We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great alternative for WHW walkers wanting to stay at Kingshouse”
Review of Morven Cottage

Morven Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballachulish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morven Cottage
Ranked #11 of 11 Ballachulish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Alas, we were forced to find alternate lodging since Kingshouse was already completely booked out. But that turned out to be quite the blessing in disguise as we later heard not-so-flattering comments about Kingshouse.

Not to mention...

Glencoe/Ballachulish is delightful, even on a misty and chilly late afternoon, and we wouldn't have seen any of the area had we remained strictly along the WHW and stayed at Kingshouse.

First off, if you are a walker: how to get from Kingshouse to Glencoe/Morven Cottage? Take a look at the timetable for the bus (http://www.citylink.co.uk/timetables.php). It's actually the long-distance bus going from Glasgow to Fort William, and it will only stop for you if you flag it down as it rumbles along the road past the Glencoe Ski Centre / White Corries. Simply wait near the white rocks at the side of the main road and hold up your arms to signal to the driver, otherwise he'll just drive on without you! Morven Cottage is less than a 2-minute walk from the "Glencoe Crossroads" stop. Very practical and most accessible!

It's a homely and comfortable B&B, with a good, solid breakfast. Beds were comfortable, bathroom and living areas clean and quiet. Freddie was most helpful and friendly and it was a delight chatting with her about our journey and the area.

If you walkers have any extra energy at the end of the day, it's also definitely worth walking around the Glencoe area, maybe even picking up a taxi to get to the livelier areas further in toward Ballachulish.

Room Tip: it's a small B&B, and I doubt there's a bad room to be had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyburdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

we were saved by this B&B and we ended up spending 2nights there while we were on the west highland way, the place was lovely and we will be going back there as much as we can, the people who run the B&B were just great would tell anyone doing the west highland way to def go out your way to go to glencoe and stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Freedie was on holidays, but she can be reassured that Bobby gave us some of the best breakfasts in 11 days in Scotland. The room was large and nicely decorated. The landscape increible. Bob was very helpful and kind to us.
It was the cheapest accommodation in our 11 days in Scotland and really pleasantly surprised.
Thank you Bob, from Madrid we envy the paradise where you live.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Morven Cottage. Freddie & Bob were friendly hosts & the Scottish breakfast was yummy. The family room was clean & of comfortable size, with a bathroom en suite. My only criticism is that we could feel all the springs in the mattress, which meant that we didn't sleep very comfortably. However, we would be happy to stay in this B&B again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Initial phone call was very friendly and efficient, no problems on arrival, comfortable room and great breakfast. Excellent value really and perfectly placed for travel into Glen Coe.
Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Hospitality was excellent and food good. What i beleive to be musty carpet smells bothered us. So cleanliness was on my mind, never a good thing.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lasollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

I booked this through Scottish Accommodation Index & had to pay 7 GBP deposit, 5 of which went toward the room rate.

Glencoe is in a beautiful area of Scotland with lots of good walks in a pastoral setting.

Our double room (one of two) was small & had no closet. The bed was not real comfortable. However, the view from our windows was lovely & the flower garden in the front was bright & cheerful.

At Freddie's suggestion, we ate dinner next door at The Carnoch Tea room, Restaurant & Take-away. As it is a small place, reservations are necessary. Very busy w/ the take-aways. Good fresh food, including a delicious rhubarb crumble with custard & ice cream.

Freddie fixed us a good Scottish breakfast & there was the usual cereal & juice available as well.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmercies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballachulish
0.0 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
161 reviews
0.0 km away
Isles of Glencoe Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.0 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ballachulish Hotel
Ballachulish Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ballachulish
1,225 reviews
0.0 km away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
494 reviews
0.0 km away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#6 of 11 in Ballachulish
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven Cottage

Address: Glencoe, Ballachulish PH49 4HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Glencoe > Ballachulish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ballachulish
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Morven Cottage Ballachulish, Glencoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing