We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
250
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master bedroom on arrival self catering wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble sense of humour an evening meal scones smallest room well stocked bar small hotel rear garden upper suite other guests quiet location ensuite bathroom the barn
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 271 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

Great location. Super room. Great hospitality from Mike and Amanda who made our stay very informal and relaxing and good banter. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place a review - it is much appriciated. You are most kind with your comments and hope you will return. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

Our first time here and we will be back if Amanda and Michael will have us. Lovely rooms, super comfy beds, peace, quiet and quite possibly the best breakfast ever. If you like sterile chain hotels then this isn't for you. However if you like a place which is imbued with the character of the people who own and obviously love doing what they do then this is perfect. Although we were advised of several good places to eat nearby, we chose to eat here. Amanda's cooking is yummy and Michael has his own unique style in serving drinks. Lots of fun and laughs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Have you back?? Of course! We like a bit of colour .... adds to our own subtle shades!!!! I am so pleased you mention that if people like a sterile environment we are not for them....!!! ....nor if they can't cope with "cosy clutter"!!! We are not minimalist...! Come back anytime!! Best Wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you are feel welcome and all you worries disappear. Michael and Amanda are wonderful friendly hosts, a great asset.
The room we had was comfy, warm and welcoming.
We had arranged evening meal and we were not disappointed, delicious food and all made to feel so welcome. Lovely little bar and such friendly service and not overpriced.
After a comfy night sleep we were yet again welcomed to a hearty breakfast of choice. Even the added touch of home cooked muffins to take out with us for the day.
I cannot speak highly enough. If you want a break to relax and unwind this is the place for you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tinaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

You say such wonderful things and hearing that your worries disappear - that is great! That counts for an awful lot in this day and age where everything and every one seems to want a little bit of you!!! We do hope that most people who come and stay feel that they leave as friends....99.99% of peopel who come and stay will always be welcome...you are one of those, of course!!! Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2017

Amanda and Michael are extremely welcoming and sociable hosts. Cream tea on arrival, next morning an excellent breakfast that lasted us all day! Also very helpful with advice on the locality, including booking us a table at a local pub. House and room beautifully kept and comfortable. Excellent location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnMLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Yes, we are truly lucky to live in such a lovely location with a major city, Plymouth, 9 miles away, a beautiful stannery town of Tavistock 5 miles away and those beautiful and enchanting moors on our doorstep! Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

3 of us stayed while doing Devon coast to coast, we had set out late on the Friday night from Plymouth, arrived late but there was no problem. Mike and Amanda were amazingly hospital and were happy to get us a drink from the bar. Able to keep our bikes secure, safe and dry overnight.
Lovely sitting area to relax and talk to other guests. The rooms were comfortable, shower was perfect.
Breakfast the next morning was amazing, set us up nicely for a day. They were more than happy to cater for a coeliac guest. All served with good humour and a lovely atmosphere
Just a shame we were only there for such a short period of time. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

We take our hat off to you cyclists! There are so many ups and down in the Devon country side!! Next time come for longer and hopefully the weather may be a little kinder too! That is Devon for you! Thank ou for your kind words.Best Wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews