We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beckford Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tisbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Beckford Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Tisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Beckford Arms was the perfect venue for a 40th birthday weekend reunion with family and friends. Accommodating our group of 14 adults and 10 children in the sumptuous bedrooms, everything had the wow factor and the attention to detail was incredible. Huge thanks and compliments to the Chef(s), the food was absolutely delicious and everyone loved the way the sharing menus were presented. Thanks must also go to Hannah, Charlie, Carl and Daniel who organized our stay so effortlessly and made us feel very welcome. There’s no doubt that The Beckford Arms is a gem of a place, and we look forward to coming back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    72
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
82
228
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Haddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We went for a night to celebrate a friend's birthday and had a wonderful time in this very relaxed but stylish pub. They could not have been more accommodating. Very good food, great room with properly powered shower, lovely bath and really comfortable bed. The whole visit was a great success and we would like to return with our children to do more exploring of the area. I believe they have a family room on the top floor.

Will have to go back anyway as I am running out of the fabulous handwash I bought from them. Can't really stop raving about this place. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Would probably be nice to face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is such a lovely place with excellent service and incredible attention to detail. As well, the food is excellent. It is an ideal getaway to the countryside, especially for a romantic escape. Definitely the best place I have stayed in England. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night - you could easily spend several here. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

A real gem. A proper pub, very friendly, comfortable and cosy in an idyllic location. The room was comfortable, with food tasty, the wine and beer list great, the breakfast excellent, etc, etc. The effort put into the Jubilee party was great and the atmosphere showed how popular this place is with the locals also. We felt very looked after and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Beckford was recommended to me by a friend for a dinner party. On the basis that it is always best to check a place out first, I went for dinner and stayed overnight. What a wonderful place - handy location, quiet and comfortable leading to a great sleep. The rooms are well laid out with sumptuous bathrooms and lots of little items that make it different, homely and special - such as fresh milk at night and in the morning, hot water bottles with their own 'cosy'. After a fabulous stay followed my dinner party - in the 'library' - which is ideal for 10 or so people. The staff were excellent - attentive and helpful but not overbearing; and the food was something really special.There are lots of good food in restaurants these days, but this was outstanding. Have now stayed there a further three times and will keep doing so.
Breakfast is a delightfully relaxed affair ... and my only little niggle is that as someone who likes to be in the office early, breakfast could do with starting a touch earlier ... but for a tourist its simply perfect.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are smaller than others. Ask for the ones with the king size and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling2poldhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I came across this pub with rooms when searching for a weekend retreat in the country. The location was lovely and the building itself didn't disappoint from its photos. We booked room 1 after being recommended to it and it lived up to expectations. The outlook of the magnolia tree was great and the area is very peaceful and quiet. The bed was very comfortable with lovely feather duvets and pillows. I particularly loved the hand-made toiletries and personal touches in the room. It was lovely to have cafetiere coffee and fresh milk instead of instant sachets and a bar of dairy milk instead of bulk standard hotel biscuits. We walked to the Pyt House kitchen gardens, which although about a 40 minute stroll, was worth it for the home made cakes and beautiful gardens. The staff were helpful, friendly and very personable. Our evening meal was very enjoyable washed down with a bottle of good wine. The only slight disappointment was that we wanted to make the most of our lay-in and came down to breakfast about 9.45am (breakfast finishes at 10am) to find most of everything on offer had gone and didn't seem to be replenished either. We only managed to get a croissant each, when it would have been nice to also sample the eggs, toast and home made jams (but I guess it saves our waistlines!!). Perhaps if breakfast is served until 10am, then there should be a good selection until 10am. However this is not a complaint as the rest of our stay made up for it, just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Can recommended room 1, it is quiet at the end of the corridor and has a lovely aspect and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackshoe247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My 'man and I of 11 years together' have just spent two very,very special nights at the Beckford to celebrate our anniversary . From the very warm welcome from the bar staff on our arrival to offering to drive us into town to catch our train (instead of a taxi) back to London all we can say is we cannot wait for our next visit. All staff we found to be friendly and accomodating, very comfortable beds with good quality linen, rooms are very clean and contemporary ( and room 7 is great if u are a romantic), good wines by the glass and bottle, great breakfasts, dinner menu of a high standard, overall, if you like london 5 star hotel standards from your countryside inns, we have yet to find anywhere else that comes as close as this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tisbury
17.3 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
9.5 km away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
12.6 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 km away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
19.8 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
5.5 km away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 5 in Tisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beckford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beckford Arms

Property: The Beckford Arms
Address: Fonthill Gifford, Tisbury SP3 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beckford Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beckford is situated on the edge of beautiful Wiltshire rolling parkland. It is a country pub with 8 simple but elegant bedrooms, a restaurant, a private dining room, a sitting room and a wonderful mature rambling garden with hammocks under shady trees. Bedrooms include bespoke, handmade natural bathroom products and guests may borrow DVDs from the library to watch in their rooms. On Sunday nights a classic movie is shown in the sitting room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beckford Arms Hotel Tisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing