We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little Inn..”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #10 of 17 Boston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The Red Lion advertises itself as a "good honest country Inn" and that sums up the place in a sentence.
I stayed here for one night on business and experienced a very warm welcome from the hosts. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have everything you need. The food is excellent and the proportions very generous, I can't see anybody leaving here still hungry.
I'm looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

16 - 22 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

This is a beautiful and charming traditional English pub, with well appointed rooms, open fires, home cooked fayre and good beers.

The staff are friendly and polite, the atmosphere is warm and cozy. Lovely seating areas for a quiet drink or meals. Great specials boards and it's as English now as it was when my parents brought me here as a child over 35 years ago. Thank you as my wife and children enjoy it now as much as I did, lovely beer garden with a children's play area

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

I have read some previous reviews, and wonder if people are getting muddled up with the Red Lion at East Kirkby ... I haven't been there, so can't comment, but I CAN say that I have been to the Red Lion at Revesby twice in the last fortnight and on both occasions the food has been plentiful and delicious. Frozen chips?? I don't think so.... the staff were all friendly but not over-bearing, the open fire very welcoming on these cold February days after hours spent plane-spotting....I had the ham, egg and chips both times, and there was so much food on the plate that the chips were in their own bowl! Unfortunately I was unable to indulge in any of the desserts as the main meal was so filling :(

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank abeau1536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Took my in laws out as my mother in law birthday went for Sunday lunch it was lovely nice home cooked food excellent value for money staff nice and friendly will be going back nothing was too much trouble

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank shazevans1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

a nice little pub, bit grotty inside,run mostly by teenagers who are a little bit over enthusiastic. it would be nice to finish the meal before some kid comes up wanting to take your plate. have tried this place a few times and its always the same. would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happy107756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Wonderful host and team of staff . The food - which was locally sourced - was beautifully cooked and very plentiful. Our room was super, clean and inviting and our bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept on in hotels over the years. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LindaNightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

My wife and I visited The Red Lion after passing many times and thought it's time to give it a spin, it's a lovely old building and from the road looks the quintessential English country pub, but once inside it looks a bit.. well grubby and dark, ran by what it seemed teenagers, when we ordered we got dumped with our cutlery and salt & pepper etc etc in a bucket and a mushroom table number marker as well as our coffees.. ( table service.. no... ok )
once we got to our seats outside we noticed how dirty everything was in said bucket, nearly empty salt & pepper, god knows what in the bottom of the bucket, grime on the pots.. not a good start at all for very simple things, the food took a while to come, they do have a sign saying ' we don't do fast food, we do great food as fast as we can ' come on is that not just saying hey we're a bit lazy but oh well, once the food had come it was in all fairness great, my wife had a panini and I had the Cajun chicken baguette and yeah good stuff decent size potions and fresh, just all let down by bad service, sort it out guys there not big things just annoying simple things.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a rear room as for traffic noise if I was to stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inapickle28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boston hotels
16.7 km away
Premier Inn Boston Hotel
24.1 km away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#1 of 6 in Boston
305 reviews
17.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#2 of 6 in Boston
358 reviews
17.5 km away
The New England Hotel
20.1 km away
Boston Lodge
Boston Lodge
#2 of 17 in Boston
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Main Road | Revesby, Boston PE22 7NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $110 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Boston, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing