We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”

Review of Colmer Farmhouse

Colmer Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Colmer Farmhouse
DINING ROOM dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Colmer Farmhouse
DINING ROOM
dinning room
Passage way from kitchen to lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen window
Half ot the kitchen
the other half of the kitchen
lounge
the entrance
The Marshwood Vale
The Marshwood Vale
young stock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lyme Regis, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucindaha...
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A very big thank you, we had a great time in your cottage, we will return, with a BBQ and cider! It was lovely to see the horse born, my son now wants a horse! We found the cottage really nice to stay in

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Glad you enjoyed, and thankyou for leaving the house tidy, welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyChip
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable base to explore the coast of Dorset”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by Brenda and Stephen after the drive down seeing all the horses. A very warn welcome and lovely surprise to see the cottage which looks much better in reality, the pictures do not do it justice. The cottage is full of character and charm and is very comfortable. We had a one year old with us who slept very soundly. I would just advise, as per the advert, to take slippers with you due to the flag stone floors.
We really enjoyed our weekend at the cottage. Our son loved watching the horses out of window in the morning and we didn't have to travel far to explore the coast line of Dorset. Lyme and West Bay a must no matter what the weather. The Bottle Inn down the road provided a welcome drink although we chose to cook at the cottage which was straight forward on the AGA although we had never used one before.
Thank you for a lovely retreat for the weekend.
Vicky, Dave and Archie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm and character of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing to add
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Many thanks Vicky I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving every thing clean tidy and in place, welcome back anytime. Stephen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirandag1...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Ideal for a quiet relaxing break”
Reviewed October 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were greeted by Stephen and Brenda and shown around the property, we were impressed with how spacious the cottage was. Facilities were very good except for shower head which needs replacing as water leaked from shower head casing leading to poor pressure. Travellers may also need to know there is an aga and not a conventional oven, in keeping with the traditional style of a farmhouse cottage. Car is essential to see all local tourist hotspots. We would more than happily stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay, we will replace the shower head.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0af
oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, homely farmhouse, great location”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Loved this place. House is great, spacious and homely. Friendly and helpful owners. Great location to explore West Dorset and East Devon. Can't wait to go back. Oh and a great real ale pub down the road - the Bottle Inn. Only downside was mattresses on single beds in twin room, not sleepable on, according to my brother (although my six-year-old son managed).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: cosiness, spaciousness
Liked least: mattresses in twin bedroom - ok for a kid but not comfortable for an adult
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your review, we will get 2 new mattresses, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olliver86
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We drove through the gate down a long drive lined with beautiful daffodils, we parked up and had a warm welcome from Stephen and Brenda.

The farm house stood on a cobbled stable yard with all the horses looking over the door, it was perfect.

Inside was truely fabulous, oak beams, a fantastic family kitchen, fully equipt as we cooked nearly every morning and evening on an Aga which was great fun.

The lounge was huge with comfortable leather sofas and a wood burner, which heated the whole house.

The bedrooms were large and plenty of room for us.

The location was easy reach of Lyme regis, and most other popular attractions no longer than 45 minutes drive.

At night the stars looked amazing and you could hear nothing other than horses munching hay.

Colmer farmhouse made our family holiday magical, the children opening the curtains to horses wandering around the yard outside. Simply perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellySout...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent large accommodation in a peaceful location”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage with Large accommodation, the photos advertised doesn't do the size justice, in a peaceful location. Great for families and a group of friends with easy access to coastal spots. Owners were really helpful with information on nearby pubs and restaurants. We only stayed two nights but thoroughly enjoyed it, I would return and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the cottage and peaceful location
Liked least: Only one bathroom - but not a major issue
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kxjan
Herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spacious”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I can highly recommend Colmer Farmhouse.

It is in a very quiet location, in rolling countryside, less than 30minutes drive from the coast.

The house is amply spacious; furnishing is comfortable and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. The building is fascinating and ancient, dating from the 15th century. Huge solid beams and stone floors. Grand fireplaces in the lounge (with a woodburner) and kitchen (with an aga). In comparison to the usual modern English house design where everything is minimal size, this farmhouse is designed at "full scale"; some of the doors are about a third wider than modern doors and the floor space of the master bedroom could easily fit more than two modern bedrooms put together and there's not just one dining table but two.

We very much enjoyed our stay and felt much at home in Colmer Farmhouse. After our days out at the coast it was a pleasure to come home to this comfortable space. This grand house actually added an extra dimension to our stay.

The owners live just five minutes walk away, are straightforward and welcoming and very nice people.

[I think wifi might be accessible via a bt hub]

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing