We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
38
17
5
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
17
5
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast pork dog friendly area sunday lunch warm welcome full english breakfast biscuits meal landlady dogs
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 68 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

After a bracing walk around the reservoir, we ventured into the Burrator Inn for a Sunday Lunch. The staff were very helpful with & directed us to the dog friendly area of the pub. They then brought the dogs a bowl of water & some biscuits!
Had 2 very nice lunches-one roast pork & one nut roast. Both very tasty with some nice vegetables & potatoes. We were both quite full so couldn’t manage dessert as well.
All in all a nice pub that I would be happy to recommend & visit again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank westcountrybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

An odd experience.

Stopped in on a Sunday lunchtime. Not particularly busy.

My wife was in the process of asking if there was a table available when she was abruptly asked not to stand adjacent to the service hatch, quite rudely. We later identified this individual as the bar manager.

We were seated, ordered drinks at the bar and were told that someone would take our order. We waited 40 minutes, making frequent eye contact with the 3-4 waiting staff and said bar manager only to be completely ignored. No one approached us, despite it being patently obvious that were waiting to place our orders.

In the end we sat there out of interest to see how long it would continue. Possibly all day??

Probably the worst experience in a restaurant I can remember.

We walked out almost amused by the bizarre attitude of the staff vowing never to return.

A very surreal experience

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank danpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Very warm welcome from the staff and the food is superb. Live music and great beer. Well worth stopping by. Large play area for the children and a tv for those that like the football.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Sunday - day to head out and enjoy a roast dinner ?.... not today. Used to go to this pub as a youngster and remember it being lovely, friendly and decent food.(few years ago mind). Today, the food was the worst roast dinner i've ever had. The meat was dreadful, and the vegetables boiled so so much. Just tasteless, bland and rubbish. Staff were polite enough but nothing special. Wandered why it wasn't too busy when we arrived. Answered my own question. Won't be going here again any time soon.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sammlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

Where do I start? For starters the manager was extremely rude,The place stank and the food was rancid!

I would be reluctant to give my dog the food that you served us! Pffft

Although the Pepsi tasted quite nice.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank TomPope98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews