We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of swallow cottage

View of the lake from the nearside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the lake from the nearside
View of the Cottage and main house Perch circa 3lb
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
View of the lake from the nearside
View of the Cottage and main house
Perch circa 3lb
View of the lake from the far side
Track leading up to the far side of the lake
View of Wren cottage and garage
The lake
The gardens
Swallow lounge
Swallow kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“peaceful retreat”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

With just two cottages on site this was a brilliant peaceful few days away to chill out before my wife had to go into hospital for a small operation .The cottage had everything you could want to self cater including a very appreciated welcome pack .
The onsite fishing is fantastic (plenty of carp ,bream roach goldfish etc) Mablethorpe is 15 mins away by car for provisions,pubs and entertainment.We will be returning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlbolto...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What an amazing place! The cottages really are home from home, fantastically kept and very welcoming, the welcome pack is lovely - thank you Janice! The fishing lake is brilliant, full of all sorts of fish and all different sizes. Perfect relaxing break away and not too far away from everything. The gardens around the cottages are great for dog walking, ours loved it! Thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your review for our cottage and so pleased you had a great time, I really appreciate it and it means a lot.....Thank you...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you Caroline so pleased you liked our place...hope to see you again.....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, spacious with everything you would need, home from home.”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great cottage set in lovely peaceful surroundings, lovely surprise of a welcome basket on arrival and within reach of Louth, Mablethorpe, Skegness and lots of other nearby places. Janice very friendly and nothing to much trouble when asked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you Karen we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay..... Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanSteveL...
Lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We have now stayed at Swallow Cottage twice and very much look forward to staying again. Perfect hosts, the welcome basket is very, well er welcome. Our two English Springers were made to feel at home straight away. The grounds are fab and safe. The beach is a short 10 min drive away. My hubby always laughs at me when we go away because I buy lots of lovely food but on this occasion he was grateful because there are no take away's near by and the shop (10 mins away) isn't fantastically stocked but having said that i wouldn't want to change the location, it is just spot on for us and our two girlies. I am a jewellery designer and spent the afternoons creating jewellery in the cottage, there is a great flow of energy there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thank you Jan for the lovely review...so glad you enjoyed your stays with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.... Janice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james t
1 review
“perfect host perfect setting”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

wonderful location to stay and a very warm welcome when you arrive.Janice explained everything on arrival and included a welcome box which was very much appreciated after such a long journey.the accommodation was well presented and clean.the grounds of the property were outstanding and molly our german shephard had a great time being able to roam around so freely.there is really no reason to travel around any where if you enjoy fishing as the lake is quite large with plenty of stock.Janice is to be congratulated on being a perfect host and l would recommend anyone to visit this lovely peaceful location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our cottage and surroundings, I am so glad you all enjoyed it especially Molly who is more than welcome anytime even on her own ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDSB68
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, tranquil spot”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thanks for a great stay...we live locally, but were visited by a group of friends. We have no spare room, and are all too old for sleeping on the floor now so we decided to rent a cottage nearby. Swallow cottage was ideal, and well equipped. I'm a wheelchair user, and the space inside was excellent. We only stayed for 2 nights so we managed, but the only issue I would have had access-wise if we'd stayed longer was that the shower was inside the bath.
Beautiful gardens, and my husband day spent a relaxing day fishing at the lake in the garden.
Thank you for a lovely stay...highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing