We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallam's Guest House(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
US$53
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bramley House Bed & Breakfast(Boston)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Boston Lodge(Boston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
22
21
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstable numberordering drinksthe publovely lunchhome made steak and ale piefriendly welcomeroast potatoesyorkshire puddinglarge portionsstayed nightswell worth a visitsunday lunchcomfortable roomon arrivalsalmonexcellent valuefull english
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 57 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Historic pub with ambience. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. We got there late because we were lost and they ordered Chinese food for us because we hadn't eaten. Lots of locals eat and drink in the pub and restaurant - the food was excellent. The breakfast was made-to-order - the eggs were delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zeezeeshredder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Stayed 2 nights. Friendly, helpful, welcoming staff; immaculate, comfortable en suite room. Excellent wide choice of freshly-prepared meals, with local veg', and wonderful (choice of five (5) hot dishes) breakfasts. It's a traditional English country pub' of a very high standard in every respect. The proprietor has a lifetime's experience of running a pub's and it shows in the quality of service and services provided for the traveller. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms on same upstairs corridor; good sound insulation; overlook countryside - lovely
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSMR893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights, it's great value as the rooms are a good size, warm and comfortable

Fabulous showers, very welcome after a long flight.

Plenty of parking available and the wifi worked well..

Breakfast is included and is HUGE!

Only downside is the distance from Boston, but that's just the description that doesn't state it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Micahat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2016

We had a two night break and had two double rooms booked. We had experienced long delays during our journey and didn't arrive until 1am. We phoned several times to let the landlord know our impending arrival times, and he waited up for us which we were truly appreciative after a six hour drive. Comfy beds in both rooms, coffee and tea and bottle water together with biscuits were complimentary. The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous and used local bacon and lincolnshire sausages which were all very tasty. Plenty of cereal and juices and a a great choice for breakfast. Full english, kippers etc etc.We had a evening meal in front of a roaring fire which warmed us up after a long day at the Lincolnshire Aviation centre. I chose the Steak and Ale pie which was absolutely out of this world, really, really tasty. The other dishes were Liver and Bacon with vegetables and that was gorgeous as well. The other two dishes were fish and chips and chilli, all exceptional and huge portions. We love the old fashioned pub meals without being mucked around to look posh, but keeping it traditional. Well worth the visit and we would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

I was very warmly welcomed to The Red Lion with a lovely smile and polite conversation. The pub had a nice atmosphere and wasn't too crowded on my visit. The food was outstanding. I only chose the very simple dish of ham, egg & chips and now wish I'd noticed the specials board before ordering as there were many options on there I would have preferred. Anyway, the ham was succulent, the eggs very tasty with perfect soft yokes and that was served with a fresh salad and the chips came in a separate bowl. The food portions are giant and I could see from other peoples plates their alternative food choices were of a similar giant size. Fabulous value, however. A very good experience all round.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews