nights relaxing here clearly worked a treat as my husband got 6th place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Wow what an amazing review.A huge thank you for all your kind comments.. And let me say 6th place in the run is fantastic.well done.
We sincerely hope to see you both again sometime and yes enjoy the pool in the summer months.
Very kind regards
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel L
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and relaxing! ☺️”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Another lovely break at this beautifully relaxing cottage. Thank you for those lovely goodies in a basket, nice thoughtful touch. Hope to see you again......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful area
Liked least: The weather just joking, Wifi intermittent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review.,It is always nice to hear from folk on their return visits and so pleased you enjoy staying in orchard view and find it relaxing and peaceful...
Hope to see you once again sometime
Kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best place to stay in Devon”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me and my wife were looking for something which reflected what we thought Devon would be about: Rolling hills, beautiful scenery and lots of fresh air.

Orchard View was beautifully presented and fitted the bill perfectly. Being part of a farm (with a farm shop selling quite possibly the tastiest bacon ever!), we got a real sense of the famed Devon farm life, whilst also being close enough to the main routes for some West Country exploration.

The swimming pool was heated with solar thermal panels, and although we didn't get the chance to use it, it was testament to the high environmental standards the farm keeps. David and Julia were great hosts and in our opinion deserve only the highest reviews on here.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Such a lovely review again. Many thanks. So glad you enjoyed the cottage and its farm surroundings not to mention our own home reared bacon..
We sincerely hope to see you again and thank you again for a wonderful review.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammar A
1 review
“Little heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It was splendid since the moment me and my partner stepped in this place. One can praise with words but this place is beyond to be praised by words only. The only sad bit about this place is you have to leave. we were not in a tiny mood to leave it that's how great the place is and most especially Julia and David, awesome host.

Thank you, Maria and Ammar

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Oh such a lovely review.,thank you so much.
So,so,pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. Really hope to see you both again.
I am just so,pleased you were so happy in orchard view
Very kind regards
Julia and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing