We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harrabeer Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

My Wife Eilish and I stayed at the Harrabeer for 10 days for our Honeymoon.

The hosts Michael and Amanda are absolutely lovely people and extremely welcoming, It was a pleasure to meet them both and spend time with them.

Though the location is remote and in the sticks all attractions and areas of interest are easily accessible by car. We were able to go to many beaches, historic sites, trails, shops, bars and beautiful nature sites throughout cornwall and devon.

Summary:

Food - Excellent
Quality of rooms - Excellent
Hospitality - Excellent
Overall experience - Excellent

Would highly recommend to others as our experience was nothing less than perfect.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WilliamMurphy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us and to see Eilish, you wife!!, all grown up. You are both most welcome at any time and, hopefully, at some time we may see your parents if they come to UK. It was fun to remember the times the family and Dad came to stay - 2nd generation of guests now! Yeh!! Lots of Love to both and a very happy future together.ax

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Great location. Super room. Great hospitality from Mike and Amanda who made our stay very informal and relaxing and good banter. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place a review - it is much appriciated. You are most kind with your comments and hope you will return. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Our first time here and we will be back if Amanda and Michael will have us. Lovely rooms, super comfy beds, peace, quiet and quite possibly the best breakfast ever. If you like sterile chain hotels then this isn't for you. However if you like a place which is imbued with the character of the people who own and obviously love doing what they do then this is perfect. Although we were advised of several good places to eat nearby, we chose to eat here. Amanda's cooking is yummy and Michael has his own unique style in serving drinks. Lots of fun and laughs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Have you back?? Of course! We like a bit of colour .... adds to our own subtle shades!!!! I am so pleased you mention that if people like a sterile environment we are not for them....!!! ....nor if they can't cope with "cosy clutter"!!! We are not minimalist...! Come back anytime!! Best Wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you are feel welcome and all you worries disappear. Michael and Amanda are wonderful friendly hosts, a great asset.
The room we had was comfy, warm and welcoming.
We had arranged evening meal and we were not disappointed, delicious food and all made to feel so welcome. Lovely little bar and such friendly service and not overpriced.
After a comfy night sleep we were yet again welcomed to a hearty breakfast of choice. Even the added touch of home cooked muffins to take out with us for the day.
I cannot speak highly enough. If you want a break to relax and unwind this is the place for you.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tinaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

You say such wonderful things and hearing that your worries disappear - that is great! That counts for an awful lot in this day and age where everything and every one seems to want a little bit of you!!! We do hope that most people who come and stay feel that they leave as friends....99.99% of peopel who come and stay will always be welcome...you are one of those, of course!!! Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Amanda and Michael are extremely welcoming and sociable hosts. Cream tea on arrival, next morning an excellent breakfast that lasted us all day! Also very helpful with advice on the locality, including booking us a table at a local pub. House and room beautifully kept and comfortable. Excellent location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnMLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Yes, we are truly lucky to live in such a lovely location with a major city, Plymouth, 9 miles away, a beautiful stannery town of Tavistock 5 miles away and those beautiful and enchanting moors on our doorstep! Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you again. Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

3 of us stayed while doing Devon coast to coast, we had set out late on the Friday night from Plymouth, arrived late but there was no problem. Mike and Amanda were amazingly hospital and were happy to get us a drink from the bar. Able to keep our bikes secure, safe and dry overnight.
Lovely sitting area to relax and talk to other guests. The rooms were comfortable, shower was perfect.
Breakfast the next morning was amazing, set us up nicely for a day. They were more than happy to cater for a coeliac guest. All served with good humour and a lovely atmosphere
Just a shame we were only there for such a short period of time. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

We take our hat off to you cyclists! There are so many ups and down in the Devon country side!! Next time come for longer and hopefully the weather may be a little kinder too! That is Devon for you! Thank ou for your kind words.Best Wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Where to start? I don't think we have ever stayed anywhere where we have felt so at home so quickly! The owners Mike and Amanda are genuinely friendly people who have a brilliant sense of humour! We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute!
Our room was very comfortable with a really big bathroom. We ate at the hotel every night and the food was outstanding and included gammon with sweet potato and pears and satay chicken! We both agreed that you would not be able to beat Amanda's food so why go anywhere else!! I think because of the friendly atmosphere all of the guests were friendly too! It felt like being in an episode of "The Waltons" at times! We are definitely booking again! Thank you Mike and Amanda xxx

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

You say the kindest things!!! So pleased your enjoyed your stay....now, The Waltons is a new one on me....usually it is Fawlty Towers!!!! Which ever, we hope you will return to enjoy the next episode!! Our very Best Wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yelverton hotels
0.4 km away
The Rosemont
The Rosemont
#3 of 9 in Yelverton
219 reviews
0.4 km away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 9 in Yelverton
322 reviews
2.9 km away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Burrator Inn
Burrator Inn
#6 of 9 in Yelverton
57 reviews
14.3 km away
No photo provided
The Forest Inn Dartmoor
#9 of 9 in Yelverton
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrabeer Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrabeer Country House

Address: Harrowbeer Lane, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range: $129 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrabeer Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is small, quiet and family owned offering many attributes of a small HOTEL, with the informality of a BED and BREAKFAST, graded as 4 gold star GUEST ACCOMMODATION and a previous finalist for AA Landlady of the Year. There are 6 comfortable bedrooms: all with ensuite/private bathroom facilities. There are adjoining rooms with a privacy door for families and all rooms are suitable for single occupancy at a reduced room rate. Partake of locally sourced food and wine in the attractive restaurant and enjoy the relaxed surroundings in a gracious sitting room. A wood burning stove burns on cooler evenings in our newly refurbished bar which have uncovered many of the original features that had been lost for decades: or sit in the small but secluded garden when warmer. There are 2 beautiful SELF-CATERING suites in a sympathetically converted barn. Our “self-caterers” are welcome in-house to enjoy the bar, breakfast and evening meals if they wish. HARRABEER COUNTRY HOUSE is conveniently located for an extensive range of outdoor activities on and around Dartmoor with a host of interesting places to visit yet only 5 miles from the award winning market town of Tavistock and 9miles from the city of Plymouth for high street shopping, nightlife and theatre. Major credit cards accepted. We think we have it all ... and with a smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrabeer Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing