We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
25
21
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
21
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east kirkby the pub table number ordering drinks sunday carvery yorkshire pudding lovely lunch home made steak and ale pie friendly welcome roast potatoes large portions stayed nights well worth a visit comfortable room bar area on arrival excellent value
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 60 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights, it's great value as the rooms are a good size, warm and comfortable

Fabulous showers, very welcome after a long flight.

Plenty of parking available and the wifi worked well..

Breakfast is included and is HUGE!

Only downside is the distance from Boston, but that's just the description that doesn't state it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Micahat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We had a two night break and had two double rooms booked. We had experienced long delays during our journey and didn't arrive until 1am. We phoned several times to let the landlord know our impending arrival times, and he waited up for us which we were truly appreciative after a six hour drive. Comfy beds in both rooms, coffee and tea and bottle water together with biscuits were complimentary. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and used local bacon and lincolnshire sausages which were all very tasty. Plenty of cereal and juices and a a great choice for breakfast. Full english, kippers etc etc.We had a evening meal in front of a roaring fire which warmed us up after a long day at the Lincolnshire Aviation centre. I chose the Steak and Ale pie which was absolutely out of this world, really, really tasty. The other dishes were Liver and Bacon with vegetables and that was gorgeous as well. The other two dishes were fish and chips and chilli, all exceptional and huge portions. We love the old fashioned pub meals without being mucked around to look posh, but keeping it traditional. Well worth the visit and we would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

I was very warmly welcomed to The Red Lion with a lovely smile and polite conversation. The pub had a nice atmosphere and wasn't too crowded on my visit. The food was outstanding. I only chose the very simple dish of ham, egg & chips and now wish I'd noticed the specials board before ordering as there were many options on there I would have preferred. Anyway, the ham was succulent, the eggs very tasty with perfect soft yokes and that was served with a fresh salad and the chips came in a separate bowl. The food portions are giant and I could see from other peoples plates their alternative food choices were of a similar giant size. Fabulous value, however. A very good experience all round.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Great traditional Sunday carvey at a good price. Tasty and well cooked meats and veg that looked and tasted like it was picked fresh from the field that day:) the only down side was the deserts that were quite pricey snd the portion size of the cheese cake was tiny. But overall a lovely lunch...... will be back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank wardy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

As soon as we walked into this pub we felt at home, met by friendly, helpful staff and locals. Really enjoyed Bateman's Gold, lovely evening meal, wine and all reasonably priced. We stayed the night in a cosy, comfortable room and had a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast is not for the faint hearted, amazing Lincolnshire sausages, this will set you up for the day. We hope to return. Thank you.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Burn-Rubber-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews