We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
248
19
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
19
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master bedroom on arrival self catering wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble sense of humour an evening meal scones smallest room well stocked bar small hotel other guests rear garden upper suite quiet location ensuite bathroom the barn
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 269 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Harrabeer for one night and it was a wonderful, albeit short, visit! We're traveling through the U.K. for a month on a motorbike and after being rained on it was so nice to arrive to a large, warm, comfortable room. The house is beautiful, our room was big, cozy and well equipped with everything we could possibly need. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and when they heard it was our honeymoon they invited us to mimosas. It was just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hpoliq01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - unfortunately I was away in France when you wrote this and I did not see the notification.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found a dry refuge here! Let's hope the rest of your stay in UK was not quiet as wet!
I am not quiet clear on what we offered you when we found out it was your honeymoon though - "mimosas"? I think we gave you a small bottle of bubbly and orange juice??!! Any, no matter! Enjoy married life together and, advice for an old hand (nearly 40 yrs of marriage!)...never go to sleep on an argument! Our very best wishes, Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful country house hotel and the owners, Michael and Amanda, did an amazing job throughout our stay. Fresh towels and replenished tea and coffee everyday.
They were always on hand and went the extra mile on more than one occasion over the 3 days we stayed. Comfy, quiet rooms and a superb choice for breakfast. If I need to make any constructive criticism then I would suggest upgrading the tv in the room and creating a ramp of some sort for low suspension cars. Will definitely go again though as this place is so much better than any big hotel chain and price is virtually the same! Thank you!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank honestdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do so enjoy having our guests to stay so we always want to do our best to ensure everyone has a memorable visit to Dartmoor. Up grade the TV's? Gracious! they were new only a few years ago! .....Actually I had to go and check this out.... they were all new when digital TV came to SW in...2009! - I thought they were OK...please tell me what is wrong with them, honestdan. They are flat screen, clear picture on the screen, there is dvd slot and they change channel by remote control...is there anything else they should be doing??! Admittedly reception is not always good but that is to do with the main mast I am told. Yes, the hump does cause a little problem with those low slung, slinky cars (Michael always told me our car "gounds" because I am too heavy and makes me get out of the car!!!) but if you approach from Grange Road end you get a straight drive in and it tends to catch. However, point taken and it would be helpful if we sprayed in guide lines on hump as there is certainly a way in without scraping your bottom - we do hope neither of these observations will put you off staying again..! Our best wishes and thank you once again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an absolutely delightful stay at the harabeer hotel with the most amazing hosts Amanda and Micheal stayed in room 2 overlooking well kept rear garden with seating area where you can relax in the peace and quiet surroundings. Room was clean and bed extremely comfortable shower and bathroom facilities spotless couldn't be faulted. Evening meal was delicious as was breakfast filling and so many choices. Michael is such an entertaining funny and congenial chap that you can tell he is liked by everyone is whereas Amanda is a fabulous host warm and caring and what a cook. Making little surprises chocolate muffins one breakfast for our journey and cheese muffins the following morning these little touches are what makes this hidden gem a must to visit our stay here was fabulous as were Amanda and Michael we can't thank you enough for the hospitality shown and the warmth that you gave you are both amazing well done xxx

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Oh wow! Thank you! What more can I say!! You have truly been most generous and it is much appreciated. We try our best to make every one feel special and to go that extra mile - it is now taking its toll on us and we are looking forward to a break in France shortly to recharge those batteries! Our best wishes to you both and trust that if you are in the area again you will drop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

After a long drive, Harrabeer House was easily to find down a quiet lane, well signed. We were made welcome and felt at home throughout our 3 night stay. An afternoon cup of tea with a scone enabled us to unwind and relax before being shown to our tastefully appointed room upstairs. The view over the garden added to the atmosphere. Michael and Amanda were very engaging and helpful with any requirements and information. Their folder of information about Dartmoor includes many options to suit a range of tastes. Breakfast was amazing. Off street parking provides extra security. We would recommend Harraber House for warmth, comfort and excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - such kind words and much appreciated. Sounds like an excellent place to stay!!! We do hope that you will visit again - it was a pleasure to have you staying. Best Wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

This was a gift through twos company, and I have to say what. An excellent find, warm comfortable rooms with excellent hosts. Breakfast was superb, definitely recommended and will return when we're next in the area

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thethompsontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda57, Owner at Harrabeer Country House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased that you thought it was a good voucher choice. However, I do now need to apologise for the delay in responding - my only excuse is we have been very busy and there are not enough hours in the day! Please do come back - with or without a voucher! - you will be most welcome! Best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews