We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of The Beckford Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beckford Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Tisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Beckford Arms was the perfect venue for a 40th birthday weekend reunion with family and friends. Accommodating our group of 14 adults and 10 children in the sumptuous bedrooms, everything had the wow factor and the attention to detail was incredible. Huge thanks and compliments to the Chef(s), the food was absolutely delicious and everyone loved the way the sharing menus were presented. Thanks must also go to Hannah, Charlie, Carl and Daniel who organized our stay so effortlessly and made us feel very welcome. There’s no doubt that The Beckford Arms is a gem of a place, and we look forward to coming back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We went for a night to celebrate a friend's birthday and had a wonderful time in this very relaxed but stylish pub. They could not have been more accommodating. Very good food, great room with properly powered shower, lovely bath and really comfortable bed. The whole visit was a great success and we would like to return with our children to do more exploring of the area. I believe they have a family room on the top floor.

Will have to go back anyway as I am running out of the fabulous handwash I bought from them. Can't really stop raving about this place. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Would probably be nice to face the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is such a lovely place with excellent service and incredible attention to detail. As well, the food is excellent. It is an ideal getaway to the countryside, especially for a romantic escape. Definitely the best place I have stayed in England. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night - you could easily spend several here. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A real gem. A proper pub, very friendly, comfortable and cosy in an idyllic location. The room was comfortable, with food tasty, the wine and beer list great, the breakfast excellent, etc, etc. The effort put into the Jubilee party was great and the atmosphere showed how popular this place is with the locals also. We felt very looked after and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Beckford was recommended to me by a friend for a dinner party. On the basis that it is always best to check a place out first, I went for dinner and stayed overnight. What a wonderful place - handy location, quiet and comfortable leading to a great sleep. The rooms are well laid out with sumptuous bathrooms and lots of little items that make it different, homely and special - such as fresh milk at night and in the morning, hot water bottles with their own 'cosy'. After a fabulous stay followed my dinner party - in the 'library' - which is ideal for 10 or so people. The staff were excellent - attentive and helpful but not overbearing; and the food was something really special.There are lots of good food in restaurants these days, but this was outstanding. Have now stayed there a further three times and will keep doing so.
Breakfast is a delightfully relaxed affair ... and my only little niggle is that as someone who likes to be in the office early, breakfast could do with starting a touch earlier ... but for a tourist its simply perfect.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are smaller than others. Ask for the ones with the king size and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling2poldhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I came across this pub with rooms when searching for a weekend retreat in the country. The location was lovely and the building itself didn't disappoint from its photos. We booked room 1 after being recommended to it and it lived up to expectations. The outlook of the magnolia tree was great and the area is very peaceful and quiet. The bed was very comfortable with lovely feather duvets and pillows. I particularly loved the hand-made toiletries and personal touches in the room. It was lovely to have cafetiere coffee and fresh milk instead of instant sachets and a bar of dairy milk instead of bulk standard hotel biscuits. We walked to the Pyt House kitchen gardens, which although about a 40 minute stroll, was worth it for the home made cakes and beautiful gardens. The staff were helpful, friendly and very personable. Our evening meal was very enjoyable washed down with a bottle of good wine. The only slight disappointment was that we wanted to make the most of our lay-in and came down to breakfast about 9.45am (breakfast finishes at 10am) to find most of everything on offer had gone and didn't seem to be replenished either. We only managed to get a croissant each, when it would have been nice to also sample the eggs, toast and home made jams (but I guess it saves our waistlines!!). Perhaps if breakfast is served until 10am, then there should be a good selection until 10am. However this is not a complaint as the rest of our stay made up for it, just a suggestion.

Room Tip: Can recommended room 1, it is quiet at the end of the corridor and has a lovely aspect and very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackshoe247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My 'man and I of 11 years together' have just spent two very,very special nights at the Beckford to celebrate our anniversary . From the very warm welcome from the bar staff on our arrival to offering to drive us into town to catch our train (instead of a taxi) back to London all we can say is we cannot wait for our next visit. All staff we found to be friendly and accomodating, very comfortable beds with good quality linen, rooms are very clean and contemporary ( and room 7 is great if u are a romantic), good wines by the glass and bottle, great breakfasts, dinner menu of a high standard, overall, if you like london 5 star hotel standards from your countryside inns, we have yet to find anywhere else that comes as close as this one.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tisbury
6 km away
Howard's House Country Hotel & Restaurant
13.4 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
903 reviews
16.7 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
432 reviews
10.7 km away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
452 reviews
9 km away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beckford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beckford Arms

Address: Fonthill Gifford, Tisbury SP3 6PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Tisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tisbury
Price Range: C$153 - C$280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beckford Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beckford is situated on the edge of beautiful Wiltshire rolling parkland. It is a country pub with 8 simple but elegant bedrooms, a restaurant, a private dining room, a sitting room and a wonderful mature rambling garden with hammocks under shady trees. Bedrooms include bespoke, handmade natural bathroom products and guests may borrow DVDs from the library to watch in their rooms. On Sunday nights a classic movie is shown in the sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beckford Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beckford Arms Hotel Tisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing