We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very cute”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard view

Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Garden, pool and barbecue as you step out of the door
Fully equipped kitchen
Starter pack of provisions
Wet room / shower room with heated floor
Front of Orchard View
In front of Orchard View
Pool
View from the top of the 15 acre farm
Front garden where cream teas are served
Award winning cream teas served daily in tea room or gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stockland, Honiton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lindymoor...
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very cute”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

this is a very cute cottage, ideal for two people. It was very clean , as was the bed linen and towels. There was a very nice welcoming gesture of fresh bread, eggs , butter and marmalade waiting for us.
We didn't use the swimming pool as we only spent evenings there, however had we stayed there in the summer, the BBQ, pool , outdoor seating and gardens were very pretty.
The only downside for us was the shower, it was very weak, we prefer a stronger more invigorating shower, this just trickled and wasn't that warm. It was situated in a wetroom, the whole floor area was very wet, and the toilet was situated after the shower location, therefore you needed your shoes on to go back in the bathroom if the floor hadn't dried. There was lovely warm underfloor heating in the bathroom.
We would certainly recommend it and stay there again if needed somewhere in that area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Firstly I must say I have noted re the shower and are looking into getting a more powerful one soon.
Good job there is underfloor heating to dry the floor quickly.
Hope to see you again. Glad you liked the welcome pack.
Very kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cotleigh.”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here. Weather wasn't as warm as hoped, but the welcome from our hosts was. The property is charming, and the grounds were lovely, with many beautiful places to visit nearby. Would heartily recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed yourselves..
And hope to see you again sometime... this time with better weather !!!!
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Awesome place, stunning garden and delightful hosts. I'd recommend the cottage to anyone who wants a country getaway. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your super review
So pleased you enjoyed staying in our cottage and really hope to see you both again soon
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandabar...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Me and my girlfriend stayed here due to the fact i was working away for the weekend, we had a fab time,the surrounding farm land and steep hills were breathtaking and was a big change from home, david and julia were great hosts and made us feel comfortable and welcome on there farm there is a solar pannel heated pool but sadly didnt get a chnace to use it due to the poor weather lucky we got to barbeque some of the delicous meat we brought from the farm shop located just next to the annex hopefully we will get the chance to come again later in summer, we honestly had such a good weekend woukd defo recommend to anyone looking for a quite country getaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
What a lovely review.. many thanks. We sincerely hope to,see you again this summer for you to enjoy some more yummy home produced burgers.
Very kind regards
David and Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: People looking into the garden from the tea room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you for,your lovely review.,so,glad you enjoyed your two week holiday with us.,we are so lucky with the surrounding area and lots to do,
Hope to see you both again one day.
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma B
1 review
“Total Bliss! 😊”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a week and it was wonderful, we had beautiful weather so made use of the lovely swimming pool. Fabulous cream teas served in the tea rooms, Lovely farm shop and pick your own fruit available. And we even got to see piglets being born A fantastic get away and highly recommended. Thank you Julia and David. Emma and Harry ☺️

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
What a perfect week you had the weather was beautiful and the pool was warm. Thank you for your lovely review and help with piglet births
We so hope to see you again sometime.
Kind regards Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdeanpa
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage, shame about the weather”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

This is a late review so I do apologies.
My family and I stayed here at the end of August 2015 and we couldn't have asked for anything more (apart from the sun) The cottage was beautiful, clean and exactly what you would have at home. The grounds were just spectacular, and the pool was an added bonus although we couldn't use the pool due to bad weather as it was very cold.
We stayed here for 5 days and the owners of the cottage were brilliant, very informative and just let you get on with your holiday.
It is a very private cottage and the farm shop was literally a stone throw away.

We went to Exeter City Centre one day, and travelled 20 mins to Lemis Beach twice, there is a town quite near with local pubs etc

I would def recommend to a couple with a baby in the summer months and we would come back here again for a stay hopefully in the next few years.
Thank you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Hello
Thank you for your "late review" . So,glad you enjoyed your stay. What a shame I can not magically sort the weather out ... That would make it all perfect.
Sincerely hope to see you again one day,and thank you once again.
Kind regards
Julia and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing