We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate accomadation, great location, terrific...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Living room
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lloyd H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Immaculate accomadation, great location, terrific owners”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The Lodge was exactly as the gallery photos showed, and immaculate. Plenty of places to visit close by with. Dartmoor on your doorstep, so if you don't want to use the car and enjoy walking, no problem. The owners made us feel very welcome and although not intrusive, are available to advise on places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldman...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Faultless accommodation”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely newly renovated cottage, spacious, light, airy, very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Lovely comfortable beds. We were met by both Andrew and Carol on arrival who were very helpful from day one informing us what was going on in the village and where to visit.
We would highly recommend this property as we were delighted with it, we could honestly say its the best cottage we have stayed in.
Stayed five nights in June 2014
Barry & Elaine

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl0rence1...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faultless accommodation perfect location for us”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely newly renovated cottage, spacious, light, airy, very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Even though rain was never far away, we did manage to take our afternoon tea outside in the sunshine on 2 out of our 3 days ! The location was perfect for us for cycling and walking on the Dartmoor Way and Drakes Trail. The kitchen was well equipped if we did chose to eat 'at home' but the traditional pub was only a very short walk away and beckoned us each evening. The owners were very welcoming and helpful, we hope to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoyPete
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must return”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The Lodge - A beautiful conversion. So very comfortable and wonderfully clean! A very quiet location. Also very convenient for both Devon and Cornwall. We were met by the owner who left us with a welcome pack of tea/coffee with milk, sugar and biscuits - greatly appreciated after a 3 hour journey and a lovely touch! In fact, Andrew was extremely helpful throughout our stay - providing us with useful information and wonderful recommendations. We will definitely go back whenever we next visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the cottage & helpfulness of the owner
Liked least: The access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villatone
weston super mare
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway - Home from Home”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed for a long weekend. Cannot praise this charming & beautiful little cottage enough. Hosts Andrew & Carol were more than welcoming. The cottage itself is cosy, comfortable & equipped with everything you can think of. The quaint village with its pub, church & footpaths to the moors is idyllic. The perfect location for a relaxing getaway & exploring Dartmoor. The Dog enjoyed her stay too. Thank you Andrew & Carol cannot wait to return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent rental - I wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I'm repeating what previous renters have said. The cottage is beautifully appointed in - to our eyes - really good taste. Andrew and Carol were most agreeable and helpful. And we rather took to Quito the black Labrador!
This rental can be recommended without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The geniality of our hosts. Nothing too much trouble.
Liked least: Pub over the road very crowded and noisy (Friday evening in March!).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCBTruro
Cornwall, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

If you are looking for a stunning property in a beautiful and tranquil village location, this is it! The Lodge is tastefully decorated to a very high standard and is very comfortable with everything that you need. The owners are very accommodating and the entire stay has been a real joy. This is a jewel and I would highly recommend it. It is simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feel; very comfortable and relaxing stay.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing