We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Britchcombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uffington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Britchcombe Farm
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

6 families spent 1 night at Britchcombe farm for an amazing camping weekend. We chose the field directly under the White horse and dragon hill with amazing views over the Vale. It was great for the children to be able to charge around in lots of open space in relative safety. Plenty of room for rounders, football etc. Fantastic being able to have a proper campfire, which kept us sitting out and chatting till late watching shooting stars and satellites, and a wonderful crescent moon. The next morning a great walk up on the hill before breakfast.
For a great family getaway can't fault it!!!.

Room Tip: Wood bottom field if you don't mind sleeping on a hill!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina1973_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    6
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Having read lots of positive reviews about Britchcombe farm, my girlfriend and I were very excited about our camping trip. On arrival we were greeted with union jack banners with pictures Wills & Kate which was great! We went to the reception to check in and was made to feel very welcome and we took advantage of the fact you are allowed campfires on site and purchased some wood and deposited £5 for a bucket for fire prevention, which is refunded on return! We made our way to the camping field and pitched our tent (possibly on a slight incline) however the view was to die for. The campsite was very quiet and other campers were very friendly. It was a great atmosphere. Once i'd lit the campfire, sat back with a beer and the BBQ on the go a lady appeared through the smoke... I panicked as she as if we had bought the firewood from home. I replied "no I bought it from the farmhouse when we checked in'. The lady looked sad and said "checked in? oh! perhaps i've missed the firewood then" she walked back to her family looking rather sad. My lovely girlfriend felt bad and suggested that we donated some firewood to them. She took it over to them and the lady was overwhelmed with joy and responded "that's so camping!". My girlfriend came back in stitches.
The following day after a bacon roll we went for a drive into Wantage and had a browse of the lovely shops and cafes and then we went for a walk over the White Horse Hill and then later on ventured to Stonehenge, which was amazing.
We both had an amazing time and I would thoroughly recommend this site to everyone. The shower and facilities were good however the queue for showers can be long, so best get there early!
We're looking forward to returning again this summer with some friends! :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bloggs96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon wiltshire England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Originally booked to go electric hookup but because some of our friends did not have electric we decided we would stay in the same field as them. We had about 5 families stay together ( originally more booked and dropped out at last minute but this was not a problem when we arrived, the booking was altered and no cancellation charged)
We had a fantastic time and I think the scenery made it. We stayed in the field just under the white horse.
The weather was not that good but we still managed to sit outside in the evening by the real camp fire (this is what camping is all about)
The only down side is the field we were in had portaloos ( which were clean) but to have a shower or go to main reception you have to walk along the country road. It was not far but I was a bit uneasy with the children as there were no paths.
I would reccommend this site to everyone as the views and surrounding are stunning also the cream teas are a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsingsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Great location, 20 min walk to the village and an easy climb to the white horse and Uffington fort. I was there in March, no portaloos but was forewarned and pitched close to the wash house. Showers were good, great talking to Marsella. The only negative is that it is very dark, no street lighting, and the signs are not illuminated and almost impossible to see at night. I had expected brown tourist information camping signs, but there were none. Do your navigation in advance. No need for an alarm clock, the cockerels and the dawn chorus will wake you up.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is around the 5th time that I have camped at Britchcombe, as a singleton, married couple and now with small kids. This time a gang of friends - some with kids, others not, all camped together and we had a wonderful time.

There are five fields and enough space for everyone to spread out and not bother one another. Portaloos and showers. Wonderful views and the bonus of campfires to sit around.

You need to report to the farm when you arrive and why not ask Mrs. Seymour or Anne if there are any particular parties in which are having a 'party'? there is plenty of room for you to go in another field if someone else's party is going to bother you.

We did not have any noise issues just lots of peace and space for kids to run. Great pancakes and cream teas and the chance to sit and talk by a campfire once kids in bed.

You pay a fiver for a bucket if you want a campfire - which you get back when you leave and can non-spitting logs on site - brought to you! (H&S).

Wonderful and will be making it an annual event.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank East0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I only live up the road from this campsite, and for years have thought it was just one wind-blown field, I used to feel sorry for the people who stayed there! but after reading the trip advisor review, we decided to give it a try and spent a saturday night there: 4 adults, 3 tents, a 10yr old, a 2 yr old and 2 dogs. I was worried about wind/sloping pitches but as i got there on saturday lunchtime it was still quite quiet and I asked specifically which field to use for a quiet, sheltered spot. I won't tell you which one because I plan to go back a lot! It was absolutely lovely, we were told that "Neil" would drive by around 4.30 with some firewood (you can't use your own for various reasons) and he was a couple of hours late, but it's a real treat to be able to light a fire and have wood delivered. We had walked up to the top of the white horse and seen that one of the fields was rented out to a wedding party, there was a marquee and live music. But amazingly we didn't hear anything at all in the night except the deafening dawn chorus that you'd expect in June woodland. The dogs had to be kept on leads, which was fine, and the manicured turf of the fields made for a good night's sleep. There are portaloos in all the fields, basic but OK, and 3 showers at the farm along with a delightfully shabby hut selling cream teas. I particularly liked the discreet patrols by Neil in his landrover - he passed by twice in the evening for anyone who wanted more wood, and just keeping an eye on things. Thoroughly recommended if you like it simple.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank larkrise36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

It does have a great location near to the white horse and set in a pleasant undulating valley. Spread over 4 fields there are a good number of flat pitches: if you get there late you will be camping on more of a slope! Campfires are allowed which is an unusual and attractive feature of the site. The portaloo toilets were well serviced and pretty clean. The shower facilities back at the farm are basic but adequate. Unfortunately amongst all of these positive features the site booked out one of the 4 fields for a birthday party group who played loud music (loud enough to keep people awake through ear plugs...) until well into the early hours. This despite the usual entreaty to 'keep noise levels down after 10.30'..... When challenged the owners said that the music should have been stopped at midnight (big deal). What most annoyed me was that they should have told us on booking that they were suspending their usual rules on noise for that night. Had this happened I would not have camped that weekend; as it is I won't camping there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Its_not_difficult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uffington
3.9 km away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
166 reviews
8.6 km away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
2.0 km away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 3 in Uffington
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britchcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britchcombe Farm

Property: Britchcombe Farm
Address: Britchcombe Farm Faringdon, Uffington SN7 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Uffington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Uffington
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the White Horse Hill with its magnificent views and historic myths, Britchcombe Farm has been enjoyed by thousands of campers for more than 10 years - many of who came back year after year.Enjoy a delicious cream tea in our tea rooms, a roaring log fire in the evening or just relax and rewind in the unspoilt Oxfordshire countryside, our camp site is the perfect retreat for anyone looking to experience the this fabulous part of the country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Britchcombe Farm Hotel Uffington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing