We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay Kersmains”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Sumptuous library lounge with log burning stove
While away the hours reading a book and listening the crackle of the cosy log burner.
Fitted kitchen complete with both dining and soft seating areas
Luxurious power shower with complimentary toiletries...
Tranquil peace and stunning countryside views
Peruse the many books on display in the library lounge
Welcome to The Bothy B&B.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kelso, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sdaly25
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay Kersmains”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bothy B&B. Our 14 month old son was with us so we really wanted more than just a room for a few nights. When we came across The Bothy it looked ideal. In fact The Bothy B&B was perfect - more than enough space for us to relax in the evening and enjoy the peaceful scenery around us. It was in a great location to explore the Borders area. We will definitely be back to Kersmains for another stay in the future. Thank you for being so welcoming!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3-Wim-60
Schilde, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ideal retreat to visit the border abbays”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we were looking for a B&B in the borders to visit the abbays and castles in this region. and we were very glad we could stay in the Kersmains Bothy. Not only for the good location, but also for the warm welcome by Ashley and Simon. The Bothy itself offered us a very spacious retreat: a large bedroom with well equiped bathroom, and as a magnificent surplus an even larger library/sitting room with adjoining a veranda. Looking for inn's, restaurants or any other info, Ashlet was also helping us.

summarized: we can remmend without any doubt this B&B

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Dear Wim,
Thank you ever so much for such a lovely review. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Scotland. Hope to have you back again sometime. Best wishes, Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happylarr...
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An oasis of style”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Kersmains Bothy for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends and family in the area.

The bothy/cottage is stylish, spacious and a great place to relax, unwind and use as a base for touring. Ashley and Simon are great hosts - there when you needed them but happy to leave you on your own, if that's what you want.

Furnishings are fab, all fittings and guest supplies are all high end and it shows that guest comfort has been well thought through. Extra marks for a king size bed and a large, private, lounge to relax in !

All in all, if we were to visit the area again, we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Many thanks Lawrence and Heather for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to see you back in The Borders again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leni1984
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is such a little hidden gem. Beautiful, spacious, perfect place to relax and unwind. The owner, Ashley, was so welcoming and friendly. The log burning fire was on and the place was lovely and cosy when we arrived. Ashley recommended a restaurant in Kelso for dinner (which we had already booked) and our meal was fantastic. Little things like these make it such a nice stay. Best nights sleep we have had in a long time. The full breakfast was cooked to perfection. Overall we are extremely happy with our stay and will be recommending this to friends and family and also booking again ourselves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure to have you both to stay and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dodds_DH
1 review
“Bliss Bothy”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just back from a 1 night stay here. It really is a lovely place to stay. Ashley and Simon are so welcoming. It is a great place to chill out and the log burning stove was perfect on a cold January night. Full Scottish breakfast was cooked to perfection. Would defentily go back and would defentily recommend. 5 star.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you both, it was a pleasure to have you to stay! Wishing you all the best with your little bundle of joy when he/she arrives and hope to welcome you back again sometime.
Best wishes, Ashley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe H
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Night Away”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a great nights stay at the bothy. It was a perfect night spent relaxed in front of the TV with a wood burning stove to keep us cosy. The breakfast served the next day was lovely and a good end to the stay. I would defiantly recommend the bothy to others

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Lovely comments, thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staceyait...
1 review
“The bothy = Treasure chest. Amazing hosts. Very homely.”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

amazing night spent by a big log burner watching xmas films in a very comfy sofa, what more to ask for on a winters night. Ashley and Simon are perfect hosts and make a fabulous breakfast which was served in a the conservatory with stunning views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
What a lovely way to describe The Bothy, as a treasure chest! That really means a lot, thank you. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing