We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Arden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arden House
Reviewed 9 May 2012

A wonderful b and b in beautiful surroundings. rooms were so fabulous, such attention to detail. nothing too much trouble for our hosts, Ian, Julie and Joyce, from arranging great walks from the house , booking restaurants for us , and making wonderful breakfasts, posting on forgotten things !. highly recommended , in a gorgeous part of the world

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Great to meet you both and pleased you are reunited with your belongings! As a keen walker, Ian spends a lot of time exploring routes for our guests and we make sure we have plenty of books and maps. Hope to see you again soon. Ian, Julie & Joyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

The owners of this B&B with attitude describe it as a weekend retreat and that is exactly what it is but with the word 'wonderful' attached. I cannot really add to what has already been written by other reviewers but endorse their comments whole heartedly.
A beautiful house, decorated beautifully, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, lovely rooms, great hosts and a gorgeous breakfast.
You really cannot ask for more. Awesome accommodation is an awesome location. Don't think about it, just book. You will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taxwizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and you certainly made the most of the stunning walks around Arden House. Hope to see you again soon. Ian, Julie & Joyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a gem!! This B&B was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were superb and immaculately decorated and furnished. The attention to detail was second to none! Ian and Julie were great hosts, ensuring that you had everything to make your stay just perfect. Can't leave out Julie's Mum either....her breakfast was absolutely delicious, thank you to you all. We came to stay for a family celebration and are now thinking of making this an annual event at Arden House. It was positively the nicest place we have ever stayed......

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecirp, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you Lynda to you and all those who have taken the time and effort to review Arden House. Since opening in August 2011, we have welcomed some wonderful guests and my mum, Joyce, is so genuinely delighted her breakfasts and hospitality are so appreciated. Look forward meeting you all again at your next family reunion! Best wishes, Julie & Ian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely hotel, our hosts Ian and Julie were genuinely warm and friendly, nothing was was too much trouble, the scenery was spectacular, the weekend was glorious. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at this delightful and characterful hotel based in a beautiful part of our country.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have just returned from celebrating our mum's 80th birthday at Arden House. We really couldn't have asked for a nicer place to do this in. Ian and Julie were fantastic - so helpful and hospitable; they made our stay a thoroughly lovely experience. The house is very attractive. It's spacious and tastefully decorated to a really high standard. Our family had the run of the house to ourselves which added to our experience making it even more intimate and enjoyable. This is more than a guesthouse and this review will not do it justice. We would recommend Arden House to everyone, you simply can't go wrong. To add to this is, of course, the beautiful surrounding scenery with hills and stunning walks on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa3G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just spent a wonderfully relaxed weekend at Arden House - a most characterful and immaculately presented property. It benefits from being highly accessible to the facilities available in Church Stretton, and also to the surrounding countryside, with safe off-road parking available. Our room - Mackintosh - was quiet, spacious and comfortable, and very tastefully decorated and furnished. The hosts' attention to detail made for a very pleasant stay indeed - the complementary snacks, drinks and toiletries being much appreciated. The breakfasts were also generous and delicious. The hosts' approach was very warm and welcoming - and their advice on local walks and hostelries (Housman's) certainly helped us to make the most of our stay. Ian, Julie and Joyce struck the perfect balance between attentiveness and relaxed informality. We would highly recommend Arden House to anyone looking for accommodation in this part of Shropshire. We believe that overall it is the nicest place we have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staying at Arden House didn't feel like staying at a B&B. The attention to detail was impressive; in the room furnishings, in the hospitality (nibbles in the room and access to a beautiful lounge), and in being greeted with a cup of tea!
We stayed 2 nights with our 11month old baby, which they were well set up to host us with. We stayed in the (huge!) Darwen room, which had a perfect little connected room for the cot.
We loved the fact that we could walk from there straight up to the Carding mill valley and the Long Mynd.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonMarshall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
13.9 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
817 reviews
1 km away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
249 reviews
2.4 km away
Mynd House B&B
Mynd House B&B
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 22 in Church Stretton
214 reviews
3 km away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
254 reviews
7.9 km away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#14 of 22 in Church Stretton
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: Trevor Hill, Church Stretton SY6 6JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range: $120 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by The Shropshire Hills with far reaching views, Arden House is the perfect place to relax and enjoy this area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Located at the gateway to Carding Mill Valley, yet only a short level walk from the centre of the market town of Church Stretton, Arden House is ideally situated for discovering Shropshire, with the historic towns of Shrewsbury, Ironbridge, Much Wenlock and Ludlow all under 30 minutes away by car. We've had three amazing years running Arden House as a B&B and recently have been through a period of transformation. We are delighted to let you know that we are now offering luxury holiday apartments - all retaining the unique character and quality of Arden House. All apartments are stylishly furnished with lounges and bedrooms with luxury ensuite shower rooms together with fully fitted kitchens, complete with all appliances. All finished to the exacting standard you would expect, where every need has been catered for the perfect relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arden House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing