We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
24
21
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
21
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table number ordering drinks the pub lovely lunch home made steak and ale pie friendly welcome roast potatoes yorkshire pudding large portions stayed nights well worth a visit sunday lunch comfortable room on arrival excellent value salmon full english
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 59 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We had a two night break and had two double rooms booked. We had experienced long delays during our journey and didn't arrive until 1am. We phoned several times to let the landlord know our impending arrival times, and he waited up for us which we were truly appreciative after a six hour drive. Comfy beds in both rooms, coffee and tea and bottle water together with biscuits were complimentary. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and used local bacon and lincolnshire sausages which were all very tasty. Plenty of cereal and juices and a a great choice for breakfast. Full english, kippers etc etc.We had a evening meal in front of a roaring fire which warmed us up after a long day at the Lincolnshire Aviation centre. I chose the Steak and Ale pie which was absolutely out of this world, really, really tasty. The other dishes were Liver and Bacon with vegetables and that was gorgeous as well. The other two dishes were fish and chips and chilli, all exceptional and huge portions. We love the old fashioned pub meals without being mucked around to look posh, but keeping it traditional. Well worth the visit and we would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

I was very warmly welcomed to The Red Lion with a lovely smile and polite conversation. The pub had a nice atmosphere and wasn't too crowded on my visit. The food was outstanding. I only chose the very simple dish of ham, egg & chips and now wish I'd noticed the specials board before ordering as there were many options on there I would have preferred. Anyway, the ham was succulent, the eggs very tasty with perfect soft yokes and that was served with a fresh salad and the chips came in a separate bowl. The food portions are giant and I could see from other peoples plates their alternative food choices were of a similar giant size. Fabulous value, however. A very good experience all round.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Great traditional Sunday carvey at a good price. Tasty and well cooked meats and veg that looked and tasted like it was picked fresh from the field that day:) the only down side was the deserts that were quite pricey snd the portion size of the cheese cake was tiny. But overall a lovely lunch...... will be back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank wardy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

As soon as we walked into this pub we felt at home, met by friendly, helpful staff and locals. Really enjoyed Bateman's Gold, lovely evening meal, wine and all reasonably priced. We stayed the night in a cosy, comfortable room and had a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast is not for the faint hearted, amazing Lincolnshire sausages, this will set you up for the day. We hope to return. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Burn-Rubber-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2016

The Red Lion is well placed between Boston and Horncastle and is close to Woodhall Spa and is well worth a visit as a destination in its own right as well as a break en route. There are nice outdoor areas, climbing frame type play area for the children and lots of room inside. First impressions count and at the Red Lion you will be charmed as soon as you are greeted by the cheerful and efficient bar staff. I have been regularly whenever I am in this part of Lincolnshire. There is a good assortment of beers and the food is great with a wide ranging menu to suit every taste. In my frequent experience meals are always well presented, good portions and delicious. Friendly, professional, great ambience, clean ... what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank peterbr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews