We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional holiday accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BarbaraNo...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Exceptional holiday accommodation”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our hosts, Andrew and Carol, were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We found the cottage to be a real delight and suited us to a 'T'. Our hosts had provided some items to assist our stay - milk, coffee and tea- and the whole ambience of our stay in the cottage was off to a fine start. Everything was in pristine condition.
With the weather very pleasant we spent a lovely time one evening chatting over glasses of wine and salmon sandwiches. Thanks so much for your remarkable hospitality. Our week went by so quickly because we visited relatives and friends. We had good access to Plymouth and, as well had reasons to travel into the lovely city of Tavistock to enjoy lunch and walking around the markets.
If you wish to walk around the moors this is an ideal place to stay. The local pub- Drake Manor Inn- was very close and served delicious food. We certainly hope to return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: WiFi not always at full strength
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A T
Canada
1 review
“A home away from home in a beautiful part of England”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Nestled on the edge of Dartmoor, about 20 km outside the city of Plymouth, Buckland Monachorum is everything you would imagine in an English village. The Lodge at Bedford Cottage is indeed a home away from home in what is truly "England's green and pleasant land". We found, to our delight, that we were a few steps away from the key village amenities: the church and the pub… A few more steps along a public footpath took us through farmland to the moor itself.

Our hosts Andrew and Carol ensured that the cottage had all the comforts we needed to make our stay memorable. We were especially impressed with the attention to detail throughout and the comprehensive information provided to fully explore the area. Thank you!

We hope to return soon. In the meantime, we highly recommend the lodge to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully self-contained; you could easily make yourself at home
Liked least: Too short a stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness F
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully comfortable and welcoming cottage… Perfect!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in The Lodge at Bedford Cottage for a week in August. We had a lovely welcoming arrival including wine and chocolate biscuits - who could ask for more!
We were greeted by the owner Andrew who was most accommodating and showed us what the cottage had to offer and what was available nearby both in attractions, eating out and food shopping.
Once we settled in, we found that everything within the lodge was of the highest quality, the beds were superbly comfortable and the lodge beautifully quiet and serene in its location.
It was the perfect base for us as we explored Cornwall and Devon.
We ate at the local pub, The Drake Manor, most evenings and enjoyed the company of the locals who were most friendly.
We had a couple days inclement weather but were perfectly comfortable within the lodge during this time and had plenty of space and comfort to relax in.
We are looking forward to returning and I cannot recommend this Lodge highly enough as the perfect location for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of the location and comfiness of the beds!
Liked least: No downside!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7482TomO
Haaksbergen, The Netherlands
1 review
“lovely cottage in a very nice neighbourhood”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The (rather new) cottage is lovely, complete and very clean.
The owners, Andrew and Carol Phillips, are very nice and concerned people, they can give you very good suggestions where to go!
The cottage lies near Dartmoor National Park, a wonderful place to have a walk between horses, cows and sheep which wander freely in this area....it really was a fantastic stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely cottage and lovely neighbourhood
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tegenslee...
Par, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very comfortable cottage, great owners, would recommend staying here! It was a lovely few days. Ideal little cottage for a couple

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiddich B
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - A wonderful base from which to explore Dartmoor and Devon”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a really good time in this well appointed property, which is attractively decorated and superbly located. In fact I would say that having stayed at numerous holiday homes over the years that The Lodge is one of best, both from the quality of the accommodation and the location. It's in the middle of the village of Buckland Monachorum surrounded by fantastic walks, beautiful countryside and village life.

The property has everything you need for a holiday home including wifi, very comfortable beds, and a good spacious shower.

Andrew and Carol were very friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive.

The local pub, The Drake Manor Inn, was close by and provided good value food and excellent ale.

I would really recommend The Lodge; it’s very accessible, being on the edge of Dartmoor, close to Plymouth and the coast, and is a very good base from which to explore a lovely part of Devon and Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie T
1 review
“The Lodge at Bedford Cottage”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A very comfortable and pleasant cottage in a nice village. Well equipped and more than spacious for the two of us. Andrew and Carol Philips, the owners were very welcoming and friendly. The pub in the village served good food although not open all day which was a shame as we did look forward to a beer or two after all the walking!

Plenty of good walking on the Moors and great coast about 40 minute drive from the cottage.

We definitely recommend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing