We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and interesting”
Review of The Canteen

The Canteen
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Nailsworth
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

The Canteen is tucked away in a rickety part of an old mill building amidst an array of vintage and collectable items in the shop next door and outside. Inside is a quirky surprise. The menu is interesting and the food is beautifully presented with added touches. We made two visits in one day so we could sample Brunch and Coffee and Cake and we loved it all

2  Thank Sue999029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello Sue

Many thanks for your review we are very happy to hear you enjoyed The Canteen
and its fun, quirky and delicious ethos!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

The rhubarb slice is amazing, also tried the Turkish breakfast - yum! Lovely quirky atmosphere too ...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Hello Karen

Thank you for leaving your review here.

Please come back soon for more delicious cakes and brunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Lovely lunch and cake! Good coffee additionally! Atmosphere is very rustic but homely, staff appear friendly and attentive! Thanks :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank hotel_traveler211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Delighted you enjoyed your time The Canteen.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Popped in on Friday (Good Friday) It was quite busy, but we were greeted by all of the staff. They had fun music playing and the atmosphere was great, I had one of the salads from the specials board and then my husband had poached eggs on sourdough toast with mushrooms. Food was lovely and coffee is nice and hot. Great laid back atmosphere and staff are always lovely whenever we come in. Highly Recommend to anyone :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hello June

Thank you for leaving your feedback here we are very happy you enjoyed your visit this Easter we believe in making our customers feel welcome and content by providing a great welcome and providing food and drinks that go that extra mile.

Many thanks for writing about it here and hope to see you back soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Delicious 'big breakfast' for brunch. Able to change some things e.g. Tomatoes for extra mushrooms, or mushrooms for halloumi. Fantastic! Juice and tea arrived and brunch just after. GF bread also provided. Huge portion size for £8.75. A total bargain. Awesome decor - very kitch and mismatched and it all works brilliantly.

2  Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah M, Manager at The Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hello Naomi
So happy to hear you had such a great experience at The Canteen.
Quirky Fun and Delicious is our moto and very glad it was so appreciated by you.
Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Canteen also viewed

 
Nailsworth, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing