We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, clean and cosy”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BSF71
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lovely location, comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I've rated this as average because while the location is perfect - quiet but walking distance to pubs and restaurants - and the actual cottage has a lovely set up, when we first arrived and all seemed clean but on closer inspection, it was just a surface clean on the main areas. As long as the cleaning standards have improved (this was brought up with Best of Exmoor while we were there and they were looking into it fully with the owners) then we would definitely recommend and even stay again ourselves. It really is a great base for exploring Exmoor. The little garden area is nice although, as previous people have said, it would be nice to have a proper little table and chair set there - there is a bench but not very practical and could do with a once over! So apart from cleaning and maybe a lick of paint in the bathroom (and more hangers!) would definitely stay here again for a relaxing and quiet time. Would think it is also lovely in the winter with the log burner, nice and cosy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tired and needs work”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed in worthy cottage this June. Our reasons for staying came mainly from the photos and descriptions plus the then reviews which seem to have disappeared. This is said to be a one bedroom cottage with great views of the sea. It is indeed a one bedroom cottage but the sea views are very limited to two small windows on the first floor. The picture shows large double doors that look to open up to a garden, this is the main vehicular entrance to both the cottage and a large house and parking is to one side in this space with little room to manoeuvre cars to the main house. The cottage was improved some years ago but there are definite signs of wear and tear and we did spend sometime cleaning the property on arrival but that is up to your own requirements. Some of the lights were not functioning but replacement bulbs were left by the front door these did not fit all the missing bulbs. The owner requested the key be left behind in case they required access. If an owner does require such access an appointment should be made with the renters for an agreed time. A welcome pack of butter and milk was provided but no tea or coffee. The cottage did need attention.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor M
Manchester,uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“worthy cottage”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Booked for a 7 night break . Arrived at the cottage which was fairly easy to find. Fairly well equipped for 2 but on closer inspection the following day we realised the place could do with a lick of paint and a general upgrade. The bathroom was my biggest nightmare, please get a new sink fitted and a shower as this one does no more than a slow trickle .
Sadly, we wouldn't recommend the cottage at this time. Hopefully the owners do take note of my comments as i do realise at times a fresh pair of eyes are often needed to see what maintenance work may be required. Nothing major just a general paint job from top to bottom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elski201
Elski201
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and cosy”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Quiet, clean and cosy. We spent a lovely long weekend here - it's the perfect base for walking. We particularly enjoyed relaxing with a book in front of the fire after long walks in the stunning exmoor countryside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLA87
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cosy retreat with the benifits of country and costal living.”
Reviewed December 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fairly easy to find. The cottage was clean and warm, with a lovely log burning fire which gave a really cosy atmosphere in the evenings. Everything you needed was there and the owners were really helpful. This is my 5th visit to Porlock its a lovely place with a real community feel. Only one point was we couldn't find the path from cottage to the beach but I am sure if you'd asked or were better equipped you'd find it. We traveled with our 9month old and cot & highchair were provided. I would recommend Worthy cottage to family & friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
998antony...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy corner”
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

In late November it was good to arrive to a table laid for two, with logs ready to light a fire in the log burner. Lovely walk down to the sea at Porlock Weir one way, through the woods to Culbone church the other - perfect for a damp day. A finely placed cottage for discovering a lovely bit of the coast.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bikermum7...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great cottage, well equipped in lovely location”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Worthy cottage is a comfortable, well equipped cottage, set in a lovely location. A big comfy bed, log burning stove, wifi connection all add to a pleasant stay. Porlock weir is a short walk with it's pubs and a few shops on the quay, porlock village is about 2 1/4 miles away with everything you need. The walking opportunities around this area are outstanding. Exmoor is breathtaking and this is ideally situated on the coast with the rolling hills around you. Nearby you can catch the west Somerset steam railway. I will be returning for sure. Thank you for a lovely stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing