We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First rate cottage in magnificent setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Twin bedroom with spectacular views
Ground floor double bedroom with superb views
Entrance Hall
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
The Long Mynd, within walking distance of Hollywell Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dick C
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First rate cottage in magnificent setting”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Hollywell Cottage is a superbly equipped cottage in a magnificent location. The cottage is warm, comfortable, modern and provides everything one could ask. The owners are very helpful, providing a comprehensive range of initial supplies to help you settle in. The "how to find the cottage" instructions were excellent. The kitchen is equipped with a good coffee maker and real, ground coffee - excellent.
The views from the cottage are to die for, and with a splendid terrace in front of the kitchen/diner, eating al fresco in good weather is a great pleasure. The owners provide more books and DVDs than I have ever encountered in other holiday properties, including lots of children's books and DVDs.
The surrounding countryside offers great walking both from the cottage and a short drive away, and the owners have provided a file of walking routes all in laminated plastic - what a great touch! The area also offers a wide variety of other activities; it is rich in NT and English Heritage properties to visit and there is also the Ironbridge Gorge complex of museums and the RAF Museum at Cosford within easy reach. There's far more to do than one can possibly fit into one week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, and the real coffee supplied!
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you for such and lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage. It has always been our aim to make guests feel welcomed and relaxed, we provide everything that we would want in a Holiday Cottage to make your holiday extra special, plus a few extra luxury treats!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gazdavies...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with great views”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Definitely worth a stay in this delightful cottage in an idyllic setting yet on the door step to the quaint village of church Stratton. spotlessly clean accommodation and a nice Garden with beautiful views of long mynd.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
We are glad your enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage and many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLunn
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very well appointed, secluded cottage with terrace, garden and gorgeous views”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, daughter and I gave just returned from a very relaxing week at this lovely cottage. It has a beautiful setting looking over the Shropshire hills and countryside and completely secluded. There are three good sized bedrooms and two good bathrooms. There is a lovely garden and bbq terraced area with generous seating accessed through the kitchen area. Just take in those views. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. There are two TVs, a host of DVDs and books, radios and a sound system in the kitchen. We had a lovely welcome pack with lemon drizzle cake, brioche, butter, milk, jam, orange juice and cereals. Real coffee too. The cottage is an excellent base for visiting Church Stretton and the surrounding area. We particularly liked Ludlow, Leominster, Bishops Castle,Clun, Carding Mill and Much Wenlock. It's all quiet and unspoilt. The cottage and the area are real finds. We didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the care by he owners to cater for visitors needs
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midganj
midganj
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning views, lovely property”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just got home from a week at Hollywell Cottage. We couldn't have been happier, the views are to die for and the accommodation is spot on. It's a short walk up the hill onto the long mynd, which has stunning walks, our children surprised themselves with how much they enjoyed the great outdoors.
The cottage itself is a gem, 3 large bedrooms, a great kitchen diner and a lovely cosy sitting room. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio area overlooking the hills and made use of the bbq in the evenings. The house is incredibly well equipped with just about every utensil you could wish for. There was some other items too that were a real bonus, particularly the picnic blanket & cool box, whilst our children were pleased to find a selection of toys.
Church Stretton is a very short drive, it's a pretty little place, with a good selection of shops, pubs & restaurants. The highlight though of the immediate vicinity is definitely Carding Mill Valley, such a lovely area for the children to play in the streams & walk up to the waterfall.
We took the train into shrewsbury one day, which is a beautiful town with lots to see and do.
Overall the area has so much to offer and is some what undiscovered which is great as it means it's not too busy.
We will definitely come back to the area and will without doubt stay at Hollywell Cottage. A big thank you to the owners who were a pleasure to deal with and were kind enough to leave us the most amazing welcome pack along with a home made lemon drizzle cake. Delicious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Our aim is to try and provide the attention to detail to make your holiday that little bit more special which we hope we achieved. Thank you for such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumtips
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with a wonderful location”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a delightful, well equipped cottage with stunning views over to Caer Caradoc. The owners seem to have thought of everything you might need, and leave a tasty welcome pack for your arrival. You hardly need to leave the cottage as just watching the light change across the hills from the patio is so beautiful and relaxing. The cottage has a downstairs bedroom but may not suit people with walking difficulties as you have to walk up an inclined gravel drive for about 20 meters to reach it, and the ground floor has different levels. This was no problem for us, and we all loved it here. We hope to return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage and would love to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
238855
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“2nd time round and did not disappoint”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here in June last year and promised ourselves that we would return. On our return we were thankful that our memories of the place were not tarnished, as it was a lovely as we first remembered.

I do not wish to replicate my first review, but can say that my review then still reflects our view on our recent week at the cottage.

The area is surrounded by beautiful countryside and many walks. They still leave you a welcome pack, which is a wonderful touch, especially when we had traveled so far.

A great place to unwind, blow the cobwebs away with some walks, and curl up with a nice bottle of red in front of the log burner on chilly nights.... it wasn't chilly when we visited, however we still put it on as we like the cosy feel a real fire creates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel, the views, the surroundings, excellent amenities, the welcome pack, very helpful owners who replied promptly when I asked them a question.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
We are so please you enjoyed your 2nd stay at Hollywell Cottage and Thank you for another lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richy J
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well equipped cottage in great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We chose Hollywell Cottage for its location and it certainly didn't disappoint. Situated on a hill leading to the Long Mynd, the waking was fantastic. We were able to get up onto the Mynd or walk in to town, without moving the car. The cottage itself was light and sunny, with great views of Caer Caradoc and a large patio. Although we didn't meet the owners they had though of everything, with a welcome basket including home-made cakes, and plenty of books, magazines and dvds for relaxing in front of the log burner with. The fire was already made up, it just needed to be lit! I would definitely recommend Hollywell Cottage.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hollywell Cottage and Thank You for taking the time to leave a review. It is always nice to hear that we are making our guests feel welcome and relaxed on their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing